The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Marauders Redux
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: EuphoriaDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146299Chapter: 7
Woo hoo those last two chapters are good. I totally loved how she said “I am the Champion!” too cool. Reminds me of a videogame. I totally love Tonks’ attitude it doesn’t change even having a convo with Remus. X_x Sirius is just so perverted it matches him so well. I seriously don’t know why would anyone skip this part. I do understand putting a warning, I do too to most of my fan fictions though none are on this site…
-sshhhh-
Secret anyways such a wicked messed up dream… it’s like DAMN! Someone needs to get laid… haha just playin. Imagine Remus curling up into fetus position and saying “EEEK” that would looks soooo not straight. Aww it’s so sweet seeing Nymphadora trying her best to show her responsible and affection attitude towards Remus.
-sigh-
-Ahhhhh- I’m so happy for Sirius! Freedom! Like Woah that part of them holding up their wands was totally HOT! Someone must of hit me on the head too many times. I really feel for poor Remus, always the middle man. Oh my gosh! Rock Star Remy… woot! “like a middle-aged gay pirate.” Hilarious!
Ahh now Sirius looks like a Village People member! Sorry but that’s the thought that got into me head.
Ahhhhh Pooor Remus, ex-students and to the student surprise, ex-teacher! Sirius is sooo right like students all of us had at least one hot teacher in our lifetime. I know I’d be hot for teacher too.
Fleur is such a B-word but I like her that way. That’s how she should be. ^_^

Ahh I have to go now, the time, the timE!

Reviewer: SevarySnuffBlackDate: 2006-10-27
Reviewid: 145956Chapter: 1
A wonderful series...I read it in the order you wrote it....when'z the next one cuming?
by the way, I disagree with ur image of sirius as a philanderer....he's the type to be oblivious to his handsomeness, not use it for his benefit...
hmm, how abt a nice story abt sirius and harry at christmas, during OoTP?

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145780Chapter: 11
How cute! Much better than their moments within HBP, I hope you'll continue to write them!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145779Chapter: 8
aaah, there we are - my questions answered I'll head to the next part of Remus' love life, seems promising now ...

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145778Chapter: 6
The only thing that keeps disturbing me is why Remus repeatedly refers to himself as being old and surrounded by only young people when Sirius actually has his age? Or is it a matter of attitude? Or even maturity :-) ?

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145777Chapter: 2
Hihi, sounds good :-)

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-09-25
Reviewid: 145476Chapter: 2
Here are my favorite lines from this chapter (this wonderful chapter that made me grin from ear to ear from the very beginning to the very end):

"Remus forced himself to look away—when she did that dance of hers, certain areas of her body drew far too much attention to themselves, and one wasn't supposed to ogle one's friends." Too freakin' funny!

"And when will she get some Moony in her, old friend?" I laughed out loud when I read that!

I love how Remus acts so much younger when he's around Tonks. It as though the weight of the world is lifted from his shoulders whenever she's near. I'm very interested in finding out what Tonks and Bill have planned!

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-09-25
Reviewid: 145475Chapter: 1
Wow! You've piqued my interest, as well. ;) Loved the playful banter between the two of them. Great start!

Reviewer: SnorkackCatcherDate: 2006-08-19
Reviewid: 144889Chapter: 11
For some reason I've never got byond a chapter or two of this befoer, but I'm really glad I did this time, it was great. I love the portrayal of poor old Remus having a hard time at the wizarding rock concert (which was nicely portrayed in itself) and of Sirius getting a night out. The OCs and cameos from minor canon characters were well drawn and fitted well, and the burgeoning romance between Remus and Tonks was very loveable. Good one. :D

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142785Chapter: 1
A fluffy, warm, and absolutely wonderful tale. Thanks.

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142608Chapter: 11
I've enjoyed this story all the way through, including this very sweet ending! What a horrible reader I am - I can't believe I haven't left reviews - but I did want to let you know that I loved this story for its humor and characterizations, and the positive tone of the end just left me with a big grin! Thanks so much for this! :)

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-05-05
Reviewid: 142562Chapter: 11
This is a very cute ending. Tonk's encouragment of Remus's actions was great. I loved Remus finally deciding to be a Marauder and kiss her. I also loved the line about Tonks going weak in the knees. I hope to see more writing when you have the time.

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2006-05-05
Reviewid: 142558Chapter: 11
Sweet story! And great work, tossing in the Stubby Boardman thing. Hope to see more of your stories soon.

Reviewer: ms.lupinDate: 2006-05-05
Reviewid: 142557Chapter: 11
no! no! I do not want it to end! This is one of my favorite fan fics. Thanks for entertaining me during work. (don't tell my boss) I will keep my eye open for more of your stuff. Thanks a bunch!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-05-03
Reviewid: 142503Chapter: 10
Remus's diversion was very good. Thank goodness for Boardman! I like how Remus is again torn being being responsible (going home) and staying and having fun, pleasing everyone else. I also liked how Tonks was so professional, and I think she will try to keep a closer eye on Sirius. I really hope that no one else saw him, or he could be in serious trouble. Keep writing.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142477Chapter: 10
Aw, cute. I have to admit, I was really nervous there!

Poor Sirius though. But although I agree that Tonks could've kept an eye on him... he's actually older and wiser than she is.

Reviewer: ms.lupinDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142466Chapter: 10
I am officially addicted to this fan fic. If you could not tell I am a big Lupin fan. I love your descriptions of all the characters. The best is the middle age gay pirate. Keep it coming and good work!

Reviewer: ms.lupinDate: 2006-04-24
Reviewid: 142215Chapter: 1
I love you story! It makes me smile seeing Lupin like this. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142182Chapter: 9
It's a definite treat to find a Remus/Tonks fic that isn't over-loaded with angst - this one is outright funny. I'm hopeful that they'll eventually get some time alone. Good job!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142079Chapter: 9
Hmm, I wonder if Remus will take Desi up on her offer to change his hair? I loved how Remus encouraged her to do her best, but agreed that sometimes parents (especially pureblood) parents seem to have a large amount of say over what happens to their children. I'm glad that Remus is finally making a move, even if it was interupted. I loved the line about everything feeling natural and like it was meant to be. Speaking of interuptions, Sirius is going to be in lot of trouble. Hopefully they can Obliviate everyone and leave. Then as long as Dumbledore doesn't find out, everything will be fine... :) Please update soon.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142075Chapter: 9
Actually, "oh, shit!" was the first thing that came to my mind, too.

I know in reality, they'll get him out of there (or make him be Stubby), but still - not good!

Reviewer: Rincewind the WizzardDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142067Chapter: 9
Oh my god, nobody's ever mentioned me in an Author's Note before! I don't know what to say... Well, I could say that you're an evil, evil woman for making us wait fot the R/T fluff yet AGAIN, but I'm too happy about this chapter to complain too much. :D Keep 'em coming!

Reviewer: mapleandmahoganyDate: 2006-03-31
Reviewid: 141476Chapter: 8
I really like this story. I think you've done such a good job capturing Remus, well, all of them. Remus feeling like a 'gay pirate' LOL I felt sorry for him, but it was so funny. Then seeing him get comfortable with the idea of being the 'cool teacher' - cute! I also really like having Sirius in this, he was such a good character and I've missed him. I hope you stay inspired and keep up with this, I'll be watching for updates.

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141248Chapter: 8
Well, now I know I really like your story... besides the fact that it's wonderful, and nice to see Remus and Sirius having a bit of fun once they've grown up, I couldn't wait to click on the link on the new page... I'm usually pretty patient, and I was really happy to see your story... so keep it up, please! I love it.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141245Chapter: 8
Hmm, this is getting really interesting. I think Tonks would be quite tentative about her feelings, and I liked that about her, that she is just as afraid of Remus rejecting her for being too young, as he is because of his age and being a werewolf. I loved how well you showed Remus's indecision and inner turmoil, since it was so in character. I laughed at how bad the Hobgoblins really were, and Wood's conversation was really interesting. The last line was wonderful, because it displays just how much Remus is totally reeling. I look forward to how this continues.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141240Chapter: 8
I really like this fanfic, just the whole theme. I like how Sirius is finally getting a fun night, and of course, the Remus/Tonks. I've got a morbid feeling that the night will end badly, but I hope I'm just like Remus and paranoid about Sirius.

Reviewer: gijane7702Date: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141229Chapter: 8
“Are you saying that… that she fancies me too?”-- can the man get any thicker?

Nice to see Oliver :)

Great so far!! Update soon!!

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140873Chapter: 1
LOL....can a man really be that hopeless? Geesh!

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-03-10
Reviewid: 140783Chapter: 7
Not sure if it's a good thing or not that you avoid the cliche of the Hobgoblins being a folk band with two bagpipers and a ukelele, but I suppose an accordion's just as good. Tonks and Sirius entirely right her; can't wait for the next update. 'Cool Teacher' is certainly right - Remus is a hoot.,

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140636Chapter: 7
Very funny. I could well imagine Remus's unease at seeing his former students in such a setting, and how surprised they would be. Miss Applewood's flirtation was hilarious, and I could totally see Bill coming to the rescue. I love Remus's musing on how old he is, and how Sirius makes him feel young again. I hope that he can feel that although Tonks is younger then him, she is mature and intelligent, not like some other women her age. Keep writing.

Reviewer: Rincewind the WizzardDate: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140607Chapter: 7
Ok, this is just scary... When I clicked on Latest Fanfiction I was thinking "I wish there was a new chapter of Marauders Redux up today", and then there it was! What makes it really scary is that I'd already checked for new fics a couple of hours ago!

Amazing chapter as usual, this has got to be the funniest R/T fic EVER! Loved Remus's ex-student hitting on him... That actually happened to my music teacher when he took us to a jazz club once! :D I know I'm gushing, but this fic is so great, I can't help myself! You should really post it on Checkmated, they need some high-quality R/T there.

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139777Chapter: 6
I'm totally enjoying this! You're doing really nice characterization of Remus, and you make Tonks quite believable. I'm especially liking how you get right inside of Remus' internal conflicts. And he's gloriously oblivious to the obvious. Tonks is going to have to crack him over the head, for sure!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139614Chapter: 6
I love how you portray Remus's sense of isolation within the group, and Tonks's mild flirting. I loved all his comments about his clothing. Tonks's explanation about older men was very cute and realistic. Well, if there was annoying randy young blokes, I'm sure she would be able to convince them that she wasn't interested. I'm curious to see if Tonks ever really comes out and tells Remus how she feels...

Reviewer: CleindoriDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139077Chapter: 5
"I look...like a middle-aged gay pirate."

"When was the last time you wore a shirt without buttons?"
"I think it must have been...1978."

Hah! Double, triple, quadruple hah. Pure laugh-out-loud awesomeness. Silly Remus...

Eagerly awaiting more. :) Is your snip in the fluff thread from the next chapter? It seems like it...I can't wait!

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139073Chapter: 3
one word for the first part of this chapter.
creepy.
very very CREEPY.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139069Chapter: 5
I like the fact that Tonks is able to convince Remus to indulge his more playful, carefree side. I look forward to how their outing goes, and if Dumbledore finds out about it.

Reviewer: Rincewind the WizzardDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138925Chapter: 4
Great story so far, keep up the good work! I absolutely loved the "she hasn't got any Moony in her 'yet'", it's one of the funniest lines ever.

Reviewer: izythereDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138891Chapter: 4
Yay! Remus story! I loved the prologue, it was excelent, and i cant wait to see the rest of the story.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138888Chapter: 4
This is a very interesting story and so far I've really enjoyed reading it, but I have to say that the argument between Remus and Tonks in this chapter really doesn't work for me.

I'm having trouble with the way Remus backs down. You've written him as rather stubborn and obstinate, but with sort of a soft spot where his friends are concerned. That portrayal works really well and goes along with canon. But when you've got a conflict between the two things - stuborness and concern with safety versus soft spot for his friends - you have to walk a fine line to keep the story realistic yet get him where you want to go.

What I'm getting at is the comment Tonks makes about knowing his weaknesses and winning him over, in the presence of two other people, right in front of him, as if he's not there. I just can't see him doing anything besides completely getting his back up and refusing to go along with it. And then the other comment about Dumbledore? I'm having a really hard time envisioning Remus relenting after those two things combined. Perhaps it's just my interpretation but his actions seem to conflict with his character.

I don't think it's beyond hope - I think perhaps if she made the "weaknesses" comment to Bill and Sirius without him hearing or if she simply asked him straight out if she could talk to him, it might work better. I do think the argument here is absolutely necessary and is an excellent portrayal of their relationship. But I think it would work better if they were on more even ground - Remus is already on the defensive before Tonks says what she does, and her making it worse makes it even less likely (in my eyes) for him to back down.

There's one more way that I think you could make this work, and you'd be able to keep everything in - adding more. More reconciliation and better defense of Remus' eventual assent.

Again, I don't think it *can't* work, and of course there's always the possibility that this is just my interpretation and it works for other people. On some level, it does work for me, even though I'm having trouble with it. But I definitely think it could work much better.

Besides that, your characterization is great, and you set up this chapter very very well. I'm sorry if it feels like I'm harping on about this and I am hoping to see more. :) Nice job.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137526Chapter: 2
Ok, you had me laughing at the "moony in her" line. I was right with Sirius on that one!

Reviewer: ceilidhDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137493Chapter: 1
Hmmmm interesting... This story is really good so far. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137144Chapter: 1
This was great! I like the way you have chosen for Tonks to respond to Remus's denseness. This part is especially good:
>>"You think I'm talking about Hestia?" asked Nymphadora incredulously.

Remus looked at her, baffled. "Well, yes," he said. "You aren't?"

"No, as a matter of fact, I'm not," she said, smugly lifting her chin in the air.<<
That shows us how dense he is and lets us feel the incredulity that Tonks is feeling at how obtuse he is being.
Great work!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137125Chapter: 1
This made me want to hit Remus over the head. haha. I really like it so far.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137117Chapter: 1
And people think that Remus was the 'brains' of the Marauders?!! LOL - good work, and looking forward to the rest of the story.

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137108Chapter: 1
Intriguing...

I always love a good Remus/Tonks story. Please keep up the good work!

Dusty

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137094Chapter: 1
Good start! Poor Remus can be SO dense, can't he?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --