The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: SnorkackCatcherDate: 2006-06-14
Reviewid: 143440Chapter: 1
Heh. Well, you do realise your Lisa is a TOTAL Self-Insert!Sue, don't you? :D

(Good to see the paranoia about OCs sent up.)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142030Chapter: 1
Funny. Why Terry and not Perry; if there is a special reason.

Reviewer: AldawenDate: 2006-04-15
Reviewid: 141940Chapter: 1
Well done. I love the Clan of the Cave Bear reference!

Reviewer: Suburban House ElfDate: 2005-11-07
Reviewid: 135737Chapter: 1
LOLOLOL! Poor Lisa Turpin! I think every writer who has ever felt the urge to twist their story to the whims of their readership must empathise with her. Thank *you*, Author By Night, for not falling into Lisa's trap. You've written a story which is fresh, funny and completely original. Well done!

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135720Chapter: 1
BAhahaha! I loved that. "Oh no! Now it's Boring Sue!" :P

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135661Chapter: 1
I'm partially testing the new feature. :)

I DO want to thank everyone for the reviews; I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to PM or email any of you individually. Every time I go to, it seems like something goes wrong. I am going to (provided you have a forums username or supplied an email address).

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135271Chapter: 1
That last line is LOVE. Never try to please anybody with writing, especially not the rabid fangirls. ;)

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135163Chapter: 1
*giggle* It was worth a reread.

Reviewer: RDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135143Chapter: 1
klsahjasdhld
Poor Lisa... Can't even write her own character for a bunch of silly reasons!
Wait, she writes fanfiction? Oh no, she's a Mary Sue! ;)

Reviewer: MonicaDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135141Chapter: 1
Many laughs.HAHAHA!

Reviewer: NewbiaDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135120Chapter: 1
Bwa-hahaha! Great! It's a spot-on satire of the Mary Sue mania.

I have no idea why I clicked on this when I saw it in the "new fics" list. I thought it was going to be a typical Mary-Sue bashing story--they're all the same. Sue comes in, does Suey things, and dies a hideous, painful death to the happiness of all. I hate them. But this was different, and for once had something new to say. I loved it, especially the ending.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135093Chapter: 1
lol, really, so true. Paranoia about MS's does as much harm as MS's ever do *shakes head* poor Lisa!
<. Its not like shes some woman from the Ice Age who invents five things per chapter!>
You don't mean Ayla from those Jean Auel books. 'Cos she *did* get a bit much after a while....
But yes, I really enjoyed reading this. "Terry Hotter" indeed! And I agress with the premise- just let people write what they want without labelling them. I remember the days when I was terrified of writing a Mary Sue- until I realised that actually, I didn't care. A story can have a roxin' main character, even gasp a *female* main character and still be well written. *shakes head at stupidity of fandom*

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135082Chapter: 1
Ha-HAH, that is brilliant! I feel like sharing that with absolutely everyone now! I don't know where to take it, though....

Just a fantastic parody. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Love it! lol ;)

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135081Chapter: 1
Clever! Taking a situation to an extreme sure drives home the point. I especially liked the ending, with the "story" being essentially one line and then being criticized for being boring. Good job.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135066Chapter: 1
I loved that... though I've gotta ask was there some horrible Mary-Sue fic that made you write that?

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135049Chapter: 1
OMG ROTL! That was hysterical! Especially the part about the giggling pink woman.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135048Chapter: 1
teehee. There is a big statement being made here. I like it.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135046Chapter: 1
asdkjfkjsl;jfaksdljfkla;sdjfasdk;l! I love it! I totally love the fact you slipped in a "Jane Playne" and I love that Padma and Mandy are such experts on all of these Sues--why, they're Sued themselves all the time! You do a lovely job portraying the struggles of an OC writer! :D

Love,
Brittney

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135033Chapter: 1
I really liked this fic. It was amusing to read about Hogwarts girls obsessing over a story like Harry Potter, and all the different Sues. It is like that, in a way! Thanks for the great read!

Reviewer: ScribblerDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135021Chapter: 1
This made me laugh. I have a friend that makes me feel like that sometimes. Rules are good, but rules put a nice beartrap around creativity sometimes.
The real key to eliminating Mary-Sues is to make the character actually likeable. It works better than trying to convince your readers to like her instead of giving them an actual reason to. Do you know what I mean? Not many people do...
Either way, nice story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --