The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Stupid, Noble Men
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139604Chapter: 1
Excellent

Reviewer: srishtiDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135166Chapter: 1
itz realli gd y dnt u rite sum mor chpters?

Reviewer: um not telling :)'Date: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135018Chapter: 1
lovely story :) are you going to write any sequals??

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131953Chapter: 1
Excellent. Very well done.
I really lke the idea of Tonks and ginny having those one-on-one talks with each other, it seems very in character for them. If you really think about it, Tonks and Ginny are quite alike, so it's possible that they would understand each other very well.
Great job,
Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: ClareDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131932Chapter: 1
I really liked your story. I am fairly new to reading Sugar Quill stories, and it is so lovely that they are well-written and characterised. Yours is a wonderful example as the characters ring true and the situation you have set up feels realistic (within HP world!). I do enjoy reading stories about Harry and Ginny that are realistic - romantic but wistful.

The conversation with Tonks nicely follows on from the one with the trio, changing the emotional energy.
I also like the symbolism of the blackbird, and small real-life details like Ginny's heals sinking into the mud - that happened to me as a bridesmaid too!
I loved the bit about something like the turkey song, as the wizards never get the muggle references quite right.
Anyway, as it so good, I hope you will be happy to accept a few very minor comments, to make it even better. It is such a good story that I think it would be worth ironing out a few minor things to make it even better!
(Note that I have not taken the time to check my comment carefully for grammar, spelling etc so I may have made errors. If so please so not let that make you reject all my comments! Of course, your stories deserve much more attention to detail than a comment does.)
1)There are a couple of split infinitives - pedantic I know but for people who don't like them, reading them really sets our teeth on edge!
2)You use the word "reflexive", which in my dictionary has no meaning other than as used in a reflexive verb; it is not an adjective to do with acting on reflex.) Perhaps you main languange isn't British English? Unfortunatly I can't think of a good alternative using "as if acting on reflex" or "automatic".
3 "planned to do" sounds better than "planned on doing".
4 "imperative" doesn't sound like a word Tonks would use in normal speech; it's a bit too formal.
5 I am not sure why it is dangerous for Ginny to be out alone in the dark, only 5 minutes from the main wedding reception and what you mean by "the wards" which Tonks says at the end.
6 It would get dark very slowly in the Summer after sunset. I think by the end of the conversation with Tonks it would still be quite light, not what you would describe as dark.
7 I wonder why you say a few times "wedding celebration" when we would normally say "wedding reception"?
8 Your descriptions of the weather don't ring quite true to me, although I can't really explain why. "summer storms" just isn't a phrase I would expect to hear in the UK - there may be thunderstorms but I do not think we would call them summer storms as if they are something that is particular to summer. When we do get rain in stormy onslaughts, the gardeners all complain that it runs straight off the earth, so it is only more gentle rain that would help the honeysuckle etc. Also, the bit about dust rising when Harry dropped his rucksack also sounded unlikely - I have never known it to get so parched that that would happen.
This is rather long - please accept as a compliment the fact that I have taken the time to write this. My next look at Sugar Quill will be to reading some of your earlier stories, which I hope will be just as satisyfing to read as this one was.

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131914Chapter: 1
Wow, it seems like Rowling wrote this herself (except it being in Ginny's Point Of View). I really liked it, truly I think it was a fantastic story and I hope you write a Ginny Point Of View of a seventh year (or Ginny's sixth year) story.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131788Chapter: 1
Wow! This was excellent! You really have a gift for dialogue and I loved the exchange between Ginny and Tonks. This was my favorite line:

[“But the thing is, Ginny,” Tonks continued, “sometimes doing the right thing and the easy thing is the same thing, and people assume the right decision always has to be the one that hurts us, when – if they’d just listen to their hearts – they’d see how wrong they are.]

It's a nice connection to what Dumbledore said. The emotions in this piece are rich and complicated, just like real people are, and you blend sadness and angst with kindness, comfort and hope. Excellent all around!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131752Chapter: 1
Very enjoyable! I can see Ginny doing that exact same thing. Now I wonder, who is the new DADA? Tonks or Remus? :D

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131723Chapter: 1
Nice parallel! I really enjoyed reading this story - thanks for writing it!

Reviewer: MargeauDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131684Chapter: 1
Oh my god! I loved this story, it made me cry... and laugh, oh it was so good! I really liked hearing Tonk's story.
Oho! the DA is coming back! exelant! And Tonks is gonna teach! YAY

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131670Chapter: 1
Great story! I enjoyed the way Tonks could relate her relationship with Remus to what Ginny was experiencing. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131668Chapter: 1
It's very sweet. I'm glad I read it.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131666Chapter: 1
I really, really liked this. Tonks went through what's happening to Ginny now, and they really understood each other- you wrote it beautifully. There was definitely the 'girl power' element of Ginny starting up the DA again, which I loved. Great job.

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131623Chapter: 1
Beautiful piece...absolutely amazing.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131611Chapter: 1
That was really nice... I feel so bad for Ginny, being left behind. And Tonks, ahhh Tonks and Remus. Cute.

Excellent story.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131581Chapter: 1
This was great! I really liked the fact that Ginny wanted to bring back the DA and do something about the war as well. And Tonks rules, as always. :)

Reviewer: TiaDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131579Chapter: 1
Wow. Wonderful story, just loved it. I was crying my eyes out. This is one-shot, isn't it?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --