The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139114Chapter: 1
Well Done. Very Enjoyable.

Reviewer: Crimson TearsDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136027Chapter: 1
Oh, god, How I love this fic so much! I love how you make Ron soooo in character and make him use Oi and bloody! I read this fic like...daily! *squee*

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2005-11-09
Reviewid: 135765Chapter: 1
Lovely job. I'm not much for the fluffier tales, but I like this one, mainly because you give a very fair picture of both characters.

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2005-11-09
Reviewid: 135761Chapter: 1
Excellent Missing Moment! I second everything that Starsea included in her review - it's very difficult to capture Hermione's willfullness and stubbornness without also making her seem cold and indifferent. But you did a really solid job of showing her willfullness as well as her emotion and heartsickness. It was a great balance and very believable.

And sweet, poor, brave, and clueless Ron - you nailed him, too. I loved your comparison/contrast of him and Cormac.

The only piece of constructive criticism I had is, while Lavendar's portrayal was good and certainly not out-of-character, it seems to me that she would have spoken out a bit earlier than she did here. She certainly always seemed so quick voice her displeasure at Ron paying any attention whatsoever to Hermione. But, this could also just be my interpretation - and your Lavender is certainly not out of character.

Great story!

Reviewer: sarahthetranDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135701Chapter: 1
that was... perfect. just. great. i loved every bit of it. you got into the characters perfectly and you made them react just like they would

...you made it painfully real and *sigh... isnt it strange how so much love can be seen through arguments?

you did a great job.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135670Chapter: 1
I loved this! I thought everyone was wonderfully in character.. McLaggen the Prize Arrogant Git, noble yet silly Ron, Hermione who can't bear to seem the victim but is too honest not to be open up about her feelings and Lavender... well, Lavender. You got Hermione's inescurities spot on I think and the way you described Ron made me want to swoon over him too. No wonder Lavender and Hermione are hooked. This really is first class R/Hr goodness!

Reviewer: fitzetteDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135663Chapter: 1
With the Harry/Ginny fest in HBP, we are sorely lacking in Ron/Hermione moments. This is great, just great. Already Ron, even if he is still acting like an idiot most of the time, is starting to show some signs of maturity.

He just looked at her. Could he stop with that? It was making her head swim.

Just fantastic.

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135614Chapter: 1
In both this and your story 'Science' you have such a beautiful way of capturing Ron and Hermoine's voices. Your dialogue is excellent, and their interaction is so engaging and...just so right for the characters. I'd love to read more from you.

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135598Chapter: 1
Oh, that's soooo good! HBP left so many great missing moments for those of us who love R/Hr and you've done really well with this one.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135528Chapter: 1
*sigh*

Hermione, Hermione, Hermione... for such an intelligent person, you can be incredibly stupid sometimes.

Brilliant Missing Moment, I enjoyed every moment - especially Ron turning into Hermione's knight in faded corduroys. XD And the ending - that was so very, very in character. There aren't many people who can capture Hermione's imperfections and still keep a sense of affection for her, but you manage it. Bravo.

Favourite Lines:

"Ron didn’t move. He just stared at her with those intense, blue eyes of his as the silence hung thick in the air, and in the end she was the one who had to look away." - oh, the tension...

"He’d taken a few steps towards Cormac, and Hermione saw that they were almost exactly the same height. The older boy was broad-shouldered and thick-necked – Ron looked almost slender-limbed next to him. Looking at her friend – well, former friend – standing there, dressed in worn corduroys and a light blue, home-made sweater, his hair on end and his face flushed with anger, Hermione felt dizzy and love-sick." - perfect description

"She would continue playing the ice queen; no hurt feelings, no opportunities for public humiliation, just heartless laughs and mockery. And undoubtedly, he would try to talk to her, as if nothing had ever happened, because that was Ron, wasn’t it? He hated conflict of this kind. He hated apologies and heartfelt talks and people being cross with him. So she would demand no further explanation, she would make no room for heart-to-hearts, she would not be cross with him as much as cold and indifferent." - it shows how well she knows Ron, and herself... and how this knowledge works against her

"Even if it was a long time of keeping her and Ron’s lives completely separate, she was sure she could do it. After all, she was nothing if not strong-willed." - yes... wilFULL, and headstrong with it. Not a good combination.

Looking forward to more from you!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135502Chapter: 1
Ron is so sweet here! It melted my heart! Although not literally obviously. That would be disgusting.

Reviewer: Sugar ThiefDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135498Chapter: 1
You're an excellent writer, keep it up! Very smooth style, and you know how to catch the heartstrings.

Reviewer: emjayDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135482Chapter: 1
wow. that is magnificent. i can totally imagine them going through something like that i love it!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135475Chapter: 1
Ahhh, ouch. Poor Hermione - I could just feel her heart twisting up throughout the entire thing. I liked this... it wasn't too sappy and it wasn't too dramatic, you did a wonderful job!

It was hard work, but she wouldn’t break down in front of him. Not ever. He wasn’t worth it.



Though he is, isn’t he? He’s worth everything.

^^^I loved that line. Very nice story!

Reviewer: lindsayDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135470Chapter: 1
omg wow..that was so good, i just happend to be listening to bittersweet symphony at the same time as reading this and omg the effect. That was well writtin and well donw right fabby *claps* right more for me! xxxxx

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135465Chapter: 1
Ahh, this is so good! I've been dying for some well written, canon-like missing moments of R/Hr in HBP and this is one of the only good ones I've found so far! Everything was awesome. Cormac was priceless, we got to see Hermione's feelings under the layer of ice she covered herself in all through HBP and Ron was just so darn cute.
It was feeling sad like I did in HBP, about the party date they never got to have and the whole mess, all over again.
Thank god they became friends by the end of HBP, otherwise this fic would have completely depressed me!
I'm looking forward to read any other R/Hr missing moments from you! Great job!

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135459Chapter: 1
Great stuff, Penny. I think you've captured the spirits of these characters as we see them in HBP brilliantly - Hermione's painful and fierce indignation and Ron's rather spineless, clueless dismay. Both of them rather cut their noses off to spite their faces, didn't they? And their dialogue here shows how much they suffered for that lack of judgement and that clash of understanding. Poor Hermione. In your story, her anguish is almost tangible. And reading Ron's responses, I feel my mouth going dry, his confusion and heartbreak are so real.
Well done.
Helen

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135441Chapter: 1
That was so awesome! It fit in w/ canon perfectly. Stupid Ron. Stupid Hermione. Love is so hard. I'm glad they got it more or less squared away at the end of HBP. I really liked Cormac's caustic little jab about Hermione being a tease. So mean! And Ron, coming to the rescue...*sigh* This was beautifully written.

Reviewer: marianneDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135432Chapter: 1
it is so rare to come across a story that captures the real spirit of these two characters so well... i wanted to congratulate you on your work, it seems to have been pulled from the pages of rowling's book. Probably one of the best things ive read in a long time.

Reviewer: you-know-whoDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135428Chapter: 1
Aww...i liked that. it was sweet. dude, i'm the first reviewer.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --