The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Job Hazards
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112355Chapter: 1
very, very good
Did you miss a chance to let the Sphinx consider being recruited - after such a strong display of dislike for DA?

Reviewer: Gir-RoryDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107127Chapter: 1
I love this story! It's one of the best Bill fics out there (not to mention one of the only Bill fics out there). Great job!!!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106327Chapter: 1
I discovered this fic while looking for Bill Weasley fics (since today is his birthday on JKR.com).

Sand wraiths and a sphinx -- a typical day for Bill!

Reviewer: MorganDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104948Chapter: 1
This is fascinating! Very well-written. I look forward to reading "Dreamwalkers" to find out what happens next. Glad to see Bill Weasley getting a good story - he really does seem to have the potential for intrigue (because of his character and his job!). Can't wait to read more.

Thanks,
Morgan

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104676Chapter: 1
very clever, exactly how i imagined Bill. Ver nice writing, maybe a bit more dialouge. what movie was he watchting, anyaway?

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95233Chapter: 1
Wow! Be still my heart! Bill Weasley is sexy!!
But that's hardly the point. This fic ROX. I loved the ending (I think I share his nostalgia for Hogwarts vicariously) and his whole job is thoroughly exciting. I wonder if there might have been more to Bill's girlfriendlessness than you explored, though.
Oh, and if I were Bill I'd get rid of that statuette. Do what an immortal tells you, man.
Lastly, and most importantly- STEVE KICKS A**!!!! I want to BE him! A Muggle living in a wizarding town...heaven. Who'd have imagined it possible?? He's a brilliant character!

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86847Chapter: 1
What an entertaining depiction of Bill Weasley's job. Very imaginative portrayal of the magical world of Egypt, I love how you've obviously given so much thought to the intricacies of mummies, sand wraiths and sphynxes. Bill's roguish charm makes him a great character.
The letters Bill receives were lovely, as they show us the tight bond which exists between the Weasleys. Bill's yearning for home and his family was also touching in this regard.
Bill's dream at the end is so sweet, with him saying hello to the portraits.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43322Chapter: 1
this is AWESOME. very well written..just how i'd imagine bill. now rushing off to read dreamwalkers...

Reviewer: Magical MeDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37052Chapter: 1
I didn't realize there was so much great fic out here! I suppose with 6 days left till OotP, this is a fortunate time to be discovering it.

Anyway, wonderful story. You've given Bill some much-welcomed depth, and you've given me a reason to go read Dreamwalkers :)

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35781Chapter: 1
Wondeful story! I am planning to read "Dreamwalkers" and the fifth year story that these two Bill-fics serve as a prologue to. And so, I begin to read again!

~Merusa

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30369Chapter: 1
I have to say, I already loved Bill before this, but now I am over and beyond obsessed with him. The way he interacted with the Sphynx (who is a great laugh -- ". . . aw, screw this nonsense.") was -classic-. And I think it's very sweet of Bill to be contributing to his family.

The ending was lovely, too.

I'm off to read Dreamwalkers.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13323Chapter: 1
Forgot to mention that I loved the Sphinx. She was delightfully earthy -- I kept hearing Mae West's voice -- versus the conventional inscrutable Sphinx. Great job!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13317Chapter: 1
It's very sweet of Bill to be sending money home to his family. I don't know how it is in Western cultures, but in the East (at least here in the Philippines), older children sometimes quit school to work just so their younger siblings can continue their studies.

Sorry about the little anthropology lesson :) Anyway, I really enjoyed this story. Bill still has his Head Boy smarts but he's reckless and laid-back. Great job! I'm off to check the other stories out now...

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10068Chapter: 1
This fic has been mentioned so many times, but this is the first time I've gotten a chance to read it. This fic truly deserves the praise that's been given to it on various boards. I was only mildly interested in Bill Weasley before reading this fic; now I've got a full blown crush!

This story was so inventive. I love the letter between Charlie and Bill. The details of the pearls and centipedes were really beautiful and seeped the fic in deeper mythology. Also liked the touch about Mrs. Weasley bugging her boys about grandkids!

The sand wraiths ROX and I love how Bill dealt with them. I personally think they should be added to the newest edition of "Fantastic Beasts." Your sphynx cracked me up! "...here is your second riddle: I am all the colors in the... aw, screw this nonsense. LOL! She was just this perfect character, fluxuatng between bawdy harpie and grand mythological beast. I love it when authors give a new twist to common ideas and I love how she just stole the show, so to speak, in this fic! Looking forwrd to the sequal!

Reviewer: CAITLINADate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2559Chapter: 1
KEWL...I LOVED IT...U COULD USE A PUBLISHER...WELL...SEE YA...CAITLINA P.S. U WRITE A LOT OF GOOD STORIES, KEEP IT UP, ONE THING, PUT UR STORIES IN A BETTER ORDER? SEE YA, CAITLINA

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2228Chapter: 1
Great job on this! I LOVE seeing this side of Bill, and the sphinx was excellent. The figurine is also very intriguing. Off to the sequel!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --