The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: frankie beeblebroxDate: 2009-08-05
Reviewid: 151436Chapter: 1
Four words. . .

It's still completely awesome.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-04-25
Reviewid: 142229Chapter: 1
*sniff* So romantic. I like how you have Bill's character here.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141513Chapter: 1
A Nice Little Ficlet

Reviewer: GrapefruitSeedDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137139Chapter: 1
Ahhh this is such a cute little piece! I love how you repeatedly talked about other four little words and I love the examples. It's cute, realistic, and great!

Reviewer: MoonlitRoseDate: 2005-12-10
Reviewid: 136978Chapter: 1
Aww, that was very sweet. I especially love the last line. It's so Bill. :P

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136936Chapter: 1
Very sweet little moment. I love Bill's train of thought--especially when he mistakes her tears for something bad:

"I'm not that bad, am I?"

A true guy reacting to a true woman.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-12-06
Reviewid: 136797Chapter: 1
I like that I've already read this at least twice now, but I still keep forgetting to leave you a review! *headdesk*

It's really a lovely piece, Lady N! Thanks for writing it, and for sharing it with us. :) You did such a great job with both Fleur and of course, Bill. I loved how the four-word phrases kept showing up. :)

Jules

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-12-02
Reviewid: 136675Chapter: 1
That was a wonderful piece. So in character for both of them, and I could almost picture them both standing in Diagon Alley, and Bill comparing it to Cairo and Karnak, even though I've never been to any of those places. And he knew that people were thinking when he saw them together, that they were thinking he was a lucky son of a bitch, and though that seems funny, Bill didn't really pay attention to that idea. Which sounds more like someone who's truly in love rather than someone who would brag. If that makes sense. This made me smile a lot as I was reading it.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2005-12-02
Reviewid: 136665Chapter: 1
Oh, Lady Narcissa that was so wonderfully fluffy! It was so good it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside - and that is a mighty compliment, considering the stuff I usually read. I especially liked the section where you basically had Bill inform the reader what he sees in Fleur, and it's lovely to see that, although he loves her for her looks, that he also values her courage and intelligence (she was a triwizard champion, after all!)

Kudos on such a great one-shot.

- Ada.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136647Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful missing moment. It answers one of the unasked questions from HBP: what does Bill see in Fleur? You answered it wonderfully.

Thank you for doing such a lovely job.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136631Chapter: 1
Aw, that was very cute. I really don't hate Bill and Fleur - their relationship has never really seemed shallow to me, and I liked this portrayal of them very much. :-)

Keep up the wonderful work!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136627Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. I think it captured what we know of Bill'd personality quite well. His thoughts were masculine and not too lovey dovey. He was focused on physical attributes of Fleur, but that also rang true to me from what I know of men and have read - they are very visual. But he still has enough depth of feeling to assure us that he would grow in the deeper aspects of his love for her. That, too, seems realistic to me at this early stage of their relationship.

Lady Narcissa - I would LOVE to see your take on Bill, his idea of marriage to Fleur and his feelings for her AFTER the attack by Greyback. After reading this, I'm sure you could mix in a little angst with the fluff and do it quite well. Nice job.

Reviewer: TheRealMaraJadeDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136625Chapter: 1
WONDERFUL! Simply...WONDERFUL! Beautiful, really! I love this particular pairing, and I love the way you handled Bill! And his proposal! ;)

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136624Chapter: 1
Thank you for writing this. Besides the fact that you've given Fleur a good name in this, it's beautifully written. I love, love, love the just-four-little-words pattern. It works well with Bill in ways that it wouldn't work with the other Weasleys or Harry or Hermione. And I have to admit that when Bill started panicking that he made her cry, tears welled up in my eyes. Well done!

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136622Chapter: 1
Well, now that I have a silly grin plastered right across my face... that was one of the best fluffy proposals I have ever read! And by "best" I mean not only did you take a refreshing new view by relating the proposal to other, more common four-word phrases, but you also stayed right in character and found the perfect fluffy balance between boring and overkill. Great job!

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136620Chapter: 1
Parady. Drama. Fluff...Lady N, is there anything you can't write?! Again you have gotten into the minds of J.K. Rowling's characters and written them as if they were your own. (My mother even said it was like raeding JK herself!) Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136604Chapter: 1
YAY! Go Bill!!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136597Chapter: 1
Oh, Lady N, this is a perfect little piece - simple yet touching, and with the usual dash of subtle humor. I like the way you capture Bill's "voice" and Fleur's so well - the depth of their characters and the strength of their relationship which, as you show us, isn't (just) based on good looks. You show the way they complement each other perfectly with just one simple line - "She was teaching him to speak French; he was helping her improve her English."
I like this a lot, in other words. Thanks so much for sharing with us!
:-)
Gufa

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136596Chapter: 1
I tend to be one of those snobs who turns up my nose at fluff-fics in principle; let's face it, there's nothing worse than badly-written fluff. But when one hits that's as well-put-together as yours, I just go awwwwwwww.

Well done!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136595Chapter: 1
*sigh*

This was totally worth the wait. I loooooved it. But then again, I always love something that you dedicate to paper.

Bill's thoughts and his heart hammering...I was right there with him in the moment...tears filling my eyes...waiting and waiting and... Oui.

Perfect.

~Hez

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136585Chapter: 1
That was so sweet, and so romantic. You caught Bill perfectly. Yay for fluff! :D Thanks for a dear story.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136582Chapter: 1
What a lovely one-shot! I love how Bill compares those four frightening little words to the mundane four-word phrases he's used all his life. Marriage is such a giant step, so I don't wonder that he's suddenly filled with apprehension. Since we know from HBP that Fleur said, "Yes" I was curious as to how Bill would do the asking. I'm glad the words came out spur-of-the-moment right in the middle of Diagon Alley. Whether he planned it that way, I don't know, but it grabbed my heart and tickled my romantic bone. Great story.

Reviewer: animaserenaDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136579Chapter: 1
You captured Bill just as I imagined him. Very well done.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136576Chapter: 1
Lovely, just lovely. A perfect missing moment of absolute fluff. I loved it!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136574Chapter: 1
Aaaahhh! That was so nice. It is good to have happiness during a war. Bill's in the thick of it but all he thought of was Fleur.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --