The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Hint of Shadow
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148151Chapter: 1
Thank you for sharing!
At first I thought "Oh no, another MarySue" but nevertheless the story kept me going. What a bittersweet ending of meeting an old schoolfriend and having a girl/woman talk. I can feel Rachel shiver in this cool house under the hot Spanish sun.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146490Chapter: 2
More Please.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-08-10
Reviewid: 144731Chapter: 2
I think she should listen to Snape. He's been there, done it, changed alliegances and got the pointy Klan-style hat.

Was Rachael a Gryffindor, by any chance?

Reviewer: springdoveDate: 2006-05-30
Reviewid: 143132Chapter: 1
Great job! What I really liked about this fic is that you show the humanity of Anna as a Death Eater. I think it's easy to get so caught up in the evilness of the Death Eaters that you can forget that they want normal lives like the rest of us--they just have different ideas of what a "normal life" should be. She loves her daughter, she enjoys pleasures, she has delight at seeing an old friend again. I get the impression that she didn't start out EVIL! but was wooed by the package presented to her by her group. It makes me wonder what the current Death Eaters were like at school. I'm sure not all of them were the type of people that others looked at and thought, "Yep. That one's going to the bad side."

I also love your imagery--you do a wonderful job of painting a picture with your words. Thanks for sharing this with us!

loves
~springdove :)

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140638Chapter: 1
Thanks for Apparating me so deftly to Spain. I hardly felt the squeeze through the 'wormhole'. I almost wish this wasn't a one-shot, I'd love to know your avatar better. But the story is a perfect whole just the way it is: a telling commentary on prejudice and the way it can grow unawares.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137055Chapter: 1
Well Done. Thanks

Reviewer: fableheartDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136391Chapter: 1
For the record, I liked the OCs and the fact that the story was based on people we did not know. They were good representations of the Populace we see so little of in canon--not as silly as many of Jo's characters; instead quite realistic and well thought out. They are signs of the times and of the tensions that laced those times. Good point about Anna's name, by the way.

Reviewer: fableheartDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136390Chapter: 1
Oh... That was quite good. If rather tragic, I suppose. Excellent prose, that is to say. Poor Rachel... and poor Anna, for that matter--throwing away that life. Good stuff; a very real interpertation of how deep the first war went, how terribly much it affected everyone. Thanks for the tale; it was more than worth the time.

Reviewer: hymniaDate: 2005-11-26
Reviewid: 136299Chapter: 1
It's a daring move to write a fanfic that focuses completely on OCs, but I think you pulled it off well. You also did a good job of building a little bit of suspense--a sense that a surprise turn was coming or that not everything was as it seemed, and the payoff to that was well executed, also. I liked the bittersweet juxtaposition of the sunny and serene setting and the women's breezy small talk with the tragic revelation at the end. Well done!

Joie

Reviewer: Rachael DuBoisDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135969Chapter: 1
I just wanted to take the opportunity to reply to some of Author by Night's concerns. Thank you, by the way, for your comments.

While Anna is certainly not as poetic a name as Bellatrix, Narcissa, or Nymphadora, it is comparable to such "pureblooded" names as Molly, Arthur, Frank, Alice, Fred, and George. Also, Anna didn't really come from a stuck up family (she picked up on her current sentiments after moving to Spain), so I felt Anna was appropriate. And besides, I really don't have much control over my character's names--they kind of just come with the person!

As to your concerns about the connections, or lack thereof, of my characters to canon. I recognized that this was a problem going in, but I did try to address it in three ways:
1. Anna mentions twice that she communicates with Lucius Malfoy, and the second time she mentions him it's in reference to asking him for advice. I think this indicates what kind of person Anna is, her social status, and clarifies where she stands in the world.
2. Rachael will report this meeting with Anna to Dumbledore, as she thinks in the end. Rachael isn't a member of the Order, but she does help Dumbledore when possible, and I think that was pretty clear.
3. This was very obscure, but still in there for a careful reader. Rachael is in Granada to pick up potions ingredients for her potions consultant, who is, of course, Snape. I avoided name dropping in this because I felt it would be way too confusing to explicitly state a relationship that I hadn't yet justified. Although her interaction with Snape is important, it was not important to this story and so I left explicit statements out.

Thank you for the opportunity to discuss some of my story!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-15
Reviewid: 135904Chapter: 1
Fascinating - I love this! I like Rachael so much, you've made her so real. A lovely setting - you described it so well, I could almost imagine I was there. And a lovely plot- very sad, and very true.

Wonderful story - thank you! :)

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135878Chapter: 1
This was wonderful! What excellent insight and characterization. Interesting OCs, interesting view on Death Eaters.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135866Chapter: 1
Oh, and by "connect to them", I mean, explain how they relate to the series. Even make one of them an aquaintance of Dumbledore's. It's just easier, if that makes sense.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135865Chapter: 1
I like this, but it's a bit confusing. I'm all for OC's, but I do feel there has to be some way to connect to them - it's easier to read that way.

Also, I'm not sure "Anna" is really a Pureblood name. They seem to mostly have names that are old fashioned, mythology related, or celestial. Does that make sense?

Otherwise, I do like this - it's sad how friendship can be lost in such tragic measures.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --