The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Entwined
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: anonymously morganDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131818Chapter: 1
wow... that's all I really have to say. Just... *wow*

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126922Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so sweet! The transformation from bittersweet/downright sad writing to the happy, flippity letters was brilliant! The regular writing almost made me cry, especially the first one...

Brilliant, amazing, sweet, fun, and bittersweet. I think I'll go read a funny parody now, before I go to bed...I don't like falling asleep to bittersweet ideas...

SLATFATF

Reviewer: LydiaDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115320Chapter: 1
I have just recently started coming to Sugar Quill and this has been one of my favorite stories. You are such a wonderful writer. In some parts I was laughing out loud in others I was crying. The story shows each characters own personality so well i thought at first that JKR herself had written it. I absolutley love it!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112367Chapter: 1
nice

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110915Chapter: 1
I know this story has been posted for going on 3 years, but I read it today for the first time, was highly entertained, and yet finished it feeling that it's really too beautiful for words (any additional ones anyway). Thank you!

Reviewer: aureliahoratiusDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107147Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Wonderful characterisation. Great humour. And the little holes that you left deliberately just made me ache for more -- things like not knowing _exactly_ what it was that Sirius did to James when he showed up at Rosewood. Oh, and the connection with the rose at Aaron's funeral, lying agains the shiny wood ... well done. Probably my favourite James and Lily story so far. The proposal was just so right.

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98122Chapter: 1
It's perfect

Reviewer: Mr. MoonyDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93917Chapter: 1
I really liked this! I thouhgt it was a surprisingly accurate portrayal of all the characters. Please write more!

Reviewer: LoracDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93239Chapter: 1
just lovely...that was touching, beautiful, sad and, at the same time, happy. The prophecy is a little unclear but this was written before OoTP...I loved the letters that were sent between the four friends, and I can definitely see the subtle signs and reasons for Peter's eventual betrayal. I just can't believe, though, how sirius and james would ever have suspected remus as the spy...

Oh, and I liked the change of font for the letters written by different people...but why didn't you chose a different font for remus or james? Anyway, lovely work.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68784Chapter: 1
Said this on the Memories of Tomorrow reviews already, but I'd better say it here to "do things right," but, my God... "I bet I could make it fly..."
This is the best story on the whole damn site. This is the way the Maurauders should be characterized. "I don't think I can fight this." Fantastic. Do you and JKR have some kind of psychic connextion? Uh, yeah. Way cool.

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67024Chapter: 1
Oh dear. That was so beautiful, so wonderful. I hated to see it end. I was so wrapped up in that universe...god, I hate Peter...I almost never want to read about teenage Harry again, only James and Lily and Sirius and Remus, and maybe Baby Harry...but oh, dear...*sobs* That was wonderful.

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60032Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWW!!!!

I loved it this story is definatly one of my favorites!! I just loved the letters they were so funny and so touching! And then James' proposal! It couldn't have been written any better!!! I loved this story so much and enjoyed reading it tremdously!! You are such a great writer! I loved it!!!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46477Chapter: 1
I know this is my second entry, but since you have no e-mail adress, J.B., I'd like to make a suggestion in the only way I know how. And my suggestion is (actually it's a comment too): I would be interested in seeing YOUR version of "how the marauders met" or "when Lily and James first knew they were in love." Think about it! Your idea for this was incredible! My favorite letter is the one about the motorcycle--bloody brilliant! And the format, the letters mixed with the 2 narrated pieces....just fantastic! I would love to see your spin on those other fic possibilities. You do the Lily-James-MWPP REALLY well!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Kathy SangerDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45456Chapter: 1
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!! I love how you make James ask Lily to marry him at the end, so the perso reading the story has to keep reading to see if they do get married. Wonderful humor. Once again, ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Tiger lilyDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45199Chapter: 1
Wow that was a really really great storie I love how you
ended it. You did a brilliant job!!! Keep up the marauder's stories!!!! there awesome

~Tiger Lily~

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43771Chapter: 1
amazing. that's all i can say.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41949Chapter: 1
That damn guileless look of yours is pure gold, Wormtail, pure gold.



Chilling. . .
--Amy

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41912Chapter: 1
Where did you get this idea? You really should write more of this!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41776Chapter: 1
Wow. I am, like totally blown away. The last part was the best, but the letters were awesome! Man, talk about an AWESOME job! Keep up the good work! Got any more of this, I'd like to see a follow-up!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41775Chapter: 1
Wow. I am, like totally blown away. The last part was the best, but the letters were awesome! Man, talk about an AWESOME job! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39381Chapter: 1
hey
i just have to say, this is so sweet! i luv your work don't stop!!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-06-27
Reviewid: 38723Chapter: 1
I loved it. It was positively hysterical. The whole letters back and forth idea was brilliant. Incredibly, heart warming, wonderful.

Reviewer: suffixchick123Date: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37644Chapter: 1
this is really really great, just to let you know. It is really well written and I greatly enjoyed it. If there is any more of the story, please dont hesitate to post it up. Thank you.

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35841Chapter: 1
INSPIRING!WONDERFUL!FABULOUS!SAD!INTRIGING!

I was going to read the sequel to Job Hazards, but the MWPP fics caught my eye, and I don't regret reading them!

On to the next fics! On! On!

Reviewer: magwanaDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34295Chapter: 1
The sweetest, best told fanfic. It has humor and pathos in all the right amounts, the tone is perfect. Potter and Co. are real and alive.

It's just beautiful.

Reviewer: Susan B.Date: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29363Chapter: 1
Wow. This is great! I laughed and I got chills. I think I need to go read something funny. Amazing.

Reviewer: PrismDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28708Chapter: 1
It was hilarious....I just love the letters....

interesting bit about the gryffindor's heir and all.

Touching and Funny, just about how I love my Lily and James fics
as well as MWPP

Good work

Reviewer: LesseDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22881Chapter: 1
How wonderful this was. It was so cute and sweet, and so sad at the end. But, you ended it well, and it was sweet to see that they all knew each other so well.

Peter... Peter wasn't yet confronted by the Dark Lord yet. That meaning, I don't think Peter willingly went to the Dark Lord, I think the Dark Lord went to him.

Anyhow, I did enjoy this story, and I do enjoy any Lily and James ficlets. You made Sirius ideal in this fic, as well as Remus. It made me fall in love with the Marauders all over again.

Keep writing!

Cheers.

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18470Chapter: 1
I loved this story...telling the story thru emails was very kewl and more fast-paced :)

Reviewer: becDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17384Chapter: 1
hi, i am so glad that i found this website with all of these wonderful stories!! Expecially including yours!! Could u please e-mail me when u put the next chapter up, or let me know roughly when u are putting it up so i can check

Thanks, keep up the wonderful creative writing!!!!!

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14466Chapter: 1
Thank you. ...Just...thank you.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12858Chapter: 1
Wow, this was sad. I nearly cried when Aaron's funeral was going on.... my grandfather's funeral was much the same for me.
That hollow, dead feeling.... it's like you're too cold to ever possibly be properly warm again.
And even though it happened over 8 years ago, I'm still not properly warm. Or okay with it.... just like I never will be... so I understood how James was feeling, and even Peter. (Though I hate what Peter went on to do, I know how hard it must have been for the bloke.)

And whoa. I'm talking like the Marauders are friends of mine I need to send a card of sentiments to or something.... but whatever. This fic is truly amazing....

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10182Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness!!! This is THE fic! The first fic I read on this site. A few months ago when I first started reading fanfics, they were usually on personal webpages, or were on sites that didn't have the nurturing toward writing that's found at SQ. Needless to say I thought most of fanfic was garbage...and then I read this fic. I absolutely loved it and returned to this site. THe next fic I read after this one was "Down from the Tree:ACtions" and from that point on I kept coming back to the SQ for more and more...fixes :) This fic opened up a whole new world for me. I've gone from lurker, to avid reader, and have just written some of my own material. I haven't written creatively in years and in some way, you're responsible for turning me back to it.

I love, love, love this fic! You captured the distinct personalities of MWPP and Lily so well. Most fics only pic one or two to focus on, or resort to evil cliches (Slut!Sirius, Evil!Peter, Mopey!Moony)but the friendship between these 4, and the budding romance between James and Lily, is done very well. You've captured just how smart they are, and what smart @$$es they are as well. LOL at the headless chikcen in TRanfiguration, the Augury enchanted parchment, and the bar hopping. These characters are written like real young adults and their concerns about the up-coming war are written with subtle nervousness and foreboding instead of full-on angst. Love the different fonts for the different leteers. The last 2 lines of the fic are also beautiful in a very graceful, tender way.

I'm so happy I found this fic so I can read it again and again!

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2002-10-21
Reviewid: 6761Chapter: 1
It gave me chills, honestly. I have this problem...I get way too into what I read. I'd stop reading, but I think I'd die. It made me want to cry sometimes just because it was so good. I'm a freak like that. Great job.

Reviewer: BroceliandeDate: 2002-10-01
Reviewid: 5112Chapter: 1
Firstly, I must apologise. I've read that story several times, but I never reviewed it. But I thought you'd appreciate some feedback. I only hope that you still check on the reviews, even on your older stories.
Anyway, what do I like in it ?
I like the flow of the story : it’s like a roller coaster. The atmosphere in the scene in the infirmary is heavy, the paragraphs are compact, the dialogs scarce. Then with the exchange of letters, the mood lightens up and the pace quickens. There are some witty and very funny exchanges, especially between Sirius and Remus. With the funeral scene, we’re back to a heavier mood and although it lightens up again with the second exchange of letters, you can always feel the weight of the outside world on the 5 friends.
About the letters, you distinguish very well between the different writers, not only with the font used, but with the style and the subjects of the letters too. We don’t know much about James and even less about Lilly, but I think that Sirius, Remus and Peter correspond pretty well to the cannon characters : Sirius full of mischief, Remus maybe a bit too sensible for his age and Wormtail’s who betrays his lack of confidence in himself, his need to be accepted.
You suggest a reason why Voldemord is after the Potters. It is not an original idea, it has appeared in other fics, but I like the way you bring it delicately, at the end. It’s more than a hint, but it’s not thrust down our noses. It’s more subtle that this.
And they did find a nice tree stump.

Broceliande

Ps : have you given up on 'dreams of yesterday' ?

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3420Chapter: 1
How incredibaly cute! I love James and Lily fics.
Really good.

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 2014Chapter: 1
Wow. Just... wow. How beautiful. I LOVED the letters--funny and poignant and just perfect. Exactly how I imagined them. I love how each character was so strong and individual and tangible. And the proposal was just exquisite. PLEASE write more MWPP/Lily stories!!!

Reviewer: Frances O'BrienDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 542Chapter: 1
Oh! I cannot describe how much I loved this one!

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 393Chapter: 1
What a wonderful, wonderful, wonderful sotry.

Thank you.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --