The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-09-12
Reviewid: 145312Chapter: 1
I've only just come across this and I really liked it in lots of ways.

But maybe the thing I liked best was Alice's maiden name. Marjoribanks. Just perfect!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139767Chapter: 1
An exceptional piece. Thanks

Reviewer: liposcelisDate: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138297Chapter: 1
Great story! Neville has just done a lot of growing up here, and the way you portray the shifting dynamic between Neville and his grandmother and parents is touching (and the reason for his interest in Mimbulus mimbletonia- wow).
I also liked the part about his wand, very clever :)

Reviewer: jaspertheragdollDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137146Chapter: 1
I loved it.

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136891Chapter: 1
BS"D

Beautiful! So moving! I'm going to recommend this to a friend right now!

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2005-12-02
Reviewid: 136660Chapter: 1
Very sweet story. Book five is tied for my favorite HP book--simply because Neville blossoms in it. (No pun intended). I love how strong and brave he becomes. He's always been one of my favorite characters. Great job.

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136571Chapter: 1
I cried.Brilliant.I loved this peice so much. I wish JKR put it in as part of her book!I can't wait 'til you write more!*stares* You need to write more!You are so good!So....*handsd sevreal butterbeers*
Cheers!
-MagicDust

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136570Chapter: 1
First off--Congrats on your new authordom! I've been hoping to read this story, and finally found the time. I must say, I'm beginning to become a Neville fangirl.

I love how you presented the new older Neville-- and how it took eavesdropping to make Gran fully appreciate him. When Neville was talking to his parents, I didn't get chills like I have when I've read other fics dealing with them-- instead, I felt a little sad, but it was more of a hopeful thing. The way Neville began to feel comfortable talking while his parents seemed to be listening was very well done. This line, especially, got me:

"Don’t cry, Mum. I love you."

Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136569Chapter: 1
this made me cry, it's so good. i love neville so much.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136564Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful piece. I think you captured both Neville and his Gran, and it was about time that Gran heard Neville out.

It warmed my heart. Thank you.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136554Chapter: 1
Aww! Another Neville story.
And it's really well done.
Neville's talk with his parents was really touching, and I liked how Augusta was listening in.
Great story,
Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136544Chapter: 1
Hooray! I was hoping for more Neville-fics and here's a brand new one! First off I love any reference to Fiddler, and the title for this is very apt, I love seeing Neville stand up to, and for his Gran, that's beautiful. This is a missing moment that's been a long time coming I think, you did it justice

Reviewer: aurora330Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136532Chapter: 1
I thourgholy enjoyed this little outtake i hope you write more on neville you did a really great job

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136519Chapter: 1
I think I've read this elsewhere, but it's just as good on the second read through. Good work.

Reviewer: grover53Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136517Chapter: 1
I think I've told you before that I love this story. Especially after seeing GoF. Neville has certainly grown up from the little boy we first knew. Thank you for showing us this so well here.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136510Chapter: 1
I do love a good Neville fic. There's a lot of debate on the forum threads about whether various characters are "good" or "bad" but there's really no doubt about it with Neville. You did an excellent job of letting him stand up for himself but at the same time not hurting Gran's feelings - so in character for him. I hope you write some more Neville stories soon.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136508Chapter: 1
Wow. That was beautiful. I loved how Neville could have easily sided with Ollivander regarding the wand, but he defended his grandmother instead. Now that is real maturity, and I can see Neville doing that. His coversation with his parents made me go misty-eyed. Interesting choice for a wand, is it meant to symbolize a rebirth, yet still retaining innocence? Or am I reading waaay too much into that?

Very well done!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136449Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwww!

*sniffs*

Sorry, I just had to say that. What a wonderful missing moment. You've really captured Neville, not just his insecurity but also his sensitivity. I love the way he manages his gran. ;)

Favourite Line:

"Overcome with emotion, but determined not to let his grandmother see him cry, he wrapped both arms around her and enveloped her in a hug, narrowly missing a dangerous encounter with the vulture." - hahaha, I love it.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136437Chapter: 1
What a sweet, touching story. It brought some tears to my eyes at the end--especially when he was telling his parents about his research with the plant. It is so true to his character to do something brilliant and thoughtful without telling anyone about it.

I especially like how well this demonstrates the new courage and confidence that he exhibited in HBP when he came to help the Order at the end. This story does a great job of capturing that stage of growth in his character. Well done.

Reviewer: Stellar HawkDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136435Chapter: 1
What a moving story! Neville is so wonderfully Neville, and the change in his relationship to Gran since he has grown up is well done. I think my two favorite moments were the wand-testing at Ollivanders, and the Droobles gum wrapper when Neville sniffles and laughs at the same time. Oh, and I also liked how Neville told his parents he finally truly understood what they had gone through because he had been tortured by Bellatrix too. A sad, touching, and hopeful tale which captures neatly the whole point of what Harry's war is all about.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136429Chapter: 1
What a sweet fic! I like the idea of Neville going to tell his parents about how he understood what they had gone through. And I like the idea of him telling off his gran! She deserves it.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136413Chapter: 1
Congratulations, Kelleypen! What a nice little story! I love how Neville's experience at the Ministry gave him the self confidence to begin standing up to Gran, while still remaining respectful and sweet and Neville. It was heartwrenching to see him want to share everything with his parents, and to recount his entire year to them. But especially to talk about:

"She even hit me with the Cruciatus curse. Not for hours and hours like you suffered, but I KNOW. I know.” Neville paused again, and slowly breathed out, then took a slow, deep breath before continuing."

Oh that poor, poor boy.

I work in rehabilitative medicine and he reminds me of those wonderful family members who stay by the bedsides of their comatose or practically comatose family members, talking to them, stroking their heads, believing that something they are saying is getting through. And I'm glad something got through to Gran, too!

Just one nitpick. It seems as if you have inadvertently left in a sentence from Gran's POV. "She could hear Neville pull a tissue from the box and hand it to Alice." That was a little distracting at first to me - I had to go back and reread some of the story prior to that to see if I had missed something. But that is such a small thing. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Nice job.

Reviewer: StarbuckxDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136412Chapter: 1
Very touching. I'm a big of a softie, and I will admit that Neville is one of the characters that usually leaves me in a sorry state, but this was especially touching, what with Gran and all. Nice job!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136405Chapter: 1
That was very touching. I loved this assertive Neville. And wouldn't it be great if the Mimbulus Mimbletonia really did turn out to help his parents? That would be awesome. I really liked this.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136404Chapter: 1
This delightful piece of work just BEGS a sequal! I do hope you will consider writing something about Neville's research, and possibly even something speculative about the outcome.

You write very well, with a care for your characters that is often missing in fanfics. This comes across as one of the first things I noticed, despite how short the story is. Best of luck with furute works,

D_R

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136397Chapter: 1
Refreshing and illuminating, a pleasure to read. The effect of the second-hand wand on Neville's progress is a first-rate insight. You reveal much of Neville's and Gran's relationship through conversation, which is much more difficult (and tons more entertaining) than just describing it. The angst is there but it's not the sickening, overbearing angst of a lot of fics. You have a light, sure touch, limning your subject. Thanks for the effort.

Reviewer: bribitribbitDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136396Chapter: 1
Welcome to the Quill, Kelley! (Or, rather, to the archive, since you've been at the Quill for a while...)

Anyway--I LOVE it. For some reason, my favorite part was this: "...Neville brushed Alice’s long, wispy, silver hair and pulled it into a ponytail." It just struck me as extremely sweet, and a very good look at new! courageous! Neville. I also like the backstory you've added about Mimbulus mimbletonia. It's nice to know that it can do a bit more than squirt green sap, and that it holds so much more sentimental value to Neville. In the books, I haven't really understood why Neville was so attached to his plant, even with his green thumb.

Thanks for a lovely fic!
Brib

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136395Chapter: 1
WHOOOOOOOOO

Chats: Go Kelley, go Kelley, go Kelley!

Ahem. I don't know what to say - you know I love Neville and Gran. I'm just so excited to see you up here.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --