The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Cat's Paw
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2007-09-16
Reviewid: 149295Chapter: 1
I really like this snippet; you manage to develop Scrimgeour into a three-dimensional character who has sympathetic aspects to him, yet he still fits with the canon presentation of him as manipulative, controlling, and somewhat ruthless. I like the detail of Rufus refraining from placing a hand on Percy's shoulder, and having the secondary motive of "forcing" the Weasleys to reconcile, as well as his primary motive of recruiting Harry to his side. Scrimgeour does have good intentions here even though they are tainted both by his agenda regarding Harry and his controlling personality. Hmm...that reminds me of another old wizard who dies for the cause of Voldemort's defeat...

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149068Chapter: 1
I love when a character gets rotated a bit and you see a different side of him. I'm not 100% sure if this jives with what we saw in book 6, but I'm sure enough to thoroughly enjoy this very sympathetic portrayal of Scrimgeour.

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149065Chapter: 1
Gosh, I love 'finding' a new author I can rely on for clever, charming, well-written, in-character moments from the series! And this is just another helping of perfection, Starsea. Poor, eager, too eager, Percy; Scrimgeour, tirelessly enduring the burden of his role, and playing his young assistant with consummate, almost casual, skill. Excellent work, Starsea.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-08-21
Reviewid: 148961Chapter: 1
[His shoes were so polished they reflected the candles. Even his flaming red hair was carefully tamed and slicked down. The only sign that things weren’t completely right was his nails: they had been chewed off so that the tips of his fingers were permanently red.]

Great description of Percy Weasley, especially the shoes and nails. It really sums up who Percy is and what he's been going through--he's trying so hard to be polished and put together and yet he's falling apart on the inside.

[Personal problems had to be set aside – grudges, rivalries, it didn’t matter. Wounded pride just wasn’t important anymore. The Weasleys would have to reconcile, whether they liked it or not.]

Wow, you really have a handle on Scrimgeor's character. He's a prickly one to figure out--he's not delightfully zany the way Moody is and yet he doesn't have the sarcastic wit of Snape. He's a good man who doesn't like to pussyfoot around and he may come across about as sensitively as a blunt axe, but he gets the job done.

P.S.--your disclaimer was hilarious!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2007-01-08
Reviewid: 146783Chapter: 1
Oh Starsea, this is so poignant. I love the way you describe Percy as perfectly polished except for his fingernails. I love how you allow Rufus to act as if he's not quite sure of himself, so perfectly contrived and in character. And I especially love the way you sense that Percy really wants to see his family but...ah well...let's hope for better in book seven!

Thank you for this!

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2006-06-08
Reviewid: 143313Chapter: 1
Oooh! I like how you wrote it so we thought his task was to convince Harry, not to convince Percy.

Possible sequel-ness? I mean, I really would like to read Christmas from Percy's POV.

Reviewer: Fitchburg FinchDate: 2006-05-21
Reviewid: 142943Chapter: 1
Nice take on Percy and Scrimgeour. Poor Percy. He thinks he's his own man but he has no idea how easily he's manipulated by others. Good job!

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140839Chapter: 1
I really like this missing moment. I'm very interested in Percy's perspective on the rift with his family. Using Scrimgeour's point of view really works because seeing Percy through Scrimgeour's eyes makes him a sympathetic, complex character, while not diverging from the Percy we know in canon. I really like this bit:
~Weasley looked up. “Would it, sir?” His voice was quiet, no hint of eagerness or greed.

I agree - very interesting.

I like your AN about the characters too - I know exactly what you mean :D

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137063Chapter: 1
Nicely Done

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136417Chapter: 1
This is a delightfully nasty tale of pragmatic politicians. Percy is nicely trapped, unable to deny that his younger brother is Harry Potter’s best friend, yet quite aware of his own inability to influence Harry – if this interview fails, it will be HIS fault. Percy won’t speak to his family on the grounds that they were right about Voldemort, but he’ll swallow his pride when Scrimgeour is sneaky enough to exploit his ambition.

You cleverly convey that Scrimgeour plays the game entirely by instinct (like a cat), without consciously understanding himself or analysing the situation. And, like a cat, his touch is sure.

< designed to protect his people >

“His” people? What, does he think he’s King?

< “Whether the rumours are true or not, most people believe them” >

After all, who cares about the truth?

< “Christmas is a time for family.” >

Bah, humbug.

< There was a war on, and everyone needed to work together. … The Weasleys would have to reconcile, whether they liked it or not. >

Until, of course, the Ministry decided that it would be inconvenient to have Percy too much reconciled with Dumbledore’s friends …

You also managed to elicit some sympathy for Percy.

< The only sign that things weren’t completely right was his nails: they had been chewed off so that the tips of his fingers were permanently red. >

Not as confident as he’s pretending! He’ll net his promotion, but it won’t make him happy.

Reviewer: SmoltenicaDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135285Chapter: 1
Aw! Poor Percy! This chapter covered Percy's feelings, and Scrimgeour's, perfectly. JKR style and everything. You even made me pity Percy!

"I have been... wanting to see my mother, sir," he said, with the slightest crack in his voice.

Heartbreaking!
This is wonderful stuff, keep it up!!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135281Chapter: 1
Well, you made Percy almost have a heart! I enjoyed reading this moment that lead up to them visiting the Weasley family.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135263Chapter: 1
Aw, Percy! It's so sad... And Rufus is so manipulative! But even the reader can't tell exactly if he's being entirely manipulative or not which is good. Just enough room for interpretation. Anyway, it's wonderful.

Reviewer: BookQueen604Date: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135221Chapter: 1
Great story! I agree with you that there should be more stories about Percy and Rufus set in HBP. Are you going to do a series of stories like this? Please? I'd love to see Rufus's reaction when he realizes Harry won't be the Ministry's "mascot." I'm also surprised no one has yet done a Missing Moment story about when both Fudge and then Rufus tried to pressure Dumbledore to let them recruit Harry. And what about the conversation Rufus had with Umbridge when he found out Harry wanted to be an Auror? It may just be wishful thinking on my part, but I really hope you continue with a series. Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135196Chapter: 1
Thank you, thank you, thank you for painting Percy so very sympathetically. So many have completely written him off at this point--it's very likely that he's allowing himself to be manipulated by Scrimgeour just as the ole lion wanted to manipulated Harry. A great characterization of them both, and I'd love to see you do more.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --