The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: I Am a Black
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: tomlover56Date: 2006-03-14
Reviewid: 140909Chapter: 1
this rocks off my socks

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139765Chapter: 1
I donít remember my last reading. Today, I found it a (short, yet) enjoyable read.

Reviewer: ellimereDate: 2005-09-30
Reviewid: 133494Chapter: 1
nice job!

Reviewer: smileyDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133152Chapter: 1
BLOODY BRILLIANT!!! take a bow, you have written some truly ingenious incites into the minds of the black girls.....i really feel sorry for andromeda for her naivety, she really thinks they'll accept ted tonks...but reading narcissa and bellatrix, to their beliefs, her dream is hopeless. the personalities of the girls are perfectly measured, one of te best fan fics i've read, and i've read a fair few ;) keep up the good work

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132534Chapter: 1
A very interesting insight into the differences among the three sisters.

That said, it seems that as an author you were not able to truly empathize with each character. You were able to list some of their beliefs, but not believe them yourself, which made this a bit stilted: "Here's my (indifferently stated) ideology." Reading Bellatrix' vignette, for instance, I could tell that you disagreed with her and were *trying* to write someone who sounded brainwashed and cruel.

Also, the ages didn't seem to quite fit; the girls sounded younger, maybe 10 or 12 (with the exception of the mentions of betrothal).

But all in all a very interesting concept and a nice juxtaposition of the sisters' viewpoints!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132502Chapter: 1
Interesting I'll be interested to see where it goes

Reviewer: KitaraDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131501Chapter: 1
Wow... this was quite wonderful. Great job. :)

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131486Chapter: 1
Very nice, quite well done. Andromeda seems naive, which will probably make her family's rejection even worse for her. I hope you add another chapter to this soon!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131449Chapter: 1
Very nice. I really liked the section on Andromeda--how very wrong she is in thinking that her family will "get used to" her future marriage--so sad in hindsight. Bella spouting the appropriate Pureblood propaganda, and Narcissa cooly assessing her prospects-all well characterised.

Well done.

Reviewer: lol!Date: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131422Chapter: 1
This was good. I can imagine the three sisters like this. The Black family <i>is</i> fascinating. I'm not sure which way round the sisters go in age but I think you did a good job.

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131366Chapter: 1
Well, you've reviewed every chapter I've written, seems only fair that I say something about yours.

None of the spell checkers I put it through found anything wrong that wasn't related to proper names.

Your characterizations of the Black sisters as teenagers are plausible, given that Bellatrix is the only one we've seen a lot of in canon.

If I was to recommend one change it would be to represent each piece as an essay the girls were assigned to write, or if not that, a diary entry. The style jibes well with those forms.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131363Chapter: 1
Wow! This fic is very different, and I love it. This really shows the personality of each sister and how different they all are, but how, by a single name, they are bound together for eternity, whether they like it or not. You have really captured the essence of what it is to be a Black.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131338Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I absolutly LOVED this.
I agree with you that Narcissa is the the youngest, but I think that either Andromeda or Bellatrix could be the eldest.
The characterisations? Spot on. Especially Narcissa's.
Write more,
Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131335Chapter: 1
I liked it very much, and I think you did a great job with the characterizations. ^_^

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131318Chapter: 1
This was so chilling! It made me hate Bellatrix even more but I actually felt some pity for Narcissa. Well done!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131278Chapter: 1
You did excellently on the characterizations. I can almost see the sisters as they speak- Bellatrix, haughty and proud, with a permanent smug smile on her face; Andromeda, hesitant but hopeful, biting her lip slightly in preparation for the consequences before staring straight ahead, firm in her convictions; Narcissa, the epitome of the well-bred daughter, aspiring for marriage, with sharp eyes constantly studying those around her and a sharp mind analyzing her silent observations. (Yes, I seriously got all that from this).

I love pieces on the Black sisters. One of my favorite pieces of fanart is one of the three of them, all beautiful and proud.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --