The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Monkey Business
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: IggyDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135480Chapter: 1
I love the way you discribe life with Edgar. Speaking as a snake lover and owner I have to say you are spot on about life with a constrictor. This line " There is no cruelty in the act; it is natural" is the perfect answer to most peoples question of 'How can you feed it other animals?'

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135442Chapter: 1
Oh, this was very good. I enjoyed it greatly.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135146Chapter: 1
:D And Snape makes such an incredibly cute monkey! Did you know, in Spanish, the word "mono" means both "monkey" and "cute"? The descriptions of the monkey once it stopped coming across as pure furry rage reminded me of that. Plus, there is something unbelievably perspective-changing about a... a murderer as a monkey who wants to be carried. Very good writing, too, I love the descriptions. Like I was actually there. Not all writers are good at that, some don't bother or aren't creative enough, some try so hard it gets dull. You managed to avoid doing either of those things.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135144Chapter: 1
I like Brynhild! I'll have to see if you're written more about her, because I simply want to know more--why isn't she a witch anymore, for one thing. I was genuinely surprised by the Big Reveal at the end! I went back and re-read the middle section, and of course now it seems obvious. As an animal person, I also really enjoyed the description of the pets' personalities. Lovely story!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134940Chapter: 1
LOL! I loved it, it was very cute. Your animal descriptions were spot-on, especially Allan, "He is almost ancient now, the intolerant patriarch of the house, one of these old-fashioned moody cats who consider it a painful but inescapable feline duty to grace an abode with their presence". The only thing I didn't like was that some of the tenses confused me, I couldn't tell when this was taking place. But other than that I loved it!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134903Chapter: 1
that was really cute i liked that I loved Dumboldores says about betting that he would have turned into a black sheep but sheep cant scowl that was good =)

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134810Chapter: 1
Oh I like this! Snape as a monkey?!? That's priceless. hehehe.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134757Chapter: 1
ROTFL - this is a little gem.

,i>You see, Severus has developed monkey habits. I won’t be surprised if he keeps scratching himself or craves bananas for a considerable time after transforming back.</i> * Picks self up from floor! Of all the animals to turn into, how appropriate. (I'd always thought a vulture was his correct Animagus form, but a monkey is superb)

<i> “A monkey,” he mutters, “a bloody monkey. Just my luck that I should turn into a creature that is in the habit of displaying its privates.”
“Well, I should think it very liberating,” Dumbledore says reasonably. “Monkeys have no sense of shame. You will have to admit that there are distinct advantages to that.”</i> *Dies laughing. Shades of James and those underpants, you naughty person!

On a slightly more serious note, that was a very astute observation about Snape, how his envy/hatred of all things MWPP could drive him to an extreme like that. The "anything you can do, I can do better' syndrome, instead of just reaching an adult acceptance of things and allowing childhood/teenage years to slip into the past.

Delightfully written and observed - well done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --