The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Life Lived Well
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2007-01-06
Reviewid: 146766Chapter: 1
Sexy!Dumbledore - who'd have thought it! This was lovely and bittersweet. I really liked the way you set it at his funeral - a time when it would be natural for Heather to look back and think what was and what might have been. I wonder what happened next for them both - and how their lives diverged for the next 150 years. I thought Heather's characterization was wonderfully noble and Victorian - very like Dorothea in Middlemarch, only without the happy ending.

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2007-01-05
Reviewid: 146761Chapter: 1
As well written as this story was, filled with evocative language and memorable images, I felt very cheated in the end. How silly was that?! While I can certainly imagine young Albus being too immature to see the future he and Heather can have together, surely he must have come to his senses at *some* point in his life, and known he'd been silly, and tried to look Heather up? The Albus we know in canon is not the man this story paints him to be.

And even though I only know of Heather from this story, if she was the woman Albus loved, if she was worthy of his love, she *cannot* be the lame-o heroine of an overly melodramatic romance novel... which is what she is here, pining away in Albus's memory for a hundred and fifteen years, refusing to be with him for *no reason at all*.

The story of Albus Dumbledore's love has such potential. I'm sorely disappointed.

Reviewer: VicusDate: 2006-12-04
Reviewid: 146355Chapter: 1
Oh my... that was absolutely beautiful and so SO SO SAD! Poor Albus. I have no words to say to you, except some tears on my eyes... lol GREAT STORY! Really!!!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141165Chapter: 1
An interesting story.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-11-12
Reviewid: 135819Chapter: 1
Oh this was good to begin with, but now it is even better! I really like how you switched from the present to the past. It made the earlier scenes even more angsty and they shed such light on this new character. By the end of the story we come to know her very well indeed. In fact, our sympathy isn't for Albus as much as it is for her. Sigh.

I knew that was Remus who helped her right off. LOL - how did I know that?

You did a beautiful job setting the scene and in creating this new character - all within the course of a one shot. Masterful work, my dear.

You know, I'm amazed that I so enjoyed a fic. that didn't have chocolate cake or showers or Oliver Wood. Clearly, your writing powers are strong!

Reviewer: soonertobyDate: 2005-11-09
Reviewid: 135760Chapter: 1
I really loved this story. Excellent. You nailed his humor and the importance he places on love.Absolutely wonderful. I knew Dumbles was a romantic. A bit of canon nit picking, though, Flamel was several hundred years old before Albus was born, thus had already created a Philosopher's Stone and the Elixer of Life. Great work, nonetheless.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-11-08
Reviewid: 135747Chapter: 1
Heartbreaking.

Reviewer: godricsDate: 2005-11-08
Reviewid: 135744Chapter: 1
I believe that this is the first Albus kissing scene I've ever read. Somewhat odd, but still good! You're a talented writer. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135664Chapter: 1
Oh this is so good.........but so sad...........wouldn't it have been strange if it had all worked out for them...........so many things would have been different...........

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-11-02
Reviewid: 135652Chapter: 1
Of course you knew I'd have to review it. heehee

Oh, moonette...is there nothing you can't do?

This is a lovely and bittersweet piece that I suspect if JK was given 87 more years to write HP...she'd write this bit for DD.

So well done and so heartbreaking.

~Hez

P.S. But it's nice to know that I've got some great taste in men ;) .

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135609Chapter: 1
I LOVED how this piece made Dumbledore a real man. A man who loved and was hurt in the simplest of ways. Come on, we all know that Dumbledore didn't die a virgin!

Reviewer: LadyCrowDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135601Chapter: 1
Breathtaking, indeed...

To be more precise, it's like a stab in the heart. But that's what makes this a truly amazing story.

Well done, moonette. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135600Chapter: 1
The memories of early Dumbledore that you'd posted on the Fluff thread are very well done, but couching them in the context of Dumbledore's funeral added a whole new dimension to the piece. It added depth and even more bittersweetness to the memories. The descriptions were beautifully done ("scattered swirls of soft mist" and "grass a soft carpet") Lovely! I also loved your characterization of a young Dumbledore, particularly the mention of the lemon drops and the Penny Farthing. You captured the elements that we recognize in the elderly Dumbledore and show us the man as he must have been in his youth.
I also liked the symbolism (or perhaps irony) of Dumbledore's parting words to her. He is going to brew the Elixir of Life, but yet that moment marks the sad demise of their relationship.
I wanted a little bit more from the ending though. Perhaps a little more of an epiphany from Heather about her past decision. You touched on it earlier in the piece: "No, Albus. No. You should have grown old ...That was how it should have been." But I wanted a bit more reflection from her at the end. Looking back, does she think she made a mistake?
Overall, well done!
Eudora

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --