The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Half Laughing
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143623Chapter: 1
one word: beautiful.

This made me cry.

And H/G rocks.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139638Chapter: 1
Ah, that was lovely.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139237Chapter: 1
Most Excellent. In writing, you are a bit of a wizard/witch yourself

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138877Chapter: 1
Lovely!

This was wonderful. I love the fact that Harry isn't being so stupid here (although I know he means well with breaking up with Ginny). This was very sweet. :D

~GW

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2006-01-20
Reviewid: 138740Chapter: 1
Wow. Just what I think should happen. I love the repetition of Ginny seeing Harry just as he had first seen her, running down the platform. Well done.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-01-15
Reviewid: 138541Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh, it's Casablanca! "The problems of two little people don't amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world . . . " (very loosely quoted)! This is an AWESOME fic. I think every love story should have a goodbye-in-the-train-station-as-the-train-is-pulling-away scene. I found this listed in the Reviewer's Challenge, and I'm so glad I did. I absolutely LOVE it when writers can tie things together this well, weaving strands out and then bringing them back together again so perfectly at the end. Bravo, really well done. This was comfort food for my H/G cravings!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138348Chapter: 1
Lovely! I really liked the inversion from PS/SS. I think you wrote about the Harry/ Ginny relationship really well... I felt upset for Ginny, and happy too when Harry said he loved her. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137703Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! You captured their feelings beautifully! It's just as I would imagine a quick meeting between them where Harry could tell Ginny how he felt. Good selection of the site: the train station and lots of steam. Keep writing!

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137135Chapter: 1
You're a gifted writer... your style is unforced, and you certainly have an eye for imagery. I really liked this piece. I do agree, though, that italicising (most of) the words in the last paragraph was distracting and unnecessary. You've already supplied the originial quote in the beginning, there's no need to beat the reader over the head with the admittedly nice parallelism you're trying to achieve. A normal paragraph, unitalicised, would have been much better.

Reviewer: ves.heillDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137114Chapter: 1
Very nice work. Unfortuantely, though I do understand what you were trying to do with the flipped quotes/italics at the end I seem to disagree with the other reviewers in that I didn't much care for it. When I'm reading a story, especially a good one (like yours!) the *last* thing I want to do is be jerked out of my lovely little HP realm and brought back to reality with an infused literary device. What I personally would have preferred is for you to finish the story with no italics and repeat the quote from SS at the bottom, perhaps with the specificly quotes parts bolded or something along those lines.

Reviewer: dalfDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137107Chapter: 1
Yay!

You know I was starting to lose faith in my fellow H/G shippers. Starting to think that after years of reading cannon correctly they were too blinded with I don't know what to deal with how HBP ended. Fic after fic of the highest levels of angst ever seen. I don't suspect that Harry or Ginny REALLY see their relationship as over in cannon. Not even on hold, just ... necessarrly inactive.

I read a lot of angsty fanfiction but it has to fit with cannon. I like how you delt with this. :)

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137076Chapter: 1
brought me to tears, and made me want to hug my boyfriend. :) thanks, great story.

Reviewer: MadelynDate: 2005-12-10
Reviewid: 136970Chapter: 1
Stunning! I think it's a really good balance of the "I love you but I can't be with you because I'll hurt you" thing. I truly hate that plot device, but you've infused it with some warmth and given it believable solutions and emotions. I'm amazed by your work.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136949Chapter: 1
A beautiful little one-shot. I only have an issue with the formatting. You shouldn't have italicized the quoted words at the end: it's obvious that they're quoted, and italics convey different meaning in a story. The mix of italics and non-italics makes it even more confusing.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136948Chapter: 1
I seem to be reading sad Harry/Ginny stories tonight. You've done a really nice job with this scene and making it hopeful for Ginny. Harry is putting enormous trust in Ginny asking her to keep his precious trinkets safe; the symbolism here leads me to hope that Harry will triumph in the end and that Ginny and Harry can have what Ron and Hermione are just beginning to experience. The way you began and ended this story was very nice.

Reviewer: mallaryroseDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136946Chapter: 1
that was lovely. I loved how you incorporated the quote in the end. It made it very moving.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136938Chapter: 1
Ooh. Usually not a fan of one-shots, but this was very clever, particularly the use of the final lines. It was probable and in-character, but imaginative nevertheless. Satisfies one's hankering for H/G fluff without ripping canon into bits. I particularly liked Harry surrounding them in steam--very visual and atmospheric, nice touch--and Ginny's ambivalance. Also Harry entrusting her with the keepsakes from Godric's Hollow was good, original, a little different than just him giving her the mirror. Good writing too, extremely economical and tight. "Ginny looked past his eyes, and saw a future with no Voldemort, a life without fear, a Harry with no scar."--says it all.

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136930Chapter: 1
That was a really sad scene. I liked how you flipped it, so it was Harry running after the train, like Ginny did in Sorcerer's Stone. I think adding stuff from Harry's mom was really sweet, too.
I liked it, even though it was sad.

Reviewer: naiadDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136925Chapter: 1
This is absolutely wonderful. Fantastic writing, beautiful and moving. It brought tears to my eyes, and little does. Please write more.

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136923Chapter: 1
So delighted to see this finally up here, outofthecupboard! I loved your dialogue between Harry and Ginny, especially when her hopes begin to soar - your narrative totally carries the readers with Ginny's excitement:

Ginnys face was hot. He said he needed power. Did he need her? I can help, she blurted. Ive said I would. She was gulping to turn air into words that would be the right ones--the words that would make him stay or let her go with him. II wont go back to school, I

Yes, that's Ginny. She's a tough gal, but when it comes to Harry, she's just liable to show a little a weakness!

I love how they understand each other so well, few words are really needed, and Harry doesn't have to fight against Ginny's need to be with him. They share a trust which is brave and beautiful and optimistic, as all teen loves should be, even with the threat of Voldemort hanging over them. I love that. And Sirius's mirrors - I have a strong feeling you might be right on that one!

I hope your success with these characters inspires you to play with them some more ;-)

Helen

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136921Chapter: 1
A nice little story, but please remember that by the end of HBP, Ginny said 'Voldemort' with ease. By reverting her back to 'You-Know-Who', you diminish her strength.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136916Chapter: 1
*sniffle* WOW, I just love how you tied Canon (from SS, no less!) into the story...I like your portrayerl of Ginny alot. And the sneakily snuck in R/H is very kewl. Love it!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136906Chapter: 1
That was a nice inversion! So romantic, too. I got shivers when Harry whispered to her. Excellent job!

Reviewer: something_floweryDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136903Chapter: 1
that was just AMAZING! I really loved it, JKR said once that most of the story could be figured out from the first book, and you did her justice beautifully. it was onderful, thank you.

Reviewer: shminkDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136899Chapter: 1
This is an incredible piece of writing. You have an amazing gift with words, and this scene is one I too have imagined between Ginny and Harry. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136895Chapter: 1
I loved it. sweet, wonderful, perfect....MAKE A SERIES!IT WOULD BE BRILLIANT!THis is awesome...I want more!*hands 10 butterbeers*
Cheers!-
MagicDust

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136889Chapter: 1
Wow... I just posted this and thought I'd treat myself to reading some fan fiction tonight. This was - well, it was just a perfect story. Totally plausible and realistic and satisfying and well-written. I'm so glad that you decided to post it here! Thank you!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --