The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: Kitty45Date: 2006-04-30
Reviewid: 142415Chapter: 1
Wow! You've truly captured the mindset of a thirteen-year-old girl. Good job. I like the idea of Petunia resenting Lily not helping her. How much older is Lily, anyway? She sounds...16 or something.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139389Chapter: 1
This was really interesting. I never actually thought about Lily and Petunia's relationship like this before. You've created an incredibly believable story that helps to explain the resentment and dislike Petunia has for Lily. You also captured the world of young teenage girls very well. Also, the last few sentences of the story are very, very good, very poignant. Good job, and thanks for the story.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136619Chapter: 1
Good for Petunia.

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136000Chapter: 1
Ohh this was such a bittersweet story, it really does bring depth to Petunia which she sorely needs I think. I'll have to disagree with the other readers, I never even thought about who was the elder, but I can definetly belive Lily was the oldest, and that Petunia loathed her for being the weird elder sister that eclipsed her in every way. You do a beautiful job of showing that distance between the two of them with Petunia reaching out and Lily unable to really close the gap.

Reviewer: nymphadora_floridaDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135721Chapter: 1
So, I picked this story by looking at some of your posts, and the title amused me! I'm sure glad I read it, because it's definitely worth anyone who has sisters at all to read.

Reviewer: grim girlDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135378Chapter: 1
never read one with petunia being younger than lily
vvvvvvery interesting cool though
Love ~The Grim

Reviewer: godricshollowDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135279Chapter: 1
Clever idea! It was a cute little one-off and I'll be reading more of your work soon!

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135222Chapter: 1
Ah, *Jackie*! The photo-love stories were my favourites, being just a bit young for the lip-glossing tips at the time.

Beautifully written, Deborah, with just the right balance of humour and pathos. I particularly enjoyed your description of the classroom-politics that poor Petunia is forced to negotiate. Your Brit-pickers have done a good job, and the girls' catty dialogue is just right. I have to agree with some of your other reviewers and say that I believe Petunia to be the eldest sister, but that aside, the sad, tense and awkward relationship you have established between Lily and Petunia in their short dialogue is very convincing. And I'm glad you ended it by setting the sisters further apart; it might have been tempting to bring them together briefly and to hint at a different future for them, but I rather think it is more bitter and more tragic the way you have accomplished it. Well done and thank you.

Reviewer: you-know-whoDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135181Chapter: 1
Aww...that was kind of sad...in a way...

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135164Chapter: 1
I confess, I have a weak spot for stories that make me pity Petunia. Good work.

Reviewer: ShiggyDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135160Chapter: 1
Being in an incredibly competitive middle school without an older sister to help you, it's got to be horrible. And unless you have the certain attitude, it's very discouraging. You portrayed that very well. It's a fantastic story!

Reviewer: NewbiaDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135121Chapter: 1
This review isn't really constructive critism, as I didn't find any problem with the story. It was a great fic! Just about every line in the introduction was hilarious, but there were good parts of the story that weren't about humor. I really liked it when Lily said, "You’re a Muggle, Petunia!” Excellent piece of characterization.

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135110Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. That was a wonderful story. Really shed light on everything. Interesting, though - I've never read a story where Petunia is Lily's younger sister; it's always vice-versa. This makes sense, though. Excellent job.
Bella

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135096Chapter: 1
Poor Petunia. I really liked how you captured the bitchiness of school girls and Petunia wanting to fit in- it was very realistic and nicely understated. Good job!

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135095Chapter: 1
This is great! You made Petunia believable and deserving of sympathy, but you also conveyed her mistrust, unwillingness to listen, and total ignorance of magical lwas. Well done!

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135090Chapter: 1
I really liked this story very much. My only confusion is that I think Petunia is the elder sister not the younger one. I think you set things up very well, and I'm better understanding the questions on the 70's thread.
PS-- I didn't have a big sister either, and my mom was doing her best to keep me a kid, so wouldn't tell me girl stuff. So guess who taught me all that stuff? My grandma. She even took me to get my ears pierced without my mom's permission.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135076Chapter: 1
Oh, I was hoping this would be a happy fic, but I like how it turned out, anyway. I don't read many Lily-Petunia fics, although their relationship always interests me. I particularly--well, not like, but I don't know, am partial to?--the recurring "special school" part. It was very well-done. Good fic! :)

Love,
Brittney

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135072Chapter: 1
Haven't read any fanfiction in a really, really long time, but when we saw your name on the list we just had to peek...

what a great story! Thanks for not giving it a sappy-sweet ending *sporx Lily.* It makes us almost sympathetic with Petunia...and apparently she learnt a lot from those magazines: enough to be concerned about Perfect Appearances for the rest of her life!

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135070Chapter: 1
This raises a lot of questions (which I guess you can't answer because it would be moving away from canon). How, exactly, does Lily do her hair and makeup by magic, and why is the magic easier than doing it by hand? (It doesn't seem that hard to do by hand, but the magic seems like it would be complicated). Why does the underage magic detector work that way? How did Lily figure this out?

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135057Chapter: 1
I just don't understand why you aren't on the Professor's Bookshelf. After I read this fic (which I loved) I went along and read all of your others, and you are a simply fantastic writer. Your perspectives are lovely and just draw you into the story lines. You portray the characters as they are in cannon, yet still manage to throw in sympathy for people that rarely recieve it. Thank you for the amazing read!

Reviewer: ShelleyDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135056Chapter: 1
Wow this is the first fic I've read with Lilly and Petunia, I quite like it!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135051Chapter: 1
This was amazing! I could actually picture Petunia's heart hardening towards Lily. You managed to make her a very sympathetic character. I felt so bad for her being left out like that. Great story.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135047Chapter: 1
I really liked seeing this, well, it's like a crossroads for Petunia, and in this story you can see how she is becoming what she is in the books. It's so realistic and rather hearbreaking. I always thought of Petunia as the popular one, but here it shows otherwise, and how much her sister's life has affected her own. Well done.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135007Chapter: 1
Oh, this made me want to cry! I really wanted Lily to break the rules and do it for Petunia, just this once.

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 134976Chapter: 1
I liked this a lot. I always pictured Petunia as the older sister, but I can totally see this happening. Being a big sister myself, I was one of the last to figure out makeup and such back when I was eleven or so. However, my younger sister is certainly benefitting from my big-sister knowledge, since she doesn't show up to sixth grade looking like I did!

Cute fic! :-)

Reviewer: MegDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 134974Chapter: 1
So it didn't go where I was expecting it to, but I liked it. Like I like all your stuff. Keep it up.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134965Chapter: 1
Wow, this was very interesting! I normally have always seen Petunia as the older sister, but I like her as the younger one now. ;) I never really put into perspective how Petunia would deal with this sort of thing-- friends and 'beauty'. You really captured the curiosity and self-determination of Petunia here, and the bitterness and slight jealousy she has towards Lily. I would gladly recommend this to anyone looking for a Petunia fic!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --