The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Silver Badge
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: lemondrops8Date: 2006-08-19
Reviewid: 144891Chapter: 1
very cute story!!! loved it! im off to read the sequel- tata!

Reviewer: HorseloverPennyDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138707Chapter: 1
this was soo good.

My favorite part:
"He faced her again, a look of the purest mischief on his face. “Of course, that doesn’t mean that you can’t ask me out. I might even say yes!” He blew her an extravagant kiss, and disappeared."

I think you wrote that perfectly!!

Reviewer: airmedDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135077Chapter: 1
oh. my gosh. One of the best written james/lily peices I've read in a long while. I am waiting for the next installment.

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 134978Chapter: 1
Awesome!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134960Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I do like the "first-day" syndrone, and Lily's point of view is very refreshing. And my eyebrows were going up and up for James' "reformed behavior" and then I started snickering at the end. You did a great job.

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-10-18
Reviewid: 134701Chapter: 1
It's a lovely bit of fluff that I thoroughly enjoyed. James's comment about picking the Head Girl made me laugh out loud. Thanks!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134391Chapter: 1
Excellent

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134202Chapter: 1
You do a wonderful job balancing all sorts of information (backstory into the recent activities of the Death Eaters, the relationship of the Marauders to Lily and each other, and finally the other prefects from other houses) along with Lily's increasingly ambivalent feelings. Somehow you manage to not short-change any aspect of the story and still move it along.

One of my favorite fluffy parts was Lily realizing what a strong person James is. I think that is very canon, first of all - and honestly, there's nothing more attractive in a leading man. Sigh. I also loved the ending! James with his new leaf just waiting for Lily to ask him out. Too cute and just perfect! Ah - the anticipation for that UHK! Lovely job - and I'm so glad all of our antics on the fluff thread were inspiring! :)

Reviewer: dalfDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134166Chapter: 1
WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW!

I am a big fan of Most unusual student (even if it COULD be updated mroe often), but this was really fun reading. Sad that it is only an outtake and not somethign more, I suspect you could write James and Lily well.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134015Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Even better in full length. Though I expected nothing less. I think this stands alone without having read "Student". But knowing "Student", the personalities make great addition ot the color.

I also think you did a great job of treading the Love/Hate history of Lily and James. This will allow a nice development from their current status to where we know they end up. Of course, the Fluff Thread will be a great place to work those details out!! :)

Favorite line:
>>I’ll definitely kill Sirius later, Lily decided. Slowly.<<

Again, you have created a great world with your Marauders. And I hope this spin off has a future there!

Reviewer: N-aDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134011Chapter: 1
oh i loved your story! i actualy continued it between 2 days! you are a writer to be. My brother is a writer & i can not tell you his name fo r security pourposes but i think if you set your mind to it you can write a book to be published

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133960Chapter: 1
great story! james, lily, and sirius were very much in character. exactly how i would imagine it. keep writing!

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133948Chapter: 1
Wow. This is beautiful. It would've been most interesting if you decided to write more.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133945Chapter: 1
I love it! People so rarely write good Lily and James fics and this one is awesome! James' character was perfect and Lily was good too. :sigh: I enjoyed it so much. Is there more?

Reviewer: henryDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133930Chapter: 1
lovely story.. you write them all so well. Poor Lily the moment she finds out about the identity of the head boy. And james trying to be all mature. And I love his last remark. No wonder she sees him as a little arrogant.

What happens to "A most unusual student"? Will we see a new chapter some time soon?
It is really one of my absolute favorites.

henry

Reviewer: VioletDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133924Chapter: 1
Thank you for a great story and a truly warm and unique portrayal of Sirius. I enjoyed the idea of "Best Chest" and the way you worked the war into the story as well. I don't want to say much more in case someone reads the reviews first, but I loved the ending. Clever James!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133921Chapter: 1
The best chest discussion cracked me up. And I loved Lily's inner dialogue throughout the piece. Wonderful ending! What a fun twist! And so very in character for Marauder James. Well Done!

Reviewer: *Date: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133918Chapter: 1
:-)

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133916Chapter: 1
It's very nice. Lily and James are wonderful in this story, as well as other characters. =)

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133893Chapter: 1
I very much injoyed this one shot, You do a great job all the character's in this story, And the start of the romance between James and lily is wonderful. Thanks

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133880Chapter: 1
Very cute. Any more Remus fics in the future?

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133848Chapter: 1
Alkari -

Awwwwwww. I loved this! The idea of Head Boy/Girl being a chest competition...LMAO. Only you. I knew I recognized part of this from the fluffy thread, and am quite glad to see it all fleshed out in it's shining glory. You, once again, do a great justice to Marauders Era fanfiction *sigh*. James and Sirius have just the right amount of boyful playishness (yes, I'm sure those two last "words" aren't really words..heehee) and they possess the right amount of snarx to make them real. Lily's inner voices (I'm a big fan of Lily's innver voice) are a highlight and amusement to me, I loved it dearly. If I had to pick a favorite part of the whole thing...it would be Sirius introducing Head Boy to the Head Girl. *sigh*

You sure know how to keep us fluffer-types happy!
Well done.

~Hez

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133846Chapter: 1
Alkari! You truly are brilliant! I love Lily's inner monologue (dialogue? Whatever, I love it) throughout the whole story). One of these days I simply must read the whole 'Unusual Student' story because you're brilliant (or did I say that already?). And James, James, James. He may be reformed, he may be mature, but he is still a Marauder through and through. His parting comment and actions made me want to smack him across the face. I'll leave it to you to decide if I mean 'smack' as in slap or 'smack' as in kiss! I *love* this!

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133845Chapter: 1
Oh this was just wonderful! You balanced everything right and the transition in their relationship was subtle and yet well done. It's very hard to find authors who can write L/J well and I'm glad I finally found one. :)

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133838Chapter: 1
Man, that was really good :D “Of course, that doesn’t mean that you can’t ask me out. I might even say yes!” That is probably the most hilarious thing I've read in a long time! Great writing ;)

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133827Chapter: 1
That was truly excellent. You struck a wonderful balance between the humour and the ever-worsening situation of the war. And I'm glad that you are intending taking "A Most Unusual Student" through to the end of their schooldays.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133821Chapter: 1
Wild applause! I love fic that show Lily and james at the start of things...and how they take things slowly. And I love Lily's inner thoughts.

“No. I thought Head Boys were supposed to be law-abiding people who set a good example to the rest of the school.”

Really great line there. I hope you feel open to writing more out takes like this. Fluff is good!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --