The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2008-10-27
Reviewid: 151194Chapter: 1
I just wanted to let you know that I have rec’d your story and posted a link to it in the new HP LJ community Harry Potter Missing Moments. Your story fits nicely into canon and makes a nice addition to our archives. Please feel free to come over and take a look at what we are doing and your entry (posted under "Devastation"). We are a small group at the moment, but we hope to get your story some new readers and some new reviews as we grow.

Reviewer: kerrymdbDate: 2006-12-29
Reviewid: 146662Chapter: 5
This was great! I really enjoyed the whole thing. Snape was perfectly snarky and yet understanding of everything. I loved that he thought everything was his own fault in the beginning and then how you brought it full circle by the memories of his father.

Wonderful job!

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2006-12-27
Reviewid: 146620Chapter: 5
I really enjoyed this story, from start to finish. I never once thought about what Snape must have been doing that night, and your version is realistic and entertaining. It provides a fascinating and believable insite into Snape's mind, and he felt in character the whole time.

I liked the way you had him create mental images and subterfuges before going to Voldemort--it was very clever. And his interactions with Remus were fascinating. His snarky way of cheering Remus was believable, and Remus own gentle and apologetic demeanor to Snape even during the midst of his grief was very in character. I also liked how Snape, in spite of his general crankiness, had a genuine sense of compassion for other people--from Order members to students. He just expresses it differently.

Enjoyable and interesting story all around.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146396Chapter: 5
An excellent story all around! I liked the last line -- funny, but chilling too, given what happens. The twins were great. The humor was excellent. The characters were believable. Good job taking a serious moment, keeping it serious, but also injecting some humor.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146395Chapter: 4
Oh, so many great, comic moments in this! My favorites:
1. The thought of Snape as a bartender *snicker*
2. Snape's orders to Lupin to "Sit" and "Stay" -- rather not nice of him, but still funny.
3."I turn into a bloodthirsty monster every twenty-eight days."
"So do women," Snape remarked.

and my absolute favorite:

"He seems well enough. The Dark Lord keeps him close. Very close indeed." Snape smirked. "In a cage with a lock," he paused for effect, "and a little wheel."

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146394Chapter: 2
That was very chilling. Your Voldemort is sinister!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146393Chapter: 1
An excellent "missing moment" fic! You've taken what is a head-scratching mystery as to what took Snape so long to get help, and made it very plausible. To boot, you've added a great, twisted humor. I was cackling at the last sentence. My best friend recommended this fic, and I'm glad she did.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2006-12-03
Reviewid: 146350Chapter: 5
This is just...wow. Very touching, with just enough dark humor to keep things alive. I love the line at the end, "Next year he was bloody well going to ask for a raise." Oh, Snape! *sniffle*

Reviewer: lynnDate: 2006-11-24
Reviewid: 146270Chapter: 4
Great story- thank you!

My favorite line:

"I turn into a bloodthirsty monster every twenty-eight days."

"So do women," Snape remarked.

Heh. I can totally see Snape saying this.

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2006-11-12
Reviewid: 146149Chapter: 5
A very nice read indeed. Seeing just what Professor
Snape had to endure and the trials that had to happen. Although we will hopefully learn later that
Malfoy jr will discrace Lord Voldemourt and fail
in his plans.

Reviewer: reesieDate: 2006-11-10
Reviewid: 146136Chapter: 5
Sorry for the double reviews - I swear I am only submitting each review a single time - must be Peeves having fun with me.

You continue to maintain your seemingly effortless and excellent writing in this latest chapter, Montavilla. Love the Weasley twins, and Snape's attention to business on this tiring Potter night. This also brings up my sadness over Sirius' death again - thinking of his empty room and pockets.

Loved these lines:

"I've warded them with very dangerous and dark spells." ... The twins didn't look impressed.

"Naturally. I found many personal and embarrassing items. I can't wait to share them with all my friends."

"Stop in and see Minerva? Give her my regards." Ahhhhh...!

"Next year he was bloody well going to ask for a raise."

Very well done and I look forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2006-11-10
Reviewid: 146132Chapter: 5
A good and convincing piece of work.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-09
Reviewid: 146126Chapter: 5
A most excellent read.
And ah… I’m always delighted to read work of this caliber.
So… Could you start on another tale?

Reviewer: AnankeDate: 2006-11-06
Reviewid: 146097Chapter: 5
I love how matter-of-fact, objective oriented Snape is in this chapter, with Sirius' things, the Wolfsbane Potion and the twins!

>Next year he was bloody well going to ask for a raise.
Ah. The mystery of the AK is revealed... Severus Snape: the Employee Denied a Raise!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-11-05
Reviewid: 146086Chapter: 5
Very interesting (and plausible) take on that night - I enjoyed Snape's snarky point of view. However, I must admit I never would have imagined Snape and Lupin voluntarily sharing a drink by the fireside! And as for the last paragraph, I seriously doubt he'll get his raise...

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-11-02
Reviewid: 146042Chapter: 1
Capital! I laughed til I cried. One more reason to love Severus Snape!

Reviewer: Stellar HawkDate: 2006-11-02
Reviewid: 146038Chapter: 4
"Ah, Peter," Lupin spat out the name. "How is old Wormtail, by the way?"

"He seems well enough. The Dark Lord keeps him close. Very close indeed." Snape smirked. "In a cage with a lock," he paused for effect, "and a little wheel."

*snerk* hehehe! There's a picture.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146009Chapter: 4
Your writing is terrific, your Snape-voice is just about perfect.

I have one point of disagreement though. Well, not disagreement, more a different sense of things. The conversation here between Snape and Lupin would appear to be largely informed by the chapters in OOTP about the one incident in 5th year. James and Sirius were cruel bullies, and Lupin never rebuked them. However, there's something missing. Snape wasn't entirely innocent throughout all their years of fighting. He was 'up to his eyeballs in the Dark Arts' from the get go. He was obsessed with curses than generally involve inflicting pain and anguish. I am more than willing to bet he instigated plenty of fights on his own, and had only himself to blame if they didn't pan out as intended. James and Sirius weren't always in the wrong, although they were bullies in that 5th year instance. Think of all the scenes Harry did not get to see.

Anyway, that's my view.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146007Chapter: 4
I like the interaction between Snape and Lupin intensely.

I like everything about it. Snape was in control, and with bad grace (and perfectly in character) interviewed Lupin. They both gave as good as they got, but there was none of the seething hatred that was aimed at James and Sirius.

It makes sense, because as you put it, "And I remember that while you never once stood up to your friends, you at least did not instigate the attacks. Nor did you laugh."

It was brilliant. Even nicer, I like the idea that Snape made the suggestion that Lupin stay with Tonks. Very nice.

Snape is actually decent, if still not nice, and Lupin is properly ashamed of his friends for their cruelty and ... this was very nicely executed.

Thank you.

I look forward to more, if there is indeed more to look forward towards.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: AnankeDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 145998Chapter: 4
Snape as bartender?! Mmm, can that man get any more brilliant? (Can YOU? Can this FIC?)
I love the Umbridge and the Barty Crouch line. They feel so *right*.

But I have some slight trouble believing that someone would say 'someone is gently rapping'. Just strikes me as odd.

Reviewer: reesieDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 145996Chapter: 4
Very, very original! I really like the behind-the-scenes stuff that you are presenting so well - seems very likely given a loyal Snape.

I am surprised to see Snape being so very decent with Lupin. This seems to definitely be a more evolved Snape.

The quote below definitely brings back shades of Snape and Narcissa from HBP - very good.

"Snape felt a strange, uncontrollable fear that Lupin would break down in hysterics. He didn't know why that frightened him, but it did--more than anything that had happened yet that night. More than the Dark Lord's wrath or Dumbledore's disapppointment."

Great job.

Reviewer: reesieDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 145995Chapter: 4
Very, very original! I really like the behind-the-scenes stuff that you are presenting so well - seems very likely given a loyal Snape.

I am surprised to see Snape being so very decent with Lupin. This seems to definitely be a more evolved Snape.

The quote below definitely brings back shades of Snape and Narcissa from HBP - very good.

"Snape felt a strange, uncontrollable fear that Lupin would break down in hysterics. He didn't know why that frightened him, but it did--more than anything that had happened yet that night. More than the Dark Lord's wrath or Dumbledore's disapppointment."

Great job.

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145981Chapter: 4
"Of course, ever since Barty Crouch died, cauldrons have been shockingly thin at the bottom."

Wonderful!!

Reviewer: Felix FelicisDate: 2006-10-27
Reviewid: 145963Chapter: 3
I'm really enjoying this story so far! You've captured Snape's thoughts in a great way and managed to keep him in character, as well. The interaction between Voldemort and Snape was particularly well done. It was exactly as I would expect to see in canon.

I really like the emphasis on the calculating side of Snape. He's really like that, I think, determining exactly which thoughts to show the Dark Lord and how to manipulate the situation to keep the pain to a minimum. I just can't tell you how well you've hit the nail on the head with him!

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145859Chapter: 3
wow great story

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145857Chapter: 3
Montavilla, this is sooo good! I was so happy to see another chapter posted already - I really love your writing and how you have shown DD, Lupin, and Snape after the DOM battle. Just excellent.

Still some formatting problems but that didn't reduce the quality of the writing at all. I am going to recommend your chapters to a few friends.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145856Chapter: 3
This is an interesting fiction from Snape's point of view.

I'm intrigued. Please keep going.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145855Chapter: 3
Montavilla, this is sooo good! I was so happy to see another chapter posted already - I really love your writing and how you have shown DD, Lupin, and Snape after the DOM battle. Just excellent.

Still some formatting problems but that didn't reduce the quality of the writing at all. I am going to recommend your chapters to a few friends.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145812Chapter: 2
Simply brilliant, Montavilla! You've shown an extremely snarky Snape, as well as one who is clearly not loyal to the Dark Lord.

"He allowed the fear to fill him. Fear was good. Fear is a weapon, but the Dark Lord was not the only one who knew how to use it."

""I was at the school, my Lord." Snape's voice lowered with regret. "Unfortunately, I do not know where the Headmaster has been." He let a note of bitterness creep in. "He did not trust me enough to inform me, perhaps he suspected… whatever the reason, he did not trust me. I could not keep track of his movements.""

"Snape let his breath out in a shuddering sigh and stared at the floor. "The Dark Lord sees all. Over the years--becoming close in order to learn his secrets--I have developed an affection for the Headmaster." "

"Snape clenched his fist over his heart and gritted his teeth. "It is a weakness!" he cried out bitterly. "A weakness." "

I liked the passages above especially - thought they showed the intelligence of Snape in knowing how to mold his reality, his strengths and weaknesses, so as to continue to appear trustworthy to LV. This type of super slick thinking makes me wonder how Snape allows himself to lose control around Harry - Snape's feelings about Harry, marauders, must be extremely deep ones.

Please keep writing. I'd love to see HBP from your quill!

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145811Chapter: 2
Simply brilliant, Montavilla! You've shown an extremely snarky Snape, as well as one who is clearly not loyal to the Dark Lord.

"He allowed the fear to fill him. Fear was good. Fear is a weapon, but the Dark Lord was not the only one who knew how to use it."

""I was at the school, my Lord." Snape's voice lowered with regret. "Unfortunately, I do not know where the Headmaster has been." He let a note of bitterness creep in. "He did not trust me enough to inform me, perhaps he suspected… whatever the reason, he did not trust me. I could not keep track of his movements.""

"Snape let his breath out in a shuddering sigh and stared at the floor. "The Dark Lord sees all. Over the years--becoming close in order to learn his secrets--I have developed an affection for the Headmaster." "

"Snape clenched his fist over his heart and gritted his teeth. "It is a weakness!" he cried out bitterly. "A weakness." "

I liked the passages above especially - thought they showed the intelligence of Snape in knowing how to mold his reality, his strengths and weaknesses, so as to continue to appear trustworthy to LV. This type of super slick thinking makes me wonder how Snape allows himself to lose control around Harry - Snape's feelings about Harry, marauders, must be extremely deep ones.

Please keep writing. I'd love to see HBP from your quill!

Reviewer: IseultDate: 2006-10-18
Reviewid: 145791Chapter: 2
Love the story. Very credible. Hoping there's more to come.

Reviewer: AnankeDate: 2006-10-14
Reviewid: 145736Chapter: 2
Oh, what a cool fic! I'm sorry, but that is about the extent of the comment I can provide. Everyone is believable, Bellatrix received her due dose of pain, Umbridge's kittens were destroyed, Snape attempted to stop Sirius- Great! :)
Only poor Snape was Crucioed, too. :(
Next stop, I believe, is Dumbledore?

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145706Chapter: 2
I liked Snape smashing the kitten plates, and how he tries to save Sirius's life even though he knows it is probably futile. I also liked how you mentioned that Draco was supposted to kill Dumbledore as revenge for Lucius's mistake and how Snape does not want Draco to become like him. I also liked Snape's admission of affection for Dumbledore, which made the killing that much harder for him. Keep writing.

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142603Chapter: 1
This is a very good, very plausible look at the missing scenes in OoP. Also, very good time line plotting. I enjoyed the interaction between Snape and Lupin, and the use of Phineas Nigellus.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-04-27
Reviewid: 142298Chapter: 1
Wonderful first chapter - I hope you will write more soon.

" It's going to be one of those nights , he thought sourly to himself. One of those Potter nights" This is just the way I imagine Snape would think to himself about Harry Potter!

I can understand the reason for the Floo conversation - we don't have enough info about how Patronuses might communicate detailed information. Or if they can. It's a puzzle how Snape did contact the Order directly, if not by Patronus or Floo.

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140124Chapter: 1
That was lovely! I can't wait to read the next chapter. Aside from the Floo powder bit (Since Dumbledore said they used some other means to communicate), it was very well informed, the characters stayed in character, and it was very interesting. A++!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137604Chapter: 1
Excellent work. You've got Snape down cold.

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137521Chapter: 1
With cool deliberation, Professor Snape raised his wand and aimed it, shattering each plate into fragments, one by one… by one.

can't believe I'm saying this...GO SNAPE! *shudders* evil foul slimy big-nosed evil dark-arts obsessed git DEATH-EATER!! But i hate those "adorable" kittens too.

Merry Christmas!or whatever holiday
Emerika

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137191Chapter: 1
Ooooh, I like this! It's very interesting to read Snape's POV during OotP knowing what we know now that we've read Half-Blood Prince.


"About Black," Snape said slowly, "perhaps he should wait at the house in case Professor Dumbledore shows up."

I'm never quite sure what to think about Snape... I wonder if he actually did want Sirius to go to the Ministry. You've written him as inscrutable as ever. Intriguing.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136934Chapter: 1
I liked it, but the formatting and stuff is really messed up- you've got all these stray italic tags everywhere. How did that happen? It's a bit distracting having extra italic tags every time something has been italicized. And this bit is inexplicably underlined: "He checked Filch's office. No one hanging from the thumbscrews. Where did she take them? He checked the classrooms. Nothing. No one in the Library. He even checked that the Firebolt was securely locked in the dungeons." Anything you can do about it?

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136929Chapter: 1
I always wondered if someone would get rid of those plates. They were awful.

I really like how you get into Snape's head. And how you imply things. Does Remus know Snape is a spy? Does Sirius?

Are you going to take this through all of Half-Blood Prince, too? I'll keep reading. This is good.

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136914Chapter: 1
Ooo! So creepy, but so very good! I don't think I've ever read this particular scene from Snape's POV before. Although we all know what happens eventually (*sob*) I can't wait to see your take on it!

Reviewer: AnankeDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136911Chapter: 1
That's just great! I can't wait for the rest of the night.
So Dumbledore's office allowed Snape in?
And ditto about the comment about the last line. Too bad it'll take a simple Reparo to fix the plates...

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136897Chapter: 1
Oh, very neat. I like Snape's voice, and the Sirius/Snape/Lupin interaction. Love the last sentence too. Good call, Snape; good call.

Reviewer: electrophileDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136890Chapter: 1
Excellent story and excellent rendition! *thumbs up*

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --