The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2005-12-11
Reviewid: 136995Chapter: 1
What a powerful story, especially the ending! I loved Draco's insight into his future - so scary! Adn the thing he had to attend to, was that the cabinet?

My husband is an HP fan, but he doesn't read fanfic. Nevertheless, he got a big laugh out of "she's a few ingredients shy of a full potion."

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-11-25
Reviewid: 136285Chapter: 1
This is just...SO good. I didn't know what to expect when I started reading this, but you've done an amazing job. I liked your characterization of Draco really well.

Reviewer: clumsy_maniacDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133394Chapter: 1
Gosh, what a horrible prospect. Prolonged lesson with dear Aunt Creepy. This is (as usual) fantastically written, you pen Draco like no-one else, both in comedy and drama. Throwing in (I assume) Mrs. Longbottom was a nice touch, too. "I donít really have a choice anymore, do I?" Beautiful, he's in wonderful contrast to Harry, although you have also added many similarites such as the equal burdens they both must bear. The bad apprentice who must kill the good master, and the good apprentice who must kill the bad master are balanced to a tee.

Reviewer: SeaIsleWitchDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132982Chapter: 1
Well done! What an interesting look into our young Death Eater's life. You've made me even more scared for Draco and hate Bellatrix all that much more. I like the hint of Draco/Pansy. Bella's wanting to find out a few things about Snape to torture him about was a nice touch. I enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Patrick MullanDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132919Chapter: 1
I thoroughly enjoyed this tale. I almost wish that it had been part of the original book. It would have filled in a lot of holes, to be sure!

Reviewer: ClodiaDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132911Chapter: 1
Bloody fantastic. Very in character and believable. A very interesting and intelligent story.

Reviewer: SeshiriaDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132671Chapter: 1
Such a great way to introduce fear and doubt into Draco's mind! This is the first fic which did this in a natural way, matching perfectly with the character's personnalities!

Reviewer: PradnyaDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132383Chapter: 1
Excellent job. It was really awesome and very J.K. Rowling like.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132359Chapter: 1
A bit soft.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132026Chapter: 1
Very interesting story & well written. The details are extremely well done! Could not stop reading & these are NOT characters I enjoy reading about! Great writing job.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131984Chapter: 1
Oh, excellent. You've laid a superb foundation for a redeemable Draco with just the right touches: an inkling of love for Pansy (which, when I think about it, ewwwwww), contempt for his fellow Death Eaters, and fundamentally wanting recognition, not sadistic pleasure.

Loved your insights into the details of Occlumency.. It makes sense that focusing on something would help block out other thoughts, but that would also be a dead giveaway that the person was using Occlumency.

Great job.

Reviewer: CardenDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131983Chapter: 1
Beautifully constructed and put together! You write a very convincing and EVIL Bellatrix, and great naively evil Draco.

Reviewer: LizbingDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131975Chapter: 1
Excellent, I love the interactions between the Malfoys and Bellatrix.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131952Chapter: 1
Nice.
Draco's memories were interesting to read about, as were Bellatrix's.
Write more,
AW

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131866Chapter: 1
That was very powerful, well done.

I've always wondered about Death Eaters and their husbands, wives, children, etc. How can they feel love for another human being and then do what they do? I thought you touched on that well.

That almost had me feeling sorry for Draco Malfoy, and that is saying something.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131859Chapter: 1
This was great - both Draco and Bellatrix were beautfully portrayed and you had me hooked from the first line. I'm not really a fan of Draco, but this fic actually managed to make me feel some sympathy for him, and in a way that felt ompletely in keeping with canon. Really well done.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131851Chapter: 1
Excellent missing moment! Almost made me feel sorry for Draco!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131829Chapter: 1
Excellent.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131827Chapter: 1
Wonderfully written, quite in character, and quite a glimpse into Draco's mind - as your usual work! ;)

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131819Chapter: 1
Brilliant ... vivid character portrayals, and a Draco who might just be redeemable. A truly frightening glimpse into what the real perils of Occlumency/Legilimency might be.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131811Chapter: 1
Very nice job...completely fits with canon as a missing scene, very well written, and really shows the conflicting emotions that the reader knows that Draco feels. Excellent job! :)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131807Chapter: 1
Well done! I had not thought of this missing moment, before. but you did a great job of using it to show us the Draco that will end up sobbing in the girls' toilet with only Myrtle as his friend.

I particularly like the balance and foreshadowing you use with the past of Bellatrix becoming the seed of Draco's vision of his future.

Great work, as we expect from you! Thanks.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131806Chapter: 1
Bloody excellent. Spot-on charactarizations of everyone -- Draco, Narcissa, Bellatrix. And I like that Bella doesn't suspect Snape of being a spy, but of wanting all of the glory. :D Naturally, the greasy, ambitious Slytherin must crave GLORY. Heh.

I'm racking my brains right now, trying to figure out who the plump woman is....can't seem to remember one...

If you write "Draco Malfoy and the Half Blood Prince", I will read and enjoy it very much.

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131799Chapter: 1
Excellent! I don't think anyone writes a better Draco.

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131796Chapter: 1
Fantastic job! I've been looking forward to reading this since I heard you were considering writing it, and I have not been disappointed. You have captured all their personalities perfectly, and given an insight to Narcissa that I have found very interesting. :) I love how you have captured Draco's emotions in such a way that seems perfect (and also how you portray his feelings for Pansy).

Brilliant characterisation, description and dialogue. :) You should be proud of this piece.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131795Chapter: 1
Excellent job with this idea! It almost feels like an introduction to a treatment of 6th year entirely from Draco's perspective, yet it easily wraps itself up with your point made. The characters feel like they walked right out of the books and into your fic.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131789Chapter: 1
Awesome story. You captured the characters of Bellatrix and Draco excellently.
Very nice idea. It was very well thought out, and I really like how most of Draco's memories don't mean much to him.
I also like that you have him care about Pansy. Too many stories have Draco not care about anyone.
Once again, excellent job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --