The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142606Chapter: 1
Just wonderful. My speculations are very similar to yours regarding Snape's "unwilling" promises to Dumbledore, his UV, and what happened on the Tower. You have captured Snape as I see him - not a good man, but a man driven by the effort to right wrongs . He is present here in all of his fear, jealousy, and resentment. I like how you show that he is the best man for the "job" precisely because he is a man of the dark arts and an ex-DE - he is able to do horrible things. Wonderfully written.

I am not a Snape/Lily shipper but do think that it is just as good a theory as any other for Snape's renouncement for LV and DE activities, and his remorse.

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139299Chapter: 1
wow.



*is Speechless*

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139298Chapter: 1
wow.



*is Speechless*

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139296Chapter: 1
wow.



*is Speechless*

Reviewer: fetishized_armadilloDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137810Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I think this is the best Snape character portrait that I've seen. It captures every facet of his personality--from the slight weakness for the melodramatic to the self-loathing to the bitterness and endless capacity for hatred. It was a pleasure to read and I hope you're right.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137461Chapter: 1
Bloody Outstanding. This is the best I have seen on this point, so far, and it is miles and miles ahead of all the others.

Reviewer: Snuffle's GirlDate: 2005-12-18
Reviewid: 137333Chapter: 1
Wow, absolutely positively THE best case for Snape to be innocent. Oh how I hope you are right. It's a beautifully written piece that taps into the horrible hatred and anger that Snape has in canon. As JKR says, he is truely awful, however you are able to see that someone can be horrible, but can also be inherently good, or at least on the right side. bravo

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136125Chapter: 1
Great job! So sad, but a wonderful way to redeem Snape. Nicely done.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136016Chapter: 1
So very, very sad. It sums up what I think happened, although I'm not sure that Snape had a thing for Lily as you say. But I wouldn't be surprised if we find out it was true. Snape's struggles and feelings are so raw, and you portray them so well.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: pythonblossomDate: 2005-11-15
Reviewid: 135915Chapter: 1
You have a well defined plot and this was very well written. This is very similar to what I had in my mind about Snape and Dumbledore's conversation.

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2005-11-15
Reviewid: 135902Chapter: 1
That was so terribly beautiful I had all I could do to keep from crying. I'd leave a much more detailed review, but because this story was so good, I couldn't stop reading and now I'm late in getting ready for class :P Thank you for sharing!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135857Chapter: 1
Oh wow! That was just beautiful. I REALLY hope Book 7 plays toward some of your speculation... really.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135841Chapter: 1
I liked this a lot. This is more or less exactly how I interpreted the events at the end of HBP, although I couldn't have put it into words as you have. You hint at a very intruiging past for Snape and at a strong relationship with Dumbledore very elegantly... the little snippets of background and explanation to notseem at all forced. You capture both Snape's and Dumbledore's personalities beautifully, and I really loved the end. Very moving and introspective. Well done!

Reviewer: EvieStarkDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135840Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this - it followed a lot of theory I've had in my head. I've even contemplated there being a Snape/Lily relationship, but you did a very good job writing it out. You also did a great job making the readers feel sympathetic towards Snape, and understanding. Gosh, I really like this fic! Wonderful job, please keep it up!

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135839Chapter: 1
Well conceived, well written, well done.

And I second the notion that Snape had a thing for Lily Evans. It would explain a lot.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135832Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant! You make this believable and heartwrenching. Prior to Half Blood Prince I felt Snape was untrustworthy, but the 6th book led me to believe he was a deep spy working to the last moment as a tool of Dumbledore. This story brings to fore all of my thoughts and theories towards Snape. Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --