The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Stars
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142659Chapter: 1
very nice

Reviewer: ZallahDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141573Chapter: 1
The lecture on the stars and Sirius's closing thoughts on it are amazingly poignant, both in imagery and delivery.

I really like that you've written the story as almost a stream of consciousness. The ramblings are particularly level-headed, which leaves me pondering just how much Sirius seems to have been forced into an early maturity by his rejection of the family values.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137065Chapter: 1
Thanks I liked it.

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136642Chapter: 1
It is a bit more introspective than I think Sirius would be, yet it's a very nice thumbnail portrait of all the Blacks as children. All of it just seems to ring true.

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136450Chapter: 1
this is really, really good!!!!!!! very deep, very good use of language and metaphors. just 2 spelling errors. Narcissa, not Narcissia and Regulus, not Regalus. But it is amazing.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136448Chapter: 1
I love the rich details that you give us in this fic, Thorn of Blood. Your descriptions (I particularly liked the paragraph or two on the formalities that went with the lecture the drawing room and the memories associated with it, the robes, etc.) really brought this piece to life. And at the end of the piece, I found myself feeling a bit sorry for Mr Black. After all, even if what hes teaching is wrong (at least in my view), HE obviously believes that it is right.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: fableheartDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136443Chapter: 1
...wow. What a truly excellent story. His father's last words must be the most profound thing I have ever read, yet it is, of course, simply wrong... Congradulations. You write better than most of the others I've read. Love it. You channel Sirius quite well, I think, and the malevolent yet pitiful spirit of the Black family also.

Brilliant.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136410Chapter: 1
I would love to see an expansion of this. To learn how Sirius grows from a grave, precocious little boy into an insolent, promiscuous sot. But I have the feeling that under your hand (or keyboard) the insolence would be explained through ever more combative encounters with his infuriating cousins, the promiscuity shown to be a subtle outgrowth of his father's brain-washing speeches on blood-purity. Not only are those of corrupted lineage unworthy of Sirius, all mages--and especially all witches--are.
Phrases that tickled my brain:
"Fortunately all the extra attention turned Narcissa into **the perfect little Black**."
"Andromeda **hid herself** in a book..."
"Mother had insisted and so I grudgingly obeyed, **though already plotting her destruction**."
"[I] wished only to return to my room, where I could be **moody in relative peace**."
"**After the letter ran out of words I understood**, I turned my attention to the rest of my father's possessions..."
"My greatest ambition as a child was to be blasted off the family tree and I was fiercely proud of every step I took to achieve it."
And some questions (which would be nicely answered in a sequel):
What did Andromeda discover about Narcissa?
Was the letter on his father's desk from a member of the Lestrange family?
Please keep writing. I look forward to your next.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136399Chapter: 1
Wow! That ending was pretty powerful. I really liked this perspective on 7 year old Sirius. Incredibly you almost had me feeling sorry for his father (I had to remind myself that he was preaching discrimination). The description of the inkwell was well done. A very interesting piece. Congrats :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --