The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140811Chapter: 1
Your writing is very smooth, and kept me reading. I like how you interject the events from the chapters - it is great to see them from another point of view - Snape's! I see your portrayal of Snape as pretty complete except I don't sense his anger/hatred/self-hatred in his diary. He comes across very controlled and "silky" in your story but he can be pretty childish in the books. Maybe that will come out later in your stories. I don't agree with all of your motivations for him, but that is the fun of fan fiction - you add your own ideas! Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-03-10
Reviewid: 140754Chapter: 13
Very good story. Snape's perspective is both amusing and sinister. His supposed involvment with Poppy was hysterical. Looking forward to more...

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140748Chapter: 13
*snicker* Oh, poor Snape! He doesn't know nearly as much as he thinks he does. Veeeery interesting thought that Hooch would have helped Flitwick, but it makes perfect sense. Also interesting that he would volunteer to be a referee, and not just for Potter's sake. In fact, he barely mentions Potter at all, in this context.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140676Chapter: 13
So droll. I love Snape's wit. His plan to draw out the teachers and find the barriers around the Stone is methodical and logical, like him, though you can sense his arrogance, especially in the line about knowing that the Stone is as good as his. I laughed at his reasons why Sinistra, Quirrel, and Trewlany couldn't create a barrier, and I wish him luck with Madam Hooch. So protecting Harry isn't why he refered that match against Huffflepuff? I'm interested to see where this goes. Please keep writing.

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140507Chapter: 8
"My name is Albus Dumbledore, and I'm a sugar addict."

Hogwarts students as "Snackheads," and Dumbledore as their pusher? Too funny! Snape truly is a joyless soul, isn't he? ;) Experiencing the events of PS/SS from Snape's point of view has been enjoyable. Spending a little time in his shoes is a nice change of pace. You've done an excellent job!

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140429Chapter: 8
Ooh, me likey. You portray Snape in the self-centered, conceited and silky personality tat is his own. Most authors don't get thst sbout him. I commend you!

*Looking forward to more*

~KB

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140427Chapter: 8
Seems JKR isn't the only one who likes writing Snape in all his snarky glory, right? ;-)

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140386Chapter: 5
Pretty good stuff. You kept me reading through five chapters. But -gadzooks- do you really intend to write Book 1 over again from Snape's perspective? Tall order indeed.

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140382Chapter: 4
It's amazing how Snape's arrogance blinds him just the way Lucius Malfoy's greed blinded him in Chapter 2. If he would check his ego, he might actually be onto something. I am really enjoying this story!

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140347Chapter: 1
This is a great beginning. You've really gotten into Snape's head, and tapped into his arrogance and indignation. I look forward to reading the rest of this highly engaging story!

Reviewer: PirateQueenDate: 2006-01-20
Reviewid: 138747Chapter: 3
Most entertaining - does Snape's vanity know no bounds? In contrast to other reviews, I do quite like your idea that he planted the 'Not Slytherin' in Harry's head; Dumbledore's remark to Harry that he chose Gryffindor doesn't mean that Snape couldn't have done it, but then that's just my opinion ...

Anyway, this is a terrific story - do update soon!

Reviewer: Jobey in ErrorDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138437Chapter: 3
Comments useful for the author, eh? I don't know, I have a policy on not even trying to improve the writing of someone whose talent towers above mine.

May I just say that you capture the Half-Blood Prince absolutely brilliantly - and yet, despite how depressing that might otherwise have been, it's still enjoyable to read. For example, Snape writing, "That was most disquieting. I immediately knew that if Dumbledore approved that much, it was certainly the wrong thing to have done." And, of course, everyone else was "vaguely planning world domination, as usual."

The most useful thing I can say is to not discontinue this story - as many diaries starting in PS/SS do. Otherwise I will learn e-mailable curses.

*shivers in reading pleasure*

Reviewer: SugarthiefDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138358Chapter: 1
I'm not sure if I agree with your assessment of Snape's character (the whole thing with the stone) or his overall motives, but I love the voice. Very smoothly done. Looking forward to reading more!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138162Chapter: 3
Another great chapter, although I don't agree with you that Snape made sure that Harry didn't end up in Slytherin. Especially considering that Dumbledore later told Harry that he chose to be in Gryffindor.

And by the way, Hooch never contributed anything to the protection of the Stone -- at least, according to Hagrid. And I'm inclined to believe him. But it's not very important.

I love the way you insert little bits from canon in here, like Quirrell having his back turned on Harry when Harry's scar hurt. And the way Snape interprets Dumbledore's statement about the third-floor corridor is just hilarious.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138161Chapter: 2
You're doing such a good job of this that it's very funny -- almost like canon-humour, I think. This line for example:
>>I was confident that I would play it superbly, as usual.<<
Snape's arrogance is enormous -- and he dared to accuse Harry of being arrogant? Brilliant.

I also love Snape's disgust at the thought of having Harry in his house. It puts Snape's little chat with Bellatrix in HBP in an interesting perspective. Supporting good!Snape again, in fact. You know, your Snape is as ambivalent as canon!Snape.

Another of my favourite lines:
>>He can befriend the Potter boy straight away, before he has the chance to fall in with the wrong sort.<<

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138160Chapter: 1
Oh, this is very good! You do a brilliant job capturing Snape's voice. From begin to end, it sounds 100% like Snape. I'm just a bit curious about this:
>>From the start of this conversation, Iíd anticipated this sort of question, and Iíd already concluded that no Occlumency was necessary.<<
Do you support the evil!Snape theory? This sounds to me like Snape was planning to use Occlumency if he had known anything about it. Interesting...

I'm off to read more!

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-01-07
Reviewid: 138127Chapter: 3
This is shaping up to be a very good read! I always knew that Snape was an arrogant burk. Keep the good words comming!

Reviewer: Lauren761Date: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136954Chapter: 1
I enjoyed reading these.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2005-12-03
Reviewid: 136711Chapter: 2
THis has been very intriguing so far. I'm planning to enjoy how you fill in the missing pieces and point of view from Harry's first year. Thanks for something new to read!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136502Chapter: 1
Youíve captured Snapeís tone perfectly in this, CareCrystal ó I canít wait to read the next instalment!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136427Chapter: 1
This is interesting. I like the idea of seeing the series through Professor Snape's point of view. I'm looking forward to seeing what else you have planned for our dear (whether or not he is truly evil) Snape.

Thank you very much. I hope you post your next chapter soon.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136425Chapter: 1
Ooh, I like this! I look forward to reading more, Snape is perfectly in character here. Update soon!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136420Chapter: 1
Fabulous start! I will be watching for future chapters with anticipation. I love the in character snarkiness that makes the point-of-view a delight!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136419Chapter: 1
You have absolutely cracked Snape, it's glorious reading this! It fills in the edges of what we know in a beautiful way, and just your characterisation of Snape - ! I am loving it so much. :) Cannot wait to see the next bit up.

Reviewer: RainbowDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136402Chapter: 1
Ooh, I liked this. Your Snape is very real and actually amusing. I especially loved the line: "It's times like this that I almost like this job."

I'll be watching for more!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --