The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: On Wings
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: Gred and FeorgeDate: 2007-12-29
Reviewid: 150247Chapter: 1
Lucky Ginny!!! Why does she get Harry?!?

'“So it’s a walk outside, then?” Ginny said, as they reached the ground floor of the castle.
“Yeah,” said Harry.
“Just a walk?” Ginny’s mouth was curved into a half-smile and her dark eyes were mischievous.
Harry grinned. “Well,” he said. “We could do other stuff, if you like.”
“Really?” Ginny feigned surprise. “Like what, Harry?”
This time he nudged her. “What do you think?”
“You tell me.”
“I’ll show you.”

Awww...Harry In Love.

'He inwardly grimaced. Why was he so bad at this? He had just uttered the biggest understatement of his life. Ginny in Gryffindor Quidditch robes was about the most attractive thing he had ever seen.'

Ha Ha, Thats funny.


'To himself, Harry was skinny, awkward and nothing special,'

But to the rest of your cute, innocent, hott(somtimes), and allways amazing in on eway or another.


',but she was looking at him as though he were the greatest man alive.'


Thats more like it!!!

I also like the bit where Harry kisses her nose- Harrys so sweet.

Love the story-best fluff ever.

~Jack(ie)

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-09-26
Reviewid: 149414Chapter: 1
Such a lovely piece of fluff. In character, and so right. Thank you for writing this! This part made me chuckle out loud:

He could just stare and stare at her, without worrying that she might notice, or that Hermione might get smugger, or that he might get hit by a Bludger, or that he might get hit by Ron…

Reviewer: Alohomora BlackDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149384Chapter: 1
three cheers for an EXCELENT harry ginny fluff fic!!

Reviewer: Brin BranDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149060Chapter: 1
Erm... Ms Rowling, this must be you??

OMG. Seriously. This is the BEST work of H/G fluff ever. Harry and Ginny are both completely in character, and there's not half an ounce of false sugaryness anywhere! This is definitely my new favourite H/G fic. I've never read anything as convincing (after the whole series of canon) or as satisfying. Wow.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2006-10-26
Reviewid: 145948Chapter: 1
wonderful story. Loved it.

Reviewer: iamFez LadedaDate: 2006-10-01
Reviewid: 145569Chapter: 1
This is my second time reading this and it's still as good!

I loved this and you got the characterisation of Harry and Ginny spot on! It really did feel like reading a missing moment from canon!

Reviewer: VicusDate: 2006-10-01
Reviewid: 145565Chapter: 1
That was so beautiful, so natural! *Sighs* I loved it!!! I think I'm going to read it again.

Reviewer: hp4-sauceDate: 2006-07-15
Reviewid: 144189Chapter: 1
Brilliant!

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2006-05-06
Reviewid: 142593Chapter: 1
Second time reading it and i am now forced to review again. I love this story too much!

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142090Chapter: 1
I really liked the part where Harry touches Ginny's hair, notices her shampoo, and makes the connection with Amorentia. I liked that Ginny ran her fingers through Harry's hair and asked him about the way it grows. Harry's hair is one of the things that makes him so... "Harryish" as you put it. Ginny's probably been staring at Harry's head for the past five (six?) years. I got this impression that maybe Ginny finally got to do something she'd been daydreaming about doing for a long time. With Ginny's hands in Harry's hair, Ginny is as much a fixture in Harry's life as Harry's overnight hair regrowth after Aunt Petunia's scissors is an event of his past. I guess in your story, exploring each other's hair was another way besides kissing that they both got to bring each other into a closer relationship and marvelling at each other. Ron and Lavendar would kiss, but Harry and Ginny would kiss and play with each other's hair. I liked how you said "Ginny was THE girl" (she is special and has a lot of depth!) and I liked how Ginny said, "You've had a lot on your mind" and Harry said, "You were the most pleasant thing." I loved that ending hug where you describe how Harry had never had that kind of closeness. Thanks for writing such a sweet story. I'm going to read it again now!

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2006-04-09
Reviewid: 141792Chapter: 1
HOLY CRAP! THIS IS AWESOME! This is so much more super-dooper-awesome-coolness-amazing-sensational-ness-ness than i pictured it! OmG! Thank you! now i look at that part in the book as a much more romantic amazing part that it actually is. Thank you for a great read.

loveLoVeLOVE
Emerika

Reviewer: inst8ntstrDate: 2006-04-03
Reviewid: 141597Chapter: 1
I have read my fair shar of fan fics and my fair share of people's perspectives on the "aftermath" of "the kiss," but this one is by far the best I habe read (so far anyways)! I really, really, really, really, really, reaaly (really) liked it! Keep writing and good luck.

Reviewer: sweetdreamer285Date: 2006-01-29
Reviewid: 139004Chapter: 1
I have to be honest with you:
This is absolutely THE most accurate,most full-filling,most satisfatory--you name it. Of all the "Post-The Kiss" missing moments out there, I have finally found it here in your fan fic. Thank you so much!^_^

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138583Chapter: 1
Fluffalicious is a good word.

Reviewer: hahahaveryfunEDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137294Chapter: 1
Oh my GOSH!!!!! Dear God, I am SUCH a GIRL, but I'm going to be honest, this one almsot made me cry. Really, really made me want to cry! This kicks any sort of romance I've ever tried to get on paper out of the water, it honestly does... Wow... I'm in awe... your descriptions were SO touching, BEYOND touching, I swear.... Oh, and Harry just DESERVED this, why did it have to end so soon? :(

Both very much in character, Harry especially. My favorite line (or at least one of them) was this one:

"He felt as though he were learning to do magic for the first time again; this was so new and so right. This was completely different from being hugged by Mrs Weasley, or Hermione, or Sirius, or the Quidditch team. Completely different to kissing Ginny or holding her hand."

I never knew I could adore this ship so much- you could make the firmest non-believer of H/G fall in love with this ship (or at the very least, this fic). Saving this to favorites... Now! :D :) ;)

Reviewer: EurydiceDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135324Chapter: 1
This is lovely. You've got the voices so well; I imagine that Romantic Harry is rather tougher to write than expected, but he's so vivid and fun here. The story's also very funny, full of one-shots and imagery. My favorite quickie-line is probably "He had been a bit taller as well." Hee.

This is some of the best voicing I've ever read in fanfic. They're so real!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134939Chapter: 1
I've read loads of fics about this moment but this is definitely the best yet. It exactly describes the way I've felt at these moments in my life. And I love the idea that Ginny nicked the Snitch to give to him. A beautifully written and very canon-worthy fic.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134752Chapter: 1
I don't think this scene could be handled any better- you really captured both characters and mood, and it felt so true to canon. *sigh* I am grinning giddily after reading it, which is really the reaction one should get from reading great fluff. ;o) Absolutely love it.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134621Chapter: 1
Oh, that was great! Harry is so adorably awkward--very in character. It's plausible AND well-written. You can't get much better than that.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134613Chapter: 1
This is so wonderfully sweet. I enjoyed every bit of it, and it really could fit in HBP, which is even better. I particularly liked the way you contrasted Harry's image of himself with Ginny's image, and how warm Harry felt when he was around her.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: snuggle the muggleDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134596Chapter: 1
Oh! This was so excellent! I have read a lot of versions of this undescribed-in-canon afternoon, but this is by far the most romantic and most well-written yet. It is perfect, with Harry being so happy. I particularly loved the part where he didn't want to stop touching her. I also loved the part about when he was thinking about how wonderful kissing was. To sum up, I will just say it is superb and I will recommend it to friends. Very good. Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: KSDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134593Chapter: 1
in two words...wow...perfect :-) Your characterization of our second favorite couple is so very well done...bravo!

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134508Chapter: 1
This was excellent. For me, it happened this way and I'm not sure I'll be able to read any other fics that do it justice.

I think you both characters really well. This was SO Harry: "He inwardly grimaced. Why was he so bad at this? He had just uttered the biggest understatement of his life. Ginny in Gryffindor Quidditch robes was about the most attractive thing he had ever seen."

Reviewer: firewhiskeyDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134502Chapter: 1
Oh wow...are you sure you aren't Jo's muse? That seemed like it could have actually been canon. You rock hon!

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134469Chapter: 1
I think you found the lost bit of JKR's manuscript the publishers forgot to put in. I love it!

Reviewer: LizzDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134467Chapter: 1
YAY!! i luv these hary/ginny story's but no one makes them SQUEE vair gd quiz *claps*

Reviewer: greyashowlDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134462Chapter: 1
This was really adorable. In some ways I wish we had seen this in the book but then writers such as yourself couldn't fill us in :)

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134459Chapter: 1
You're right - there have been a few versions of this missing moment, but yours really struck the right tone. Fluffilicious yes, but wonderfully Harry and Ginnyly so. This was funny and sweet and real in all the right places and the last line rounds it off beautifully and slots back into canon.

Reviewer: miss.okDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134438Chapter: 1
Thank You.
I've tried to imagine that moment ever since I read The Book, but I've never been good at writing and I've just had some incomplete scenes in my mind. Now I can have it all and it's really great.

Reviewer: BeckaDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134429Chapter: 1
This is the most beautiful fic of missing moments that I read 'til now. Just lovely! I love the way u write Harry and Ginny characters.
Awsome, really awsome :D

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134421Chapter: 1
Lol. Great.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134360Chapter: 1
Perfection. I wish I could give you something constructive, but I have no suggestions. I just smiled and smiled as I read the whole thing.

Do us all a favor and wirte more of these H/G missing moments!

Reviewer: PaulabookwormDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134325Chapter: 1
FABULOUS!! So many little gems tucked in there - "the need to breathe was really far less pressing than the need to keep kissing" - Ginny's account of the match, Peeves, the Fat Lady, Harry's hair - just lovely. If we beg nicely will you write some more Harry /Ginny fluff?
Love Paula

Reviewer: BlahhumbugDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134287Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134239Chapter: 1
Okay, so admittedly, this wasn't a an original premise, however, I really liked your take on it. I loved how you described all the flutterings and awkwardness of first love. Ginny was perfect; assertive, yet just a little hesitant. It bothers me when fics portray her as too self-assured in matters of romance. Huge 'squee' moment at the end w/ Harry's tummy. That was adorable!

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134228Chapter: 1
This was an absolutely perfect story! I loved it so much!

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134195Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. I usually like to copy my favorite lines from stories and paste them down here but there were just too many of them. That was perfect, really. Definitely the best of one of these that I've read. Absolutely incredible. Excellent job. You captured them both wonderfully, Harry especially. I feel like this should have gone right in the book.
Okay, thank you for sharing this. Really, really awesome.
Bella

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134182Chapter: 1
This is a delight! I love Harry/Ginny stories and this one is perfect. You had me giggling at a couple of sentences. 'Butter dish-elbowing, valentine-sending, Pygmy Puff-owning, Bat Bogey-hexing, Snitch-catching, goal-scoring, chocolate-bearing, Ministry-storming Ginny,' was a perfect discription and 'Harry said nothing, but wondered how inappropriate it would be to wear his Quidditch robes now that the season had finished,' just made me snort.

Reviewer: FitzetteDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134173Chapter: 1
This is so beyond perfect for Harry and Ginny I could sit down and weep.

"He felt as though he were learning to do magic for the first time again..." *sigh*

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134160Chapter: 1
I think that was the loveliest post-kiss scenarios I've read yet. I'm still grinning!

Reviewer: CheleDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134158Chapter: 1
by far the best missing moment fic i've read. i love all the missing moment fics, but mostly i loved the length of this particular story, it just kept going and going (and kept getting better and better!)

great job :-)

Reviewer: miaka mouseDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134157Chapter: 1
i love you

thank you for writing this... i think it's the best post-kiss fic i've read yet.. i love that she let him keep kissing her while she told him about the match... perfect touch! please keep writing more H/G!!

Reviewer: J62442Date: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134153Chapter: 1
(Great, giant sigh of contentment)That was so lovely! The best "whatever happened after the first kiss" story I've read, hands down! Makes a girl want to play some Quidditch and find themselves a Harry!(giggles girlishly) And, it was so very well written! I give you a standing O for making my evening. Looking forward to future posts from you!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134151Chapter: 1
Fantastic! This is the best missing moment concerning THE KISS I have read. It was perfect!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134131Chapter: 1
Usually not a huge fan of one-shots, but this one was really, really good. Some character development as they start to sort out their new relationship. I think you nailed the dialogue between Harry and Ginny and the narrative voice in Harry's head. "Harry seriously considered asking Professor McGonagall to lengthen the Quidditch season." Ha! Cracked me up.

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134128Chapter: 1
so sweet, I like it!

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134119Chapter: 1
That was really good! I could actually feel that I was seeing what they were doing! Excellent writing!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134116Chapter: 1
Oh my, that was adorable. You had me copying and pasting paragraphs to my friends over instant messenger, just for the squee-factor.

I love Harry in this - his honest, sensitive, pure awe of Ginny is extremely endearing. Good job, way to keep them both in character.

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134107Chapter: 1
That was such a beautiful story!!!!

I esp. loved this part:
“We could do other stuff, if you like.”



“Really?” Ginny feigned surprise. “Like what, Harry?”



This time he nudged her. “What do you think?”



“You tell me.”



“I’ll show you.”



What had he been worried about? He could talk to her. This wasn’t any girl. This wasn’t Cho, or Parvati, or Romilda Vane and her giggling companions. This was Ginny. Butter dish-elbowing, valentine-sending, Pygmy Puff-owning, Bat Bogey-hexing, Snitch-catching, goal-scoring, chocolate-bearing, Ministry-storming Ginny. She wasn’t just any girl. She was the girl.

You really showed the extent to which Harry felt about Ginny, which HBP was a little lacking, though I understood JK's reasons for that.

Anyway, I enjoyed reading about how Ginny made..or makes Harry feel. You were thoroughly detailed and IMO, quite accurate.

Great job!

Reviewer: KateHCDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134091Chapter: 1
Just lovely! If it didn't happen that way, it should have.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --