The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Gifted and Talented
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-09-21
Reviewid: 149353Chapter: 1
Cool! I know you have the corner on Rosmerta (I can't wait to see your HBP-era tale), but you also seem to have a good measure of Snape, and that's before we got even more facts about him.

Thanks for the story.

Reviewer: KatanaDate: 2005-11-25
Reviewid: 136261Chapter: 1
“Remus Lupin, patron saint of lost causes.”

And policemen?

Excellent story. The career advice was brilliant. I love the way he thinks about his students, and you pulled off his attachment to Hester really well. I love this:

"He hadn’t the heart to tell her that he didn’t care for sweets very much and had groaned when the second batch of biscuits came so shortly after he had finished the ones she had owled him for Christmas. Every night with his evening tea, he forced himself to eat one or two biscuits and he was becoming quite sick of them. He knew he was being silly, but she made those biscuits especially for him and he didn’t want to get rid of them in one fell swoop at a staff meeting where they would be gobbled down without getting the appreciation they deserved."

Snape-the-teacher is one of the things I never get tired of reading. Considering what else he does -- and might be doing -- with his abilities, it's a really strange thought that teaching would be something they could enable him to do well. A "noble calling" -- I like that idea for him.

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135088Chapter: 1
Exquisite! I deeply want Snape to be this way -- reluctantly finding himself liking aspects of teaching, and a cruel man but not 100% evil... This story was a joy to read. You really got inside Snape's head successfully.

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135052Chapter: 1
oooh, you are deffinitely one of my favorite fan fic authors EVER. i've been madly in love with "High-Spirits" forever so when i realized that this was about hester i HAD to read it. i love your characterizations because they are SPOT ON every time and the detail and narration is so seamless that i am transported without ever knowing it. You are a truly talented story teller and i beseech thee, PLEASE continue writing because i have such a hard time finding authors that are up to my standards and you meet every one!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132668Chapter: 1
Very nice job! Nice development of an OC...or is she mentioned in canon? Anyway, great charactizations.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132392Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. Loved the way Snape's persoanlity is stamped on every line of it. :)

But one thing is confusing: the story doesn't seem to have anything at all to do with the summary. Was the summary mismatched accidentally?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131977Chapter: 1
Excellent as always. When reading HBP and learning that Rosmerta was under the Imperious curse my first thought was how that affected her relationship with Max. Any chance in your writing any part of HBP from her point of view?

Reviewer: LizbingDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131933Chapter: 1
I love your interactions between Snape and Hester, very believable, and I think you captured the illusive student that actually would please Snape!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131742Chapter: 1
As good as always. No … Better

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131707Chapter: 1
That was great. Write more stuff, pleeeease. =)

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131593Chapter: 1
Phew! After a long two weeks of school, and hours of after-school activities, plus a cold that has fallen upon me, I finally get the opportunity to read your latest story. Very satisfying. It fits perfectly with the description you previously included in your story. I'm not partial to Snape by any means, especially after the latest book, but you portrayed him in a light that shows another side of him- all the while keeping him very in-character. It can definitely be a challenge to do so with some characters and you pulled him off marvelously. Lupin's regret was also very nicely portrayed. A great follow up story and I look forward to another addition.

always,
mdelaur

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131502Chapter: 1
What a lovely story! Thoughtfully written, and a wonderful aspect of Severus Snape that isn't often explored. He was convincingly attached to Hester, without comprimising his usual persona. The tie-ins with his own return to Hogwarts, and the rewards of teaching were brilliant. All of the Lupin/Snape exchanges were excellent and believable - I think they would have made good friends, had there been different circumstances.

"So I understand you want to become an Auror..."

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131357Chapter: 1
Excellent piece! Is there a sequel?

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131317Chapter: 1
Your portrayal of Snape is brilliant! You've really captured him in all his snarky, sarcastic, vulnerable, lonely glory! I loved his interactions with Hester, she's such a sweetie and she brings out the best parts of the teacher in him.

Snape's reactions to Max and Rosmerta cracked me up. Rosmerta's sharp eye misses nothing, her concern for Hester was wonderful.

Speaking of wonderful, the exchange between Snape and Remus was one of the finest scenes I've ever read. Snape's line: “I wasn’t aware that you were the type to speak up in defense of someone else. Forgive me my misconceptions.” was a perfectly-aimed Snapish barb.

The scene between Dumbledore and Snape at the end was lovely, “every once in a while a most exceptional student will come along. Not only are they academically gifted, but their character stands out as well. When they do come along, they make you so proud and you are reminded of why you became a teacher in the first place.”

I loved it that Snape saw himself in Dumbledore's words, and I loved the way you showed the bond between them.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131250Chapter: 1
I LOVED this.
You never really would think that Snape would be anyone's favourite teacher, but there are some people .... I liked his affection for Hester, and how he wouldn't want her biscuts to be wasted on unappreciative hands, even though he didn't really care for sweet things.
Snape's softer side is always interesting to read.
Thanks for a great story,
Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131220Chapter: 1
I can't believe it. That was so extraordinarily brilliant.

I really took to how you were able to portray Snape as his sneering and cold self, but with more insight into his emotions- his deeper emotions. He and Hester Moon are very interesting characters.

This was such a good story and I truly enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131194Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading Severus' thoughts and responses to Hester and to Max. You've captured him exactly as I imagine him. He'll never be nice, but he has something good in him. I particularly liked his thoughts on being an adult: "life was nothing more than a series of unrelenting compromises, an endless exchange of whimsy for reality." I'm not sure I agree with him, but I can see his point. Thanks for the excellent aside from your stories.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131187Chapter: 1
This is excellent. It's a very interesting look into Snape's mind. I think you have portrayed very realistically the way in which Snape might feel and show affection--something that doesn't happen very often!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131133Chapter: 1
“Few of his students realized that in life, the ability to ask the right questions was more important than reciting the right answer.”
I like that how despite the fact that Snape’s thoughts on his students are sometimes snarky (and also downright mean), he still thinks like…like a teacher. haha.

Oh darn, I started picking out my favorite quotes and commenting on them, but there were too many! =P You’ve made Snape so human- you’ve made him something more than just a nasty man with greasy hair and a sharp tongue. He really does care about his students (well, some of them) which is a nice change. lol. The gift to Hester was so…sweet of him?

“So, Mr. Mounce,” Severus began as the next student came in. “You mention here that you want to be an Auror…”
“A sudden urge came over him to go to the nearest window and check to see if any members of the porcine family had sprouted wings and were now flying about.”
^That slays me.
* * *
Mmm, a noble calling indeed.

I'm off to read 'High Spirits' now! The title of this story made me laugh, because in my school there is a group called 'Gifted and Talented' for nerdy people like myself (haha), and we always have so much fun.

Wow, you win the-longest-review-I've-ever-given award!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131089Chapter: 1
This is excellent. I like seeing the relationship between Snape and one of his best students. I think Snape makes a good point about students who only care about marks (although I consider Ravenclaws to be lovers of learning as well, and believe Snape is prejudice towards Hermione, who seems to get sincere pleasure from knowledge). I think your portrayal of Snape is very good, with a balance of regret and hope, darkness and light.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --