The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-09
Reviewid: 145622Chapter: 1
11 months since the last chapter. Can this be read anywhere else?

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140747Chapter: 4
This gets better. Is Neal somehow related to Oliver Wood?
I always thought dining clubs were an American invention - nice to know such a wonderful way of keeping the rich wankers together in one place is a British. Poor old Cormorants; no-one likes us, we don't care. KUTGW, update soon, gotta love Alex's sarcasm and good to see she doesn't grow out of it. Will we hear the story behind Flashback's ban any time soon?

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140712Chapter: 1
Cambridge? Cheek. I was hoping Alex meant it when she suggested Oxford to Snape. Much better, though possibly she meant it as a backhanded compliment to Snape - I know whereof I speak when I say the Ancient History Department has several greasy, malevolent bats floating round it. The Hogwarts House system is looked upon as a mild, kiddified, excessively nice version of the real thing. Oh, one more thing. I loved that scene from Flashman and the Mountain of Light as well, and am entirely of Alex's [and Flash's] opinion that Crusoe was an excessively holy wimp who should have been eaten by the first large predator to come along, or Man Friday if you're feeling cruel. Top stuff so far - I lied about saving this for tomorrow.

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138362Chapter: 4
This is brilliant. Only word for it... I'm likely to be late for work now, but I'll be stuck in Alex's Cambridge the entire drive there, so I won't mind it so much. Finally, a fanfic character I can actually relate to... I can't wait for more, I hope this story doesn't suddenly stop like so many others.

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2005-11-26
Reviewid: 136332Chapter: 4
Oh, sneaky Alex...she's getting to be one of my favourites here. I do enjoy this story; it's so original, which is saying a lot for the HP canon, don't we think? Can't wait for an update...you always set up these interesting plots and then write very slowly...

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136013Chapter: 4
Whoa. Excellent chapter- lots of surprises!

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136008Chapter: 4
Still getting it just right ...

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135034Chapter: 3
The blending of the real-life Cambridge and the Hogwarts worlds is seamless and clever. I like the exploration of what might happen to an ex-Hogwarts student who doesn't want to be part of the magical world. Alex's voice is perfect. I laughed out loud many times--nice little character sketches. And the twist at the end--elegant. Looking forward to the next chapter! Will we get to see the Weasley twins again?

Reviewer: cellardoorDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134912Chapter: 3
Reading about Alex never gets old...but I do hope there will be a reappearance of Ben Stebbins. That would be very cool. :)

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134909Chapter: 2
Don't forget the mummies--everyone loves the gold and dead people.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134905Chapter: 3
Another chapter of pure genius. I'm still loving it. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134896Chapter: 3
...wait, what? I missed that, although it makes a fantastic chapter ending. The whole thing is excellent - I love the take on Old Wizard Society crossed with modern committees at the Magi. Very funny. Your characters are unbeatable. Um. I have trouble imagining Alex in electric blue; I would have thought something a little more, um, subtle. Also, when she says, "I'm easily bullied" - what's up with that? I got the impression that Alex did whatever Alex wanted to do. However - these are your characters, and you know better, so I shall stay silent until the next installment.

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134867Chapter: 3
Brilliant as always. Waiting breathlesly for more.

Reviewer: laura anneDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134845Chapter: 3
Just wanted to let you know how much I love these stories - Alexandra is a fantastic, wonderful character. Still waiting for the Ben Stebbins back story though! (yes, I am a romantic fool)

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134833Chapter: 3
Whoa! I was totally not expecting that. Awesome chapter!

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134795Chapter: 3
> "You mean writhe on the ground, foam at the mouth and lose bowel control? No
> problem, that was Saturday night entertainment for us in Slytherin."

You are responsible for embarrassing me in front of the entire office. I shouldn't read your stories during work hours.

> The Port is passed clockwise round the table. Only chaps may handle it - if
> there's a woman next to them they pour for her - and they may only hold the Port
> in their left hand.
>
> Don't ask.

Okay, now people are starting to give me dirty looks. (I said I shouldn't read this at work, I didn't say I was going to *stop* ...)

> He noticed nothing wrong because my expression of shock was exactly what he would
> have expected it to be. Of course, it wasn't shock at the brutal street crime. It
> was the realization that it was quite possibly me that had done it.

Boy, I love your stories. Break time!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133586Chapter: 2
I look forward to an update on this exciting story.

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133576Chapter: 2
...and Alex is back! And, oh, how she is back. I've missed Alex, and I've missed your wonderful writing. I love this one, and I sincerely it won't fizzle out. It's clever, funny, and wonderfully British. Your description of the BM was great, and Alex's talk on pottery gave me a giggle fit - I actually have been in the BM with someone who knows a lot about Greek pots. It was, well, informative.
Please, oh please, update this!

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133392Chapter: 2
Hooray for Alexandra Sutton! There isn't a lot these days that makes me laugh out loud, but you manage it on a regular basis. Here's hoping for more soon.

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132818Chapter: 2
I love Alex's lecture - it seems like the perfect thing to get Snape's goat. And Dumbledore's appearance and her assessment of it are really great. I can't wait for chapter 3!

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-09-18
Reviewid: 132792Chapter: 2
I have no idea where this is going, but it's definately a nice ride.

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132501Chapter: 2
It's good to see Alex in another adventure although this one has the potential for injuries to more than just her pride. I loved her unexpected (and unwanted) meetings with the Twins and her impromtu lecture about red figure pottery - I sat through that subject in my own Art History classes. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132385Chapter: 2
Fantastic once again, and your beautifully placed cliffhanger has left me even more eager for the next chapter. Keep it up!

Reviewer: NialDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132352Chapter: 1
Oh, this is tremendous. Thank you! I love Alex and her view of
things. And I was at Cambridge many years ago, and even at
Peterhouse - at the time it was stuffed with Slytherins (most of
them nothing like as much fun as Alex) who finally took over the
UK in 1979...

I love the way she interacts with the twins - it hadn't occurred
to me before that there's something Slytherinish about them. And
the scene in the BM with Snape had me in stitches.

And now I see there are several other Alex stories, and I haven't
read *any* of them yet. Yeah!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-09-11
Reviewid: 132323Chapter: 2
Ha! I was right, they did recruit her for the Order (kind of). Thank you so much for the lengthy reply to my review, I understand perfectly now. =) Great chapter as always! Snape was perfectly Snape-ish, you wrote his dialogue very well.

I loved the bit with her lecture in the museum, it made me snort aloud. haha
-Arimalka

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131980Chapter: 1
Thanks for all the nice reviews... if you could wear out a web-browser, then I think I would have done from the number of times I re-read this page. :-)

Arimalka - you asked about the sudden disdain/separation from the wizarding world on Alex's part. It's an interesting question. I don't know if she's actually disdainful of it, but she certainly dislikes many aspects of it and has a variety of reasons for not wanting to be part of it.

For a start, she's developed an interest in ancient things. There may be a few oddball amateur scholars amongst wizards with that sort of interest, but the wizard world's only opportunity in that direction seems to be Bill Weasley's old job in Egypt. Alex would regard that as little more than looting. And what's worse, looting on behalf of Gringots (why go to all that trouble just to hand over everything of value to a bunch of Goblins?) She would view it as morally contemptable and financially moronic.

Also she dislikes the smallness of the wizard world (I've got a three paragraph rant on the subject which might fit in somewhere.) She disklikes the idea that the people she knew in Hogwarts would be her contempories she'll be meeting and having to work with for the rest of her life. I suspect wizardry life in general has a gossipy, confining, small-minded small-town feel about it.

She is a Slytherin - getting precisely what she want's out of life is ALL that matters, much more important than the means used. It's natural to take a path ignored by 19 out of 20 of the Hogwarts seventh years if it get her what she wants. If magic isn't useful for achieving her ends, then she won't bother with it.

She does have a knack for languages, she is competent in gobbledegook so she could have had a job in Goblin Liason. But as she would put it, she wouldn't want to spend the rest of her life having to be polite to creatures half her height and with too many constanants in their names.

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131872Chapter: 1
What a wonderful way to alleviate the pain of coming in to work after a holiday weekend: A new story with one of my all-time favorite OCs.

I'm really looking forward to more Alexandra. :)

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131858Chapter: 1
Hurrah! My heat leapt when I saw this story on the new fanfic page. This first chapter is fantastic - I love Alex's description of Cambridge and her new life, the attack scene is fast-paced and tense, and her interaction with the twins is marvelous as always. You've ended in a very intriguing place. I have my suspicions about what's to come, and I can't wait to see.

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131822Chapter: 1
Great new Sutton episode - I have loved all the pieces you have written with her. Finally, someone pointing out what a pain-in-the-neck using quills must be! Anyway, looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131727Chapter: 1
Goody! Another Alex Sutton story. I like that she actually seems to get along better with the twins now. Maybe all Hogwarts alumni should work on getting past house rivalries.
Hope to see more soon.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131665Chapter: 1
Today had the prospect of being made so much better when I clicked the ‘new fan fic’ link. Alexandra Sutton and Shades both updated! I was in a state of euphoria.

Until I realized that both of them were more than mildly depressing.

Haha, I'm only kidding...I think. The wizarding world is at war, after all. The Death Eater attack was so creepy, and yet you made it almost...funny...from Alexandra's point of view. Does that make sense? Heh. Anyway, I'm sooooo excited for more Alex, thank you so much for writing! Are they going to recruit her to the Order or something? Ha, that would be nifty. I do have one question, though- why the sudden disdain/separation from the wizarding world on Alex's part? I mean, she was cynical before, but now it seems like she really would just be happier as a Muggle, you know? I dunno, I'm probably not making sense, it was just kind of unexpected.

-Arimalka

Reviewer: Andrew J.Date: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131657Chapter: 1
A new Alex Sutton story - very exciting. Judging from the first chapter, what I most look forward to about this one is that it takes place in a wholly atypical setting for HP fanfic (that I'm moving to Cambridge in the spring makes it especially interesting to me...). I've wondered what happens to muggleborn or half-blood students who decide not to live in the wizarding world; a question not adressed frequently in HP fanfic. It would make perfect sense that not everyone - especially someone like Alex - would necessarily embrace the very old-fashioned, conservative and, dare I say, corrupt society (for support of this, refer to just about any event involving any government figure present in canon) that JKR's wizarding world appears to be. It seems, however, that once you've been a part of the wizarding world, you can never fully leave it, either... Anyway, I can't wait to read more of this one (and of your other story in progress).

As an aside, and the seemingly central plot involvement of the Weasley twins is a welcome element, as well.

Reviewer: VJADate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131644Chapter: 1
Brilliant - more Alex. And at Cambridge too. I am an Oxonian, so out of principle I should boycott this. Just kidding. I think this is great. Alex's humour is undimmed, the setting is fantastically rendered (I've only been to Cambridge twice but I'm recognising stuff), and I can really appreciate the university-related details. My favourite part - the blending of magical and Muggle in the Hobgoblin pub.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131606Chapter: 1
This is one of the most enjoyable pieces of fan fiction I have ever read (and as a music student I have taken advantage of my stereotypically empty timetable to read a lot). It's very humorous and so detailed! I can't wait to read more.

I wish I could hear the song about the dragons...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --