The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Starved
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-25
Reviewid: 142233Chapter: 1
AAaarggggh! You do it to me, Mosylu! That was a very tender, very sharp knife going deep - with just a little twist at the end. A perfect evocation of the 12-yr old Harry, with all his emotional naivite and need and also of the very loving, thoroughly grounded Molly.
And I loved the Australasian butterflies.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-29
Reviewid: 141427Chapter: 1
A pleasant little story.

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-11-09
Reviewid: 135751Chapter: 1
Awww! I think Molly gave him plenty between a real breakfast and properly mended socks. I doubt if he's ever had either one since he was 15 months old! Touching story!

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135655Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this look inside the mind of Molly Weasley. I've always liked her character, and I think you captured her perfectly. I truly believed all of her thoughts and emotions regarding Harry. The bits about Percy and parchment and the twins were delightful. I really felt like I was in the Weasley home, and I look forward to reading more by you.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134526Chapter: 1
sniff! Molly is so lovely ...

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134371Chapter: 1
Oh, how I liked this! Throughout the piece I kept thinking we were going to get the "payoff" moment when Molly handed Harry a Lily memory and you didn't give us that (Bravo for you!) and then at the end you gave us the real payoff moment, in such a simple, almost goofy, ordinary, moment, because Molly is doing what she can for him, isn't she, in her own way? This is very real and beautiful.

*sniff*

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134354Chapter: 1
I love this story. It's so good it made me cry at the end. (for real)

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134314Chapter: 1
Aww this was lovely. Very Mollyish. I loved all the little humourous asides- Percy with the biting paperclips, Ron with his un butterfly like footsteps and how her mind seemed to be in a hundred places at once. And Harry's plea was very touching- poor kid, it just ain't fair. And the hair like wine in candlelght was a beautiful descriptiond- and again, somehow very Mollyish. Great stuff!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133995Chapter: 1
Very nice! I like the angle you take: a mother feeling the need to step in and offer comfort as a surrogate. My mind's eye sees Molly the same way. Frustrated about not being able to give him what she thinks he needs.

Great work. Up to your usual high standards!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133978Chapter: 1
Aww...I LOVE Molly.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133973Chapter: 1
Great story! I think you really captured Molly's character in this story. You did a great job in describing how hard she tried to tell Harry about his Mom.

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133933Chapter: 1
Aww, poor little Harry. I wish someone could have given him more, too. The sheer shock and joy over someone willing to mend his socks is kind of heartbreaking. I'd like to stab Petunia's cold selfish heart like a sausage, too. Go, Molly!

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133928Chapter: 1
Ahhh, what a lovely little slice of Burrow life! You so wonderfully addressed the issue of Molly trying to do everything she could to 'feed' Harry while still having to let his heart go hungry. All mums know how much that aches and wish they could take on the heartache themselves.

Favorite LoL funny line:
"Ah, yes. The gentlemanly, sedate tread of her youngest son coming down the stairs. Like a butterfly, it was. A butterfly the size of Australia."
Yep. That's our Ron. :)

~NZ~

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133883Chapter: 1
Oh! Well done! I've got the warm mummy fuzzies now. :D

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133881Chapter: 1
Sweet and sad. Nice job with Harry.

Reviewer: TynashaDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133871Chapter: 1
That was so...I dunno actually, calming in a way.

Reviewer: FornooneDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133864Chapter: 1
I like this story very much, it made me a happy sort of sad. I love mummyMolly, it's my favourite Molly and I think that she's the best thing that would have happen to Harry.
Thanks for this moment.

Reviewer: SulhaDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133862Chapter: 1
Awww. This story is soooo cute! You are a wonderful author. Can't wait to read new stories written by you, I have already read all of the ones so far =). Good Luck in the future!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133857Chapter: 1
This is a lovely fic-realistic and charming. I like seeing everyday moments-makes you realize how much JKR implies about her world but has no room to show. Especially the fact that Ron's parents wouldn't have automatically have known about Harry's upbringing- that they would have had to piece together much of the neglect and hardship he had suffered from random comments and moments like the incident with the marmalade. I especially liked how Molly was trying so hard to share something about his mother with Harry, yet in her very actions was sharing her own skills as a mother.

Nice work.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133847Chapter: 1
I think I'd forgotten just how vulnerable Harry was in the first books and how he must've seemed to Molly when he first stayed at The Burrow. I love Molly here as well - she seems very natural and you see how much mothering she has to do every day - it's no wonder she fusses.

Reviewer: fitzetteDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133844Chapter: 1
Oh my. This is wonderful. I have loved to see the Molly/HArry dynamic develop over the course of the books, and this is such a tasty morsel. Absolutely lovely.

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133841Chapter: 1
awwww....this was so good. Nice original idea too, I really enjoyed this.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133837Chapter: 1
That was very sweet - very Molly - without being in the least bit cloying. Great.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133834Chapter: 1
Oh, wow, that was heartbreakingly sweet. I've enjoyed all your work, so it's not surprising I should like this, but it's great. Poor Harry--I've always wanted to mother him, and this just sharpens the impulse.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133830Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh! I just realized about the title. "Starved" not in the physical sense but in the emotional sense. Now it's even sadder! This was awesome!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133829Chapter: 1
Awww! That bit at the end was so bittersweet! I was smiling but tearing up at the same time. Thanks a lot ;)

I loved the description of Ron's footsteps. You captured his character just by describing his walk. Brilliant! It was agonizing to see Molly trying to rack her brain just to give Harry one little 'crumb'. This made me just want to grab Harry up in a hug and feed him cookies. This packed a huge punch for such a short piece. Great job!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133825Chapter: 1
So sweet. I love the Aussie and Kiwi butterfly metaphor. It makes me giggle.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133822Chapter: 1
Oh my! So touching. One of my most favorite moments is when Molly holds Harry at the end of GoF and Harry can't remember ever being held like this - like being held by a mother. This whole fic made me think of that moment. So beautiful and very well done.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133820Chapter: 1
Lovely! I'm so glad Molly's been around for Harry. He needed a mother so badly, especially for the little things like socks.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133817Chapter: 1
Well done, I enjoyed the story alot keep up the good work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --