The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Broken Wands
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149310Chapter: 1
I liked the story a lot. You have an interesting psychological insight that Augusta's attitude toward Neville rises from her frustration with her son's debility and her inability to forgive her son for being victimized. I find that very believable.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146583Chapter: 1
quite nice.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144510Chapter: 1
Whenever I read a fanfic with Augusta Longbottom, and I feel like smacking her, I know the author has done a good job writing her. The dream was an interesting way to get her to understand Neville, but I'm glad she finally pulled through.

Good fic!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135348Chapter: 1
I just have to say first off that it seems that this fic is almost more about Snape than it is about Neville and his relationship with his grandmother. I try to stay out of the Snape threads, but I do know the arguement that Snape treats Neville and perhaps Harry badly is because he sees weakness and wants to "stamp it out" comes up quite frequently. Assuming Snape is not evil, I don't go with the Harry arguement, but although I don't believe Neville is weak, Snape might see him as such, and despise him for it. Again, assuming Not Evil!Snape, or even if he is Evil!Snape, either way he is very much in character, even if it is Augusta's perception of him.
Being the Neville fan that I am, I really hated Augusta at the beginning. You did a good job with her characterization that way. It really doesn't take her long to jump from Neville's "wrongs" to Neville's "probably wrongs", if that makes sense.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135314Chapter: 1
J, this is brilliant. :)

You did a wonderful job with Neville and his Gran, and even dream!Snape and Alice and Frank.

One of my favorite aspects of your writing is that you notice things about canon that other people don't really concentrate on in fanfic, and you make it your own. I love reading what you write, Little Bro. :)

Jules

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135086Chapter: 1
Ooooh, this was really good! I liked the parallels between Snape and Augusta, and that the reason she was so hard on Neville was frustration at Frank. I've never thought much about how she would be affected from seeing her son in St. Mungo's for so long... this was a really good explanation of why she acts the way she does. It might be a bit of a stretch to think she'd be changed from a realization in a dream, but I don't care because it worked so well in this story. Great, great job.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134844Chapter: 1
Oh, that was good. Mrs. Longbottom really does need sense knocked into her--I nearly cheered when McGonagall said as much in HBP. I love Neville dearly, and I love his particular way of being a Gryffindor. I hope that Gran does indeed come to see how brave and wonderful he really is. Nice job.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134837Chapter: 1
Neat story! For a while, I really thought that Snape and the DE's had come to visit Augusta. Good work.

Reviewer: mindy11Date: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134821Chapter: 1
you are a stupid idiot. if snape was evil why did he save Dumbeldores life! you dont have a clue! go back and read the books ya stupid neville worshipper!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134792Chapter: 1
The whole comparison of Gran to Snape was done in a very good, very chilling way. Hope you keep writing.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134777Chapter: 1
Oh, how nice! :) I was a bit confused when the "Death Eaters" started patting Augusta's back, though.

I enjoy seeing these fics - you definitely did a good job of showing the slight cruelty of Neville's grandmother.

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134767Chapter: 1
Very nicely done. I loved to see the transformation of mrs longbottoms mindset on Neville. You did a very good job of explaining how she could see him as so weak in the beginning and how she was able to think the worst of him. Very striking when you know the story as we do. My only critisism is when you introduce alice and frank in the dream, you may have wanted to show who they were earlier as they would not ordanarily show up in the guise of death eaters and you loose many comments and how they are intended until you realise who they are. but overall, very very swell job on this! Thank you for an entertaining read!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --