The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: School Day
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146514Chapter: 3
Ready for More Please.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-08-19
Reviewid: 144888Chapter: 3
You always set the scene so nicely, MFF. I had to dry myself off after reading your intro to the scene.

Ha! The clock WAS tolerable, and HIGHLY amusing! Loved it.

Oh, poor Ron. I really feel for him. He's working so hard, and feeling guilty on top of it all. And he's REALL feeling the passage of time. Ooh, aren't we all?

I loved the visit from the twins. Their personalities pop off the page. The dialogue is very realistic and flows so smoothly. Hermione is not characterized as harsh, which I like. (Especially now, when Ron needs anything but harshness.)

Another well done chapter. I just wish Ron could get out of his funk with his work and with Harry. Will he? Please tell me he will.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144861Chapter: 3
It's interesting how Ron is with his chocolate frogs. It's almost like gambling for him, except not as addictive or terrible, I suppose. Plus, there's chocolate!

I really like this fic. Will there be more? I hope so.

I blame you for making me stay up until 1:30am reading! :D

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144860Chapter: 2
I love the clock. I wish my alarm clock would convince me to sleep in! Instead it just beeps at me evily.

Also love the coffee scene, and the idea that Ron would become addicted to it. And all the Aurors! Hee.

This is looking to be an interesting fic so far!

Reviewer: BeshterDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144834Chapter: 3
So very cute and very good...I can see Ron and Hermione being like this as a middle-aged married couple.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144831Chapter: 3
What an adorable story! Poor Ron, nearing a mid-life crisis, but ending up having a perfectly lovely evening reconnecting. I'll be looking for more of your stories. Great job.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144829Chapter: 3
Wow! Where do I begin? This is so good. Ron is so well-done. He's an adult, he's matured and he has a brain -- but he's still Ron. He still gets a wee bit jealous of Harry, he has his doubts. I like his reflections on him balancing home and work. Eddie and Anne are too cute! It was like listening to Ron and Hermione :) And that clock of yours has to go down in history as one of the best HP fanfic inventions, ever. Although now I have that song stuck in my head...evil!

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139505Chapter: 2
Very good! Doesn't Hermione have a job though, and a good one at that? With her brains, cleverness, and cunning, I'd expect she'd be the auror (even though I know she didn't want to be one). I just know she would have, it wouldn't make sense if she just stayed home all the time and didn't set her abilities to good use outside of home.
Anyway, it's a really good plot forming and you have a very enticing way of writing. Ron flipping out over the coffee was hilarious and just like him :D Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-01-28
Reviewid: 138973Chapter: 2
Oh my gosh, that alarm clock cracked me up. I had to stop reading for several minutes I was laughing so hard. Gee, I wish I had an alarm clock that told me to go back to sleep! :P
Great portrayals of Ron and Hermione. They are a married couple, older, but still prone to falling into those same bickering patterns they had as students. The scene where Ron was looking for a cup of coffee was great -- boy, is that typical office stuff!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2006-01-28
Reviewid: 138968Chapter: 2
It's just good to read! I do so love after-the-end fics, and this is shaping up to be a good one. By my calculations, Ron can just about make the train - meanwhile, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to find out if he does or not...

Excellent work :)

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-01-27
Reviewid: 138941Chapter: 2
Oh yeah - gotta love that alarm clock! That is just fantastic! I really am looking forward to what comes next - you've got me all anxious. Your writing about Ron and Hermione is superb, so I can't wait to see what you do to Malfoy and co.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-01-27
Reviewid: 138940Chapter: 2
Ummm. Police Proceedural. Unusual genre for the quill - but working very well. Excellent early-am kitchen scene with Hermione. Where's all that tension going to go? Doesn't look like they've changed much over the last decade or so. Enjoyed the coffee scene too. Very Java-addict.
What's to like about this Ron? So far his good attributes seem mostly to be in the past. He's weasley with the boss (damn well should have passed on Hermione's message!), agro with the staff, snitty with Hermionie, a little distant with the kids and... resentful of the Boy-who-lived still? It all fits, it makes sense and works with the genre, but I'm going to need more reasons to like him than the fun I get watching him going spare at the office staff about the coffee.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-01-27
Reviewid: 138930Chapter: 2
I love the way you're developing this story - the pressures of an Auror's life clashing with the need to be a good husband and father. And making Kingsley's Patronus a meerkat - great idea!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137543Chapter: 1
I know, I know. I'm only just now getting to this. :P

What a sweet story, Papa Bear! I love Ron's interaction with his children! And the deal Ron's daughter made with him about the wizard cards is adorable. :D

Great job!

Jules

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137414Chapter: 1
Cool. I like it. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: siriusly_fishyDate: 2005-12-18
Reviewid: 137360Chapter: 1
this is really cute! i like it!

~sf

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137244Chapter: 1
You've worked your magic once again: bravo!

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137137Chapter: 1
MFF, I love your other pieces, and I think you're a really good writer, especially of Ron, but this one rather read like a bland list of "here's what happened to everyone after the war", valiantly trying to reach beyond bland-list-dom through the device of those very, very cute kids. The kids *are* cute, and I love Ron as much as you do, but unfortunately, they're not enough to make this piece into a real story, you know? If we'd found out all this in almost the same way, but with even a makeshift plot thrown in it would be really good. Maybe one of the kids is planning a prank on Harry/Ginny/other adult, and tries to find out what sort of people they are, because that's just good tricking procedure... leading to Ron explaining all this. See what I'm saying? We're all dying to know what happens to everyone, and so your premise has inbuilt appeal, but we also need the vehicle of an actual story to help us swallow your speculations.

But otherwise, your writing itself is great, and oh, how I love your Ron. :)

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137136Chapter: 1
Neat story! Very heartwarming. I liked the portrayal of the twins, firstly through Ron's descrptions and then through their interactions - especially the fighting. This line made me laugh:

'“Well, I’m going to find an Uncle Harry Potter card,” Annie said with a defiant tilt of her chin.'

It was very good!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-12-11
Reviewid: 137026Chapter: 1
awwww, sweet. I find that I enjoy post hogwarts stories more and more as they come...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --