The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 68

Reviewer: love2danceDate: 2007-04-20
Reviewid: 147823Chapter: 2
Please tell me you will finish this story!!! Your R/Hr fluff is amazingly wonderful!! You totally get these characters and not many people do...I really want to see this story finished. Thanks so much for putting up your writing...please continue...it makes me really happy!!

Hermione Carsson

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146489Chapter: 2
More Please.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142730Chapter: 2
Ooooo, I'm interested in more here! Lol. Good start.

~GW

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-11-07
Reviewid: 135742Chapter: 2
Wonderful two episodes! Everyone's completely in character, Ron is simply adorable and the writting style is spot on. There were so many good, quotable paragraphs!

<I>“It always amazes me that you can remember all of these chess strategies, but couldn’t remember that the Giant War of 1812, was actually in 1812.”

“I thought it was a trick question.” </I>

Ah, Ron, you make me melt. :D

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: KatieO314Date: 2005-11-04
Reviewid: 135686Chapter: 2
Since I'm talking to you right now, you pretty much know what I think of this. :)

Be proud of this. This is something special. The relationship that you've given all of these characters is exactly what I'd expect if Book 6 had just.. kept on going. There's a dynamic that's just right.

This reads like life. I feel like I'm there in the room, and I know what it looks like and what it feels like to be there and that tug in the stomach when you see someone touch their hair.. and you get it. You're giving these characters a life.

That's abstract, so I hope you know what I mean. In any case, keep doing it. This is lovely.

Reviewer: emjayDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134495Chapter: 2
lovely story! keep at it it's great!

Reviewer: june luttrellDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133900Chapter: 2
its starting well and i hope youll continue.

Reviewer: JenaDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133711Chapter: 2
great write more PPPPPPPPPLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEE

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133702Chapter: 2
This fic seems to be pretty interesting, keep it going :)

Reviewer: ShelleyDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133409Chapter: 2
Great fic! I like the direction your taking, very unpretentious.

Reviewer: my karma ran over my dogmaDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133387Chapter: 1
Heh heh. Great story, please update soon! Until then I'll have to satisfy my R/H need by reading Not as a Last Resort by Arabella for the thousandth time! Ouch, my eyes hurt, I've been at the computer too long. I should probably take my contact lenses out.
Update update update!

-mkromd

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133363Chapter: 2
red, nicely done. I like your portrayal of Fleur, of course. The scene with the chess match between Ron and Hermione reflects the chess match their own relationship has become.

Reviewer: Amy Lee #1 FanDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133282Chapter: 1
you'd better write more! is this based on a song? cause it reminds me of an evanescence (the best band of all time!) song. normally i'd write the song lyrics but i don't have time.

Reviewer: melluDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133246Chapter: 2
Nicely written! I like the way you lived up to how Ginny was during the funeral. I hope you post the next installment soon!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133239Chapter: 2
Pure love just cause you're writing something that isn't a hospital missing moment. More love on top for not having them at the Dursley's, and a big ole hug cause is actually freaking awesome. Sweet, funny, in character, plus a range of little details about chess moves, great looks into the Ron&Hermione and Ron&Ginny friendships, and no angst. I love how the fic leads up to its name, very much being a calm force.

Reviewer: Surplus ImaginationDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133204Chapter: 2
Excellent chapter. I loved the spinach musings. So true, although for me its no kissing after my husband drinks rootbeer! Ron's thoughts are very amusing. I throughly enjoyed the chess, too. Good job!

Reviewer: Surplus ImaginationDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133203Chapter: 1
That's a very nice start. It's refreshing to see Ron's POV. Good job :)

Reviewer: sensiblegalDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133161Chapter: 2
You have a good story going here. Particularly liked the chess match and the way Ron couldn't keep his attention on the game, poor boy!

Am looking forward to your next update.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133158Chapter: 2
What a great story! A was really looking forward to this update, and here we have it... the perfect second chapter to follow the perfect first. You have your finger on the tone of this universe, on Ron's character - and what his viewpoint would sound like - and on the other characters as well, who are suddenly revealing sides to their personality that Ron can see and Harry can't (and hiding others that Harry can see and Ron can't). It's really, really well done.

Reviewer: RichDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133144Chapter: 2
This story has some potential ... as do you as author.....

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133119Chapter: 2
Very cute story, can't wait to read more. I really like your style of writing, it flows really well. You give just enough detail to set the scene up well, and as I read it I was able to picture everything perfectly. Post again soon!

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133073Chapter: 2
Nice flow; excellent job with the characters. One question, where did Hermione floo in from since she lives in a Muggle home? I like your work.

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-09-22
Reviewid: 133019Chapter: 2
<i>but there are times to pester Harry, and there are times to support him. Now isn’t a time to pester</i>

I wish I could pat you on the back for that line! Finally, someone writing a fic who actually gets it! I think you have Ginny's attitude exactly as JKR intended. Kudos to you.

I loved the Ron and Ginny interaction in this scene. Their words with each other can be tough, but they obviously care very much underneath.

Reviewer: KaroDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132993Chapter: 2
Please, go on! I love your humor and style!

Reviewer: MeredithEDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132986Chapter: 2
Wonderful! Your characterization is spot-on. Even though I'm a Ron fan through and through, you've really impressed me with Ginny, who is hard to pin down. Of course it's my opinion, but I think you've followed JRK's lead on her personality perfectly. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132980Chapter: 2
Well done. Everyone is in character. Just waiting for the screaming and action to start.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132979Chapter: 2
Thanks for the update notice! RLS! I should be responsible and check on the updates myself!

Anyway, of course I love your Ginny - from the avoiding Ron to the outright lie to the prickly defensiveness of her past love life. I also like the fact that the siblings both know they are lying to each other and that they are both willing to let the other do it. (Since they both have their reasons and those reasons concern Harry) It's interesting how you have Ron and Ginny's bond with Harry become their touchstone - as opposed to being Weasleys in the Weasley household.

This is further reinforced by the fact that Ron's touchstone with Hermione is no longer Harry. For so long they hid behind Harry and made him their common ground. Now they are trying to make their own common ground between them. A nice, subtle evolution in their relationship, which you cemented with the chess game. "Chessmaster" indeed. I like it.

I also like your narrative voice in this chapter - a bit of dry humor, tinged with some anxiety. It certainly suits Ron at this moment in the HP timeline. (Nice yucky image of Lavender and spinach kisses, btw. You didn't even have to use 'tongue' to gross me out. LOL.)

Can't wait for more.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132978Chapter: 2
Wonderful story so far. I loved the chess scene and the conversation between Ron and Ginny. Emotional range of a teaspoon? Not really.
Good work.

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132975Chapter: 2
Well, you picked good places to be stubborn because things are working out just right.

One thing I haven't mentioned before ~ your canon~like portrayal of Bill/Fleur. You're writing it like JKR did. Fleur apparently is both self-centered and vain [i]and[/i] devoted to Bill and that's how you are writing her.

Now I'm really looking forward to seeing what, if anything, Ron is going to do with these questions he has about which path to follow ~ Harry's or Bill's?

Great job.

Reviewer: toastDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132973Chapter: 2
yay!! awesome

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132968Chapter: 2
Awesome stuff so far...

Keep Writing this is going to be a cool as story!!!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132966Chapter: 2
This is a charming story! I love the humor and the Ron and Hermione interaction! And how Bill got up real fast to have Fleur put more ointment on his cuts...hee hee. I've read so many H/G stories of Bill and Fleur's wedding, but this is great to read about R/H coming together, finding out how Harry and Ginny tiptoe around their issues, and just the whole Weasley wedding atmosphere in general. I look forward to the next update!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132960Chapter: 2
This story just makes me happy! :-D

The hug and Ron's stomach talking is my favorite part. And I love Ron's *headdesk* moment: "Ten hours of ‘planning’ and all he could come up with was a quick rephrasing of Hermione’s greeting. Score." *giggles* I think he did fine though. :-D

I like that Hermione is the one to best Ron in chess, because I think he would be proud of her for the accomplishment. It somehow fits, if that makes sense.

Great job, as always!

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: CeilidhDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132957Chapter: 2
"Ron winced. Ten hours of ‘planning’ and all he could come up with was a quick rephrasing of Hermione’s greeting. Score."

Haha. I loved that.

Awesome job! I look forward to the next chapter. :)

Reviewer: Tash..Date: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132956Chapter: 2
Perfect...loved all the strategies...very cool. update soon!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132955Chapter: 2
This story is wonderful so far - Ron might actually LOSE in chess! Haha, I like how its not just melodrama. There's enough fanfiction like that out there - this story has a hopefulness about it that is refreshing. Keep it up!

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132952Chapter: 2
Another nice chapter. I espeically like the interacting between tha siblings. Very in character.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132745Chapter: 1
I didn't even know you had a story up here! Sorry it has taken me so long. Yours is the first post HBP piece of fan fiction I've read, so feel flattered! LOL.

I really like how you have Ron out of the loop here only now realizing that something is up with H/G. This seems perfectly reasonable for Ron (or anyone else, for that matter) to be caught up in their own feelings at first. I agree with your view that there was no big R/Hr scene offscreen in HBP. I'll be looking forward to seeing how you get them together - and how ansty you make H/G. (Be kind, I'm angst-intolerent so I can only take it in small doses!) Looking forward to more! I'll try to check the updates - but I'd love a reminder if you can spare the time!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132708Chapter: 1
Great job. Please update soon :D.
All the best.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132595Chapter: 1
Great start! All the dialog flowed smoothly and everyone was in character. I noticed you didn't mention Bill's scars though. How are they anyway?

Reviewer: shaziaDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132451Chapter: 1
aaaaaaaaaaah! brilliant! keep writing.... write write write!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132411Chapter: 1
Yay! Beautiful job, as always, MM.

*hugs Ron*

I believe you already know everything else that I think about this piece...

Update soon! ;-)

Jules

Reviewer: KaroDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132399Chapter: 1
You have a very good, natural style and you hit your characters personality on the head!I can picture it all vividly, want to continue! this is rare for me when reading fan-fics.
Please update soon!
Karo

Reviewer: CelestiaDate: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132037Chapter: 1
That was absolutely wonderful. It was extremely well written. Any idea when you will update?

Reviewer: toastDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131990Chapter: 1
wow. thats awesome!! wonderfully written! cant wait for the rest!!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131987Chapter: 1
what a cute start to a great story cant wait for the update =)

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131946Chapter: 1
"Smarmy Bulgarian git could still wreck things, even from another country. Thank Merlin he’d never have to see his ugly face again."

heh. Something tells me Krum is going to make an appearance sometime soon!

Marvellous, marvellous start. You *really* get into Ron's skin - I loved it!

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131945Chapter: 1
"Smarmy Bulgarian git could still wreck things, even from another country. Thank Merlin he’d never have to see his ugly face again."

heh. Something tells me Krum is going to make an appearance sometime soon!

Marvellous, marvellous start. You *really* get into Ron's skin - I loved it!

Reviewer: jmetzkoDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131937Chapter: 1
Yea, a mulit-chapter R/H fic!

Good start to the story. I liked the family interaction with Bill and Mrs. Weasley. Ron's sports analogy was cute - "...he'd dropped the Quaffle (on his relationship with Hermione) with a giant assist from Krum...".

Looking forward to an update.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131874Chapter: 1
Hi ya! I think this is the best version yet of Post-HBP summer at the borrow fic. I love that you're gonna play it put for a couple of chapters, and probably drive Ron, Hermione and everyone else mad in the process. Love that your Ron isn't completly hopeless, and has picked up on both Harry and Ginny's break up, and what's happening between Hermione and him. Love how you weave in the war with the small comment about the safety of the floo network. And I totally find Ron and Crookshank's interaction cute, specially when thrown in with Hermione having pig. Love his very big brother view on the Harry/Ginny thing.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131852Chapter: 1
>>Seven o’clock seemed to be an eternity away, because as it turned out, he missed her too.<<

I adored that line.

This whole piece is just wonderful. It just smacks of Ron growing up and into his relationship with Hermione and the many other relationships in his life (ie, Harry, Ginny (and Harry and Ginny together and appart)). Your writing is always a calming influence, even when writing about matters that are far from calm.

Well done!!

~Hez

Reviewer: eruditewitchDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131813Chapter: 1
Very good job. I like it. I'm glad to see you keeping them in character. Ron isn't some suave romantic and you make that very clear.

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131782Chapter: 1
So, I knew this was up but didn't get around to saying "Yeah! Good Job!" until today. Sorry about that.

"Yeah! Good job!"

This is a really nice set-up chapter. It's subtle, humourous, in character and there are some really nice parallels with Ron's thinking about "barking mad girls" and his own reactions to Hermione.

Can't wait to read more.

And it occurs to me that not only do I owe you a belated review, I owe you a belated Happy Birthday.

Hope it was a nice one.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131780Chapter: 1
Oh, yay! It's going to be a chaptered fic!

*ahem*

Okay, now on to the review. This was very, very enjoyable -- you captured the setting well (it just *feels* like the Burrow), and the dialogue is especially great. Oftentimes, writers make the Weasleys toss out 87 jokes a minute in their conversations, but you keep things natural and easy, with a few inevitable gems of humour thrown in ("I think Bill is bringing someone too." - LOL!). It was also fun to see Bill talk to Ron on more of man-to-man level and give his taste in women (or woman?) the older brother stamp of approval. :D

Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: jellyDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131756Chapter: 1
I hope you're going to write more chapters of this story redlightspecial because it's really good so far. I'm dying to read the wedding itself!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131725Chapter: 1
I'm so behind in reading fan fiction I didn't even notice that this was up until I was going to check on something of my own. Very good start! I'd liked to read more soon (hint, hint)!

Reviewer: SkruvstaDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131724Chapter: 1
This was great - you really got Ron, well done. I loved the 'and I think Bill's bringing someone too' line. Thumbs up :D

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131704Chapter: 1
OOOO.....nice job. Write more, I love when fics begin in Ron's perspective!!

Reviewer: JylDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131702Chapter: 1
Oh, I am loving this story. Please update soon!

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131682Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this story, although I'm a little disappointed not to see Ron and Hermione at Privet Drive. I'm looking forward to that.
The thing I was most pleased about was seeing that you kept Ginny in character from the end of HBP. Every other story I've seen have her moaning and crying and acting completely unlike the way she really handled it. I loved Ginny at the end of HBP, and I think she showed she understands Harry better than anyone in that small scene. Kudos to you.

Reviewer: HopeDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131667Chapter: 1
I really like this so far. Very in-character. xo, H

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131624Chapter: 1
I'm enjoying this fic so far....pleas
e update soon!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131616Chapter: 1
This is a great start! I'm glad to see you will be continuing it.

I like how Ron has Crookshanks and Hermione has Pig. It seems like such a couple-ish thing to do. Like letting a girl use your most favorite Red Sox sweatshirt because she's cold, and not minding that she takes it home with her, because you know you are going to see her again soon. ;)

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131609Chapter: 1
Yay, post-HBP R/H! I've missed my dosage lately. :)

This is looking to be very lovely - I love the line about "in their typical fashion, they had left everything unsaid." You're very right, that *is* typical behaviour for them.

You've got a nice balance of humour and feeling in here - I can't wait to read more. :)

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131595Chapter: 1
Oooh, I really like this story! I hope you'll continue with it. Your details are great and the humor in it is very realistic and funny. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131588Chapter: 1
Oooh! I'm really enjoying this. More please!

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131583Chapter: 1
Ooooh this is shaping out to be a really good fic! Ron's canon, and you should be proud because it's usually hard to peg him. I can't wait till Hermione comes!

Reviewer: SherifaDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131580Chapter: 1
i like it very much. i like the part when Ron was in his room. please update the next chapter soon.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --