The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: With These Hands
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136476Chapter: 1
Quite Excellent & it’s good to know that I am not alone in my beliefs.

Reviewer: LydiaDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134470Chapter: 1
I think you have done a great job! I have been telling people that there's still a possibility that Snape is good.. No matter ow much I hate him myself. If they read this Im sure they would be convinced. The only criticism I have is that it kind of makes him sound like he is in love with Dumbledore... Kind of creepy. But otherwise this was great.

Reviewer: megsyDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133731Chapter: 1
I really love this story!!! i have to believe that what Snape did was on Dumbledore's orders and not as harry presumes, Voldemort's. I think you have translated what many have felt to be the truth very beautifully

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-09-30
Reviewid: 133463Chapter: 1
This is really well written, and definitely strengthens the bond between Dumbledore and Snape. Great job!!!

Reviewer: PythonBlossomDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133116Chapter: 1
You have done a great job with Snape's character analysis. This was a very touching view into Snape's and Dumbledore's relationship.
I really liked the way you used hands as a metaphor throughout the story.

Reviewer: RomulusDate: 2005-09-22
Reviewid: 133003Chapter: 1
Wonderful take on the events of the sixth book! The hardest thing to do for a person one loves is to let them die...or kill them.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132598Chapter: 1
Excellent. What a wonderful job you did with Snape and Dumbledore's friendship. You can really see why Dumbledore truelly believed in Snape's repentance.

Reviewer: AbbaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132509Chapter: 1
What a gorgeous story - exactly what I needed to read tonight. Your description of Snape's attempted use of "Avada Kedavra" to commit suicide was heart-stoppingly chilling. Ah, that canon may play out as beautifully as your piece.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131941Chapter: 1
Excellent set of related vignettes. I like the subtlety of the segue from Dumbledore's perspective to Snape's perspective.

Reviewer: KathrinDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131935Chapter: 1
Hi,
your essay 'With These Hands' is very impressive, and the ending is nearly exactly what I thought it should be. However, I expected Fawkes to join Severus in the end. So Snape would have had still the trust of DD, and carry a sign of this trust along. So when he meets Harry again, there is still some hope he can convince him, he ist not a DE.
Perhaps you agree, that this little line may round up your work somehow.
keep your good work up, Kathrin

Reviewer: penelopeDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131458Chapter: 1
I'm glad to see that someone else thinks like I do. Everyone I talk to thinks that he's just a raT, but i love him to much to think like that. Thanks for the great story.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131382Chapter: 1
Chalk up a well-placed argument for quadruple-agent Snape. I REALLY hope canon plays out the way you suggest it here. Y'know, between he and Pettigrew, the Death Eaters could get a near-fatal stab in the back. :)

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131290Chapter: 1
This was very powerful. It was very eloquent. I love the image of a young, bitter Snape pulling away from Albus. And the dark hints at the abuse at home. Snape's attempted suicide! That was shocking. You've painted a beautiful relationship between Albus and Snape.

I really hope this is the case in the 7th book. I just don't want to find out that Albus' trust was misplaced. If it happened the way you wrote it here, that would be perfect. This was beautifully written. :)

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131283Chapter: 1
Wow! Thank you for this "alternative" point of view! I found myself rethinking the ending, deciding if what you said was possible. Was Severus's face contorted in revulsion because of Dumbledore or the Dark Lord? And what about the wizard's debt Severus owed James? And more! You did a great job including these details in your story.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131270Chapter: 1
WOW.

What a clever piece, and what a touching depiction of Severus, man of mystery. I especially liked the following line:

"... silently noting the exhaustion that hangs like twin nooses around the Potions master’s dark eyes."

Such an accurate yet creative description. Beautiful. And very fitting to use the word "nooses."

Very interesting logic you used in II. Contempt, with Dumbledore hinting at second chances, the all-knowing man he is/was.

This was spectacuar, thank you so much for sharing it.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131243Chapter: 1
[The gnarled, old Squib pauses mid-strike at the sound of the headmaster’s voice, the switch high above his head in preparation to beat Severus.]

Wow, what an image! I wish I could draw so I could capture that moment. It's all so visual and so fluid and you really get a sense of the setting. I also love how you describe Severus's stoicness; it's both sad and touching.

[The caretaker’s hand, still clinging to the rod with determined white knuckles, drops obediently—albeit rather reluctantly—to his side. The redness in his cheeks is replaced by a profoundly gloomy grey; he’s crestfallen, like someone has just told him his cat has died. “Of course, headmaster,” he mumbles sulkily.]

Wow, you really nailed Filtch's character and mannerisms, and you also managed to sneak in a bit of humor as well.

[Severus glances from the headmaster to the caretaker, his jaw faintly ajar in disbelief. A piece of him thinks that perhaps this is a cruel trick or a joke the two men are playing on him. But Albus Dumbledore is not Tobias Snape, and so when the headmaster tells him he may lower his hand, Severus believes him.]

That just breaks my heart and you describe Severus's thoughts with such...accuracy, without getting all angsty. It's chilling and so, so sad.

[Sadly, the boy seems to wear his injuries too well—is too comfortable with the pain.]

The gorgeous prose in this piece just makes statements like this even more sad and disturbing. You really are skilled at turning a phrase.

[He’s already imagining the headlines in tomorrow’s Daily Prophet, and he’s preparing his speech to the staff—how he’ll explain that he’d hired a killer.]

Oooh, that is some creepy foreshadowing.

[Surely these aren’t the same hands that had cast hexes as a child, that had snatched bandages from him as a teenager. These are a man’s hands, tainted hands, hands that know how to touch a woman and how to brew poisons, hands that have perhaps even killed.]

Wow, this is just gorgeous writing. The way you show Dumbledore come to terms with the idea that Severus is no longer a boy, but a man is just so amazing, the way you juxtapose the innoscent with the dangerous.

[The matter is substantially more gray than the black and white of the print on the pages of the Daily Prophet would lead one to believe.]

Great line, and I love how you went back and showed how Severus was feeling after killing Dumbledore. I've always been in the camp that Severus and Dumbledore had agreed to it beforehand and that Severus was committing an act of utmost loyalty. I also like how you liked Severus's hands and how Dumbledore viewed them with Severus trying to cure Dumbledore's hand in the second to last scene.

Great story! I really enjoyed this! You are one of the few authors who really seems to "get" Snape, and you're able to make him walk that delicate line between being noble and being an infuriating git. Awesome writing!

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131241Chapter: 1
I see that you wish for Severus Snape to be good, just as I do. And I hope that the next book confirms that. i don't expect it to, but at least I can turn to this fic if i don't like what JKR does. Because this is a very moving story, which brought tears to my eyes. Thank you.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131208Chapter: 1
Brilliant. This is...absolutely beautiful. I have the biggest lump in my throat. You've really captured the very essence of Snape and his friendship with Dumbledore.

Reviewer: Ejom723Date: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131140Chapter: 1
I really liked this, irregardless of my personal feeling for Snape. I liked your characterizations and the plot was superb and filled in a lot of spaces and even made me go mmmm, there could be something to that. Top notch.

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131110Chapter: 1
...bloody hell... that-was-brilliant!!!!!! You feel exactly how I feel about sna- proffeser Snape!!!!! Wonderfully in character and You are a marvelous writer!!!!

WIKED!!!!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131109Chapter: 1
This is so sad - heartwrenching, really. I can see all of this taking place. Great work.

Reviewer: RoDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131083Chapter: 1
Wow... Very well done. Brilliant.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --