The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: lyrasDate: 2006-08-27
Reviewid: 145041Chapter: 1
This was absolutely lovely. Beautifully pitched, and you have Albus's voice down pat. I like the way you move through the various aspects of love in Harry's life (that scene just after his birth is perfectly drawn), and then to end with a comparison between Harry and Dumbledore is a great touch. What a lovely birthday present!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139081Chapter: 1
This actually brought a lump to my throat. It was so very Dumbledorian, I loved how you captured his style of speech, his gentle subtle chiding over Ginny (how did he know? But I guess he would being DD) and his telling Harry of his birth, and what Lily said *tear*. Absolutely bloody brilliant.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137377Chapter: 1
Very Good.

Reviewer: shizzlewhackersDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136626Chapter: 1
this is very very good. I loved it...and I see the symbolism which was put into good usage.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2005-11-24
Reviewid: 136238Chapter: 1
Well, I really didn't need a good cry today, but I got one reading this very nice one shot. This letter was simply beautiful, especially the description of Lily and Baby Harry with their family. Nice, very nice piece.

Reviewer: Miss SophiaDate: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136118Chapter: 1
Musings on love, even from Dumbledore, could easily go down the cheesy road, but this piece does not. You have done a great job capturing Dumbledore's way of imparting some of life's most essential truths.

I particularly like how you have Dumbledore point out that even Peter has loved Harry. The absence of absolutes and the painful contradictions at the center of human existence are central themes in canon, and this example really captures them. This idea would be a really bitter pill for Harry to swallow. I know it tugged at my own heartstrings.

I also like the lighthearted moments, like when Dumbledore says, It would seem, Mr. Potter, that young Harry has your hair. And the suggestion that Fred and George were attacking one of Harry's foes--Draco, methinks?--is practically begging for someone to write a fan fic on it!

Nicely done.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135966Chapter: 1
This gets better every time I read it. :-)

I'm so glad you wrote this, Hez. It amazes me how you can take characters as diverse as Sirius Black and Katie Bell and Albus Dumbledore and find a unique voice for each of them.

>>To convey an old mans lessons to a young mans heart. In your short life, you have been so harshly robbed of things that are near and dear to you and yet you have persevered - but I wonder, with all these losses if anyone could ever impart to you the lessons in loving open and wholeheartedly?<<

You've just got his voice down perfectly! I can hear him and see him looking down his long crooked nose and over his eyeglasses at Harry. *sob*

>>When your parents were surrounded by death, grief and fear they chose to believe in their love.<<

That is so beautiful.

>>I could tell you of how the older Gryffindors looked out for you even during moments that you were not present. Fred and George Weasley were mainly responsible for many attacks upon Well, again, a subject better left for another time - let us say, that you were well looked after.<<

*giggles*

>>But it did my heart good to be able to look out the window of my office and see your dark hair crowded in with a bushy-haired little girl and a red headed young man. Yes, it did my heart good, as I imagine it helped yours, too.<<

I -LOVE- that image of the trio. :-D

This letter is brilliant, and I do hope we see more of your ideas on Dumbledore.

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135957Chapter: 1
It it quite gutsy to take on Dumbledore - particularly when he is in "wise mentor" mode. (But then again, I guess he is always in wise mentor mode, LOL.) Anyway - I love how you pared down his advice and lessons to Harry to the essentials of love. It is unexpected from such a powerful wizard, but so true to the DD that we know from canon - a humble man who understands what is truly important. It was a nice touch to have DD catch himself rambling - that was funny. I loved the description of Lily and James and newborn Harry - what a wonderful story, and something Harry would treasure knowing about.

"When your parents were surrounded by death, grief and fear they chose to believe in their love."

Heartbreaking. Wonderful, Hez.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135946Chapter: 1
That was pretty special. I love the paralells you've drawn between Harry's and Dumbledore's lives. You almost brought a tear to my eye, old cynic that I am *sniffle / manly SNURK noise*

D_R

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --