The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Wand
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: WestelDate: 2006-09-21
Reviewid: 145445Chapter: 1
So, are you going to write any more or not?

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144936Chapter: 2
I really like how you set up how Olivander left, and that it was of his own free will. It is, after all, probably the simplest explanaition. Though I think it would be unprobable that they would have taken him by force had he objected. But the weird thing is that people would assume that Olivander was all right, since he seems to sell wands to everyone, and thus not having much prejudice.

All in all, a great depiction of the theory. My only criticsm is that parts, especially the ending, seemed rather abrupt.

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144524Chapter: 2
Bit anti-climatic isn't it? Don't get me wrong it's good but I would have expected something a bit longer from you.

Reviewer: So SinistraDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144503Chapter: 1
I really like some of the things you did, like the many jumps in time, the idea of the four suits, etc. However, it all seems too easy, and too rushed. You didn't exactly show the trio PROVING that the wand was a Horcrux before Harry snapped it in front of Ollivander. And then, nothing happened to suggest that it had been destroyed. Although you didn't need to be too dramatic about it since these are relatively short scenes from book 7, you could have maybe shown SOME difficulty in destroying the wand, or something that proved the wand was it. I hightly doubt Hermione, at least, would allow Harry to jump to conclusions like that. And, well, Ollivander did seem a bit OOC...

Otherwise, though, I loved how your characterized Tom Riddle. =)

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144501Chapter: 2
Wow, very very...how can i say it....i dunno. I just wanted to read til the end! LOL Hmm...I would have thought something ELSE would have happened when they destroyed the horcrux. Like, a curse or something. Anyways, good story!

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-07-11
Reviewid: 144107Chapter: 1
'“Is this one for sale?” He pointed towards the wand lying near him on a faded purple cushion.'

This is inspired. I can see that this fic is going to be a good one already. I love when writers flesh out the tiniest details in the series and turn it into a fully-formed, detailed and very much enlightening story.

'“Could she talk to snakes?”'

Oooooh... great line. Made me smile and shudder at the same time. I can just see Ollivander's expression in my mind's eye and it looks distinctly unnerved.

'These words made Ollivander realise who the leader of this organisation was, but that no longer frightened him. He had, after all, known him as a boy.'

You made me gasp here, do you know that? This one-shot is incredibly dark, but understated in its darkness, creating a subtley nerve-jangling effect rather than being out-and-out disturbing. Wonderful! We need more fics like this at the Quill. Ollivander, though... Sheesh. "There was no sign of a struggle." I suppose you're hearkening back to this line in HBP, then? If you are, you've made amazing use of that little detail, I must say. God this is good...

'He was no longer handsome, nor young. Yet some of the excited young Tom Riddle was still there in his face as he surveyed Ollivander.

“Welcome, Mr Ollivander. It’s a pleasure to see you again.”'

Great ending. I love that you've contrasted the young Riddle with Voldemort, but I love most the fact that Ollivander can still see the young Riddle in Voldemort. How very like the man. How very like the man, indeed...

Wonderful one-shot, Birgit. Thanks for writing it.

Ada.

Reviewer: WestelDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142663Chapter: 2
I really liked this, but I'm wondering if it would really have been that easy to destroy the Horcrux in the wand? Consider what happened to Dumbledore when he destroyed the H in the ring, and how difficult it was to obtain the locket in the cave (even though it was the wrong locket). Maybe a follow-up story where Harry begins to suffer the repercussions of destroying the wand, hmmmmm? :-)

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142035Chapter: 2
Dag! (Remember? I'm Cybčle, the Belgian girl who only knows some words of Dutch. ^_~ I added the "last name" when I became a Sugar Quill author because Cybele Adam was already my author name on fanfiction.net, where Cybele is someone else. Anyway, I'm not here to talk about myself! ^^;)
It's been a rather long time since I read your other stories, but I hadn't forgotten you and I was glad when I saw you had written a new story. That idea is very interesting and, as usual, the story is written in a way that makes it particularly pleasant to read, so I really enjoyed it. Ravenclaw's wand must really be a Horcrux, it seems obvious when you read that part about the suits of cartomancy... I wonder what the other Horcruxes are, now. If you write something about them in the future, I'll definitely read! (Well, I would read anything you write, anyway. ^^)
Tot ziens!
Cybčle

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140120Chapter: 2
This was a very interesting read! The first chapter was most intriguing...and I love that Luna was so helpful!
I felt that the destruction of the Horcrux might have been too simple, though - after all, Dumbledore sustained a 'dead' hand through destroying the ring, I wondered if there might me more serious curses on the wand.
But still, a very enjoyable read!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2006-01-12
Reviewid: 138384Chapter: 2
I have to admit that I found this chapter kind of, well, different in style from the previous one, so I couldn't really feel that there was cohesion between the two, but I can't really complain about the absence of the skillful weaving of past and present when the events in this chapter are quite firmly rooted in the present. Also, I found the dispatching of the wand a bit abrupt, but I guess you can't draw that sort of thing out without becoming too melodramatic about it. As your version of a *portion* of Book 7, I'd say this was quite good.

Now that I've gotten that out of the way, I would also like to say that I really liked how you present the idea of Ravenclaw's wand being a Horcrux. And I was sorry to see Ollivander's shop closed in HBP, so it was nice to encounter Ollivander again here in your story.

Looking forward to the other stories about the other Horcruxes, if there are any coming!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2006-01-12
Reviewid: 138382Chapter: 1
Great beginning :) I like how you intertwined the past and present in this chapter.

Reviewer: Dark PrincessDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137246Chapter: 2
Great story. It's a unique way of looking at the Horcruxes, and where they are. I especially liked in the first part where Ollivander was having the flashbacks to Voldemort's first visit.

However, the only thing I would question in this story is Ollivander's characterization: In this second part, he seems loyal to Voldemort, and I never got the feeling that he would react or believe like that from the books.

Signed,

Dark Princess

Reviewer: ShadowRainDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137238Chapter: 2
You know... I think you're reading J.K.R.'s mind ;-)
Keep up the good work!
SR

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-04
Reviewid: 136761Chapter: 2
Excellent

Reviewer: redlightspecialDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136645Chapter: 1
Better late than never . . .

One thing that really sticks out about this chapter is how well you utilized the jumps back and forth in time. If not done well it could make the story feel choppy, but your breaks are well timed. Plus, the voyage back in time smartly shows Tom's immediate interest in the wand sitting in the window.

Really well done. I do hope you decide to write about other Horcruxes.

Back for Chapter 2 later.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-11-24
Reviewid: 136232Chapter: 2
Wow, Birgit!

Good job with the horcrux! I had to read both parts through again after you posted the second part (I read the first part when you first posted it, but I wanted to make sure I understood what was going on.)

I'm so happy to see some more fanfic from you (and short, too, so I can read and review! *is a bad friend*)

I hope you'll write about more of the horcruxes, because I love reading your thoughts about them.

:-)

Jules

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136186Chapter: 2
wow...this is really good. i like the flashbacks in the first chapter and the use of Luna's letter. very good. the one confusing thing is what side Ollivander is on.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136135Chapter: 2
ooh ... I'm a little disappointed now - destroying a horcrux that easy? But it's probably true, they don't have enough time (and pages) to destroy all in book seven. Overall, well written and an intriguing idea! What's next?

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136084Chapter: 2
oh. I DO like this.
Very interesting theory.
Write more!
-AW

Reviewer: genesseDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136071Chapter: 2
Ah, so this was the first Horcrux. This detail makes it all come together, as I was thinking that Harry was acting too much like himself - not suspending belief - to be a seasoned Horcrux hunter. I really like the fact that Ollivander put up a fight. I think that we're all too eager to make Harry an accomplished dueler but it's not like he gets into duels every day and therefore able to disarm anyone who surprised him. I hope you do write more Horcrux destruction stories. I've enjoyed this one a lot.

Reviewer: genesseDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136070Chapter: 1
Well, hello there!

This is the first time that I've left a review since we went to this nifty format so I hope this works. In fact, this is the first time a in a long time since I've left a review because I haven't been reading fan fiction at all (well, I've kept up with the Unbroken Universe but that's it) since HBP came out. But I woke up this morning with a great desire to read ff and this was the first story I picked. I've been interested in reading the first part of your Horcrux destrution story for weeks now, and I wasn't disappointed.

I really liked how your formatted the story - it's good story telling, compelling and entertaining and leading. Young Riddle was spot on. And I liked how you explained why that wand chose Tom, as it's something I've wondered about. So well done! Time for the next chapter!

Reviewer: King of PainDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136022Chapter: 2
Interesting concept, but I would have fleshed it out some more, especially the second chapter. Not trying to be too negative, but I thought the characterization of Ollivander was way off base from a canon perspective-I have him pegged as a very reasonable and intelligent person who knows alot about both sides of this conflict, but remains semi-neutral(definately never favoring Voldermorts side IMO) I hope you write about another of the Horcruxes, best wishes if you do!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-11-16
Reviewid: 135937Chapter: 1
Hi Birgit,
I'm eager to follow you wherever the story goes. It sounds interesting and you've obviously thought it through - and like always it's written captivatingly well. Continue until HP 7 will finally be published!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: RainbowDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135803Chapter: 1
I'm hooked. I must confess I never wondered much about that wand, but now I'm curious. Please update soon!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135801Chapter: 1
I really like how you used the past/present technique to set the scene. The strangely malevolent innocence of Tom Riddle versus the charming malevolence of McClay.

Harry was creeped out by the shop - so this tone works very well for your story. Even though I have read more, I can wait to read more. :)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135799Chapter: 1
Very interesting beginning, I'm looking forward to where you take this story. I particularly liked how Ollivander could still pull out of Mr McClay's spell when it came to his wands.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135798Chapter: 1
Good story so far, birgit.
I'm waiting for the next installment.
-AW

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135797Chapter: 1
This is fantastically intriguing! I love what you've done with Ollivander's character, and with the mystery wand on the cushion. Really, I just can't wait for the next installment.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135794Chapter: 1
Oooh, very interesting. Lovely missing moment fic.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135789Chapter: 1
... wow.

Poor Ollivander.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --