The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2006-06-18
Reviewid: 143502Chapter: 1
Cute! I love your Remus. The following-the-rules, but knowing when to b reak them for his friends.

:wub:

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133676Chapter: 1
Delightful!! Great fun and nifty character insights.

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133189Chapter: 1
Hooray! Nice, warm little story; lots of characterization; good dialogue with a point... this makes me wish Christmas would get here! Thank you.

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132533Chapter: 1
This is one of the best "friendship" fics I've read. So tenderly done... but not out of character.

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131963Chapter: 1
I loved it, I absolutely loved it. I can't tell you how much I did, but it was wonderful.

Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: RAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131805Chapter: 1
I WROTE A REVIEW FOR A STORY (JUST TO TELL YOU IT WASN'T FOR THIS STORY SO I DON'T KNOW WHY I'M WRITING ABOUT IT AS A REVIEW FOR THIS STORY) BUT ANYWAY I WAS SO HAPPY ABOUT BEING THE FIRST PERSON TO REVIEW THIS ONE STORY BUT I WENT TO LOOK AT IT BUT MY REVIEW WASN'T THERE AND I'M POSITIVE I SUBMITTED IT!!!!!!!!!!!! I'M SO MAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131734Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: CaisideWryterDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131656Chapter: 1
The irony...

"Professor R.J. Lupin"
"Sirius Black at large"

Cute fic.

Reviewer: QuinDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131632Chapter: 1
Shoe-boxy. Good though.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131358Chapter: 1
Brilliant, SweetSirius! I loved your characterisation in this piece.

This sentence, whilst funny, had the feel of a nice bit of foreshadowing: “There was just no going back to sleep with the knowledge that Sirius Black was at large.”

Naturally, I enjoyed James’ reaction to finding Sirius and Remus baking in the middle of the night (“Good-o! What are we making then?”), and it was nice to see Remus loosening up a bit at the end. All in all, this is a lovely, (mainly) light-hearted little fic.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: SweetSiriusDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131292Chapter: 1
Just a quick note to thank you all for such kind words! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

All the best,
SweetSirius

PS - To Helen, Ambereen and Ms Angelina Weasley - I'm tempted to start a poll on the appropriateness of citrus rind in fruit cake. So far I would place the tally at 2 all, since I agree with Helen and Sirius, and like the latter am in fact guilty of picking said ingredient out of cake.

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131279Chapter: 1
<snicker!> Cute. :-) I can readily imagine the scene.... Well done!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131248Chapter: 1
Love it.
Actually, I like lemon-flavoured things.
Write more,
AW

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131212Chapter: 1
This was sweet and slightly strange. I just never imagined a situation with the trio and fruitcake. But it works. Everyone was in character and I really enjoyed Remus' musings (sad though they were). Good job.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131202Chapter: 1
I like how Remus finally understood to take things with a grain of salt and let Sirius and James have their way with things sometimes.

"'Baking...' said Sirius hesitantly."

^I love that line. haha.

Reviewer: SpewingSlugsDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131182Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this,everything was really will in character. You should write more about this trio.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131098Chapter: 1
What I would give for a cup of tea and a slice of fruit cake right about now...

I loved this! Well done. Although I, like Remus, object to the idea of lemon peel being left out.

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131086Chapter: 1
Ah, SweetSirius, this is such a delight! You have the dynamics of the boys' relationships so superbly and convincingly drawn, with Remus's (Canon) desire to fit in with his friends being the impetus for their interactions here. It was indeed, very sweet, heartwarming, and touching. I particularly liked:

'“She doesn’t believe in disciplining her sons, either, I’d imagine.” The briefest and most awkward of silences followed.

“Oh, she has her ways and means,” Sirius said, tapping the sieve, looking for all the world as though he was merely enjoying watching the flour fall like snow into the bowl below.'

The hint of Sirius's sadness at his very negative (and possibly abusive) relationship with his mother was very poignant and affecting, as were the lines that followed about how Remus longed to ask Sirius, but it seemed to be a private secret shared only with James. He didn't know how much he was allowed to know, and didn't dare tread where he had not been openly invited.

And I loved James's response to Sirius's hesitant explanation about what he and Remus were doing in the kitchen at one in the morning - that made me laugh! Beautifully in-character.

And Sirius does have a point - fruitcake would be improved without the lemon peel.

This was a joy, SweetSirius. Thank you.
Helen

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --