The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: prettypixieDate: 2006-12-09
Reviewid: 146412Chapter: 1
Ohmigoodness! I didn't realize that I had already read this story. That's so weird! Anyway, for some reason I like this story a lot better now than I did before-- weird!

Reviewer: prettypixieDate: 2006-12-09
Reviewid: 146411Chapter: 1
Very, very, good. No suggestions for improvement. Absolutley perfect-- just the way I imagined it.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142377Chapter: 1
I can't tell you how much I love this. I'm in the middle of writing the next chapter of my Neville story, and this was the *perfect* RSI break. So beautifully in character - all of them.

~“Me?” she said, surprised. “I thought Neville fancied…”
Her voice trailed off and Hermione flushed pink again.

Don't know if the filters work on the review site too but I'm going to risk it. SQUEEEEEE! And it takes a lot to make me do that, let me tell you.

I'm going to read "Neville Longbottom - True Gryffindor" next :)

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140133Chapter: 1
Another winner! magicaljules recommended your stories to me and she was right to do so. You have a great knack for expanding on canon without stepping outside likely character behaviour. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139909Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

I love this! I can see Hermione and Ginny squeeing over her invitation to the Ball from Viktor, how sweet. And a completely appropriate moment to give Ginny a "nudge" in the right direction....well right for then. ;)

Another Job Well Done!

~Hez

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138726Chapter: 1
I really like how you wrote Ginny. You really are good at writing from inside a character's head and you really make them sound like they are in the books and they seem real. I don't like Hermione much in the books and you made me like her in the story and I think that really shows how good you are at writing.

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2005-12-31
Reviewid: 137856Chapter: 1
Very Cute.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
CLASS OF 2006!!
Love Emerika

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137464Chapter: 1
Nicely Done

Reviewer: fitzetteDate: 2005-12-18
Reviewid: 137349Chapter: 1
PrettyPixie,

Thanks for your honest review of the story. Let me tell you how I've seen the character development, then maybe you'll see where I'm coming from in this story.

In GOF, Ginny obviously still has feelings for Harry. After he invites Cho to the ball, then tells Ron that he did, Ginny "suddenly stopped smiling" and after Ron suggests that Harry simply go to the ball with Ginny, she "went scarlet" and "looked extremely miserable" when she announced that she was going with Neville.

As far as Ginny and Hermione's relationship, they seem to know things about one another that Harry and Ron do not. Ginny knew Hermione was going to the ball with Krum, and Hermione knew GInny was going with Neville. Hermione knew Ginny had been sneaking the boys brooms out of the broom shed since she was six. Hermione knew Ginny was dating Michael Cornor months before Ron did, and Ginny knew that Hermione kissed Viktor Krum. Hermione also knew quite a bit about the state of Ginny's feelings for Harry. "Ginny used to fancy Harry, but she gave up on him months ago."

I've simply taken the fact that the girls seem to be pretty up to date on one another's romantic involvements and assumed its not outside the realm of posibility that Hermione told Ginny she fancies Ron.

I hope that makes sense to you. Thanks again for the review!

Reviewer: PrettyPixieDate: 2005-12-18
Reviewid: 137341Chapter: 1
Awesome! But Ginny starts acting "herself" around Harry b4 at the Burrow. And are Hermoine and Ginny really that close? I thought Hermoine would never admit her feeling to Ron, to ANYONE not even herself. That's just my opinion. Sorry. But seriously, it's awesome.
btw- I am interested to co-write a story w/ someone. Fitzette, u interested? I like your stlye. IS any1 else interested? Read my stories, and email me or post a review.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137300Chapter: 1
What a great idea for a story! There aren't many Hermione and Ginny friendship stories out there. You showed us a Hermione that we never get to see, and she's in-character, which an amazing accomplishment. Well done!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137255Chapter: 1
Everything is just so very in character! It's really a nice bit of fluff, and everyone loves a nice bit of fluff every once in a while. I especially love your Neville. So adorable! It was so Neville-like for him to assume that Ginny wouldn't say yes. And so Ginny-like for her to say yes anyway.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Dark PrincessDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137251Chapter: 1
Great job. It was short, but it was really nice. You did a wonderful job in keeping everyone in character, and I can definitely see something like this happening in the HP universe. Keep up the good work!

Signed,

Dark Princess

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137215Chapter: 1
Aww...
That was a cute story. And I like how in all of the 'girl talk' conversations that I read between Ginny and Hermione, they mention Ron and Harry without really saying their names.
Keep writing, you have a nice style.
-Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: Elaina RiddleDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137212Chapter: 1
Very nice missing moment.
Well written.=D

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137211Chapter: 1
oh i loved it! i enjoyed the exchange between hermione and ginny. i can see them having that actual conversation. well done!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137186Chapter: 1
Great work! I really enjoyed this. The idea is clever and the execution is first rate. I like the interaction between the two girls. They are in character and it seems to work well for the setting (GoF) even with what we know of these two later.

My favorite bit:
>> “Ginny, he doesn’t even see me.”
Ginny looked over at her best friend, knowing specifics, like names, were unnecessary between them.
“He’s an idiot,” Ginny said.
Hermione flashed her a rueful smile.
“A bit,” she answered. <<

I thought you did a great job with the whys of the story. Why Ginny was willing to go with Neville and why Neville was willing to ask her and why Hermione was the one who gave both of them a reason to choose each other.

Mostly, I love the way the title sets up the explanation for all that. But you never refer to the title. You respect the reader enough to let us get there. Thanks!

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137170Chapter: 1
Hermione and Ginny's chemistry is right on. It's girly, but it isn't excessive-- just enough to make you want to roll your eyes at Ron and Harry :). Cute, bashful Neville is a great touch. Nice work!

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137169Chapter: 1
Frankly,I loved this.Nothing like it before!
Cheers!
MagicDust

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137165Chapter: 1
Hey! I read this fic before -somewhere- and couldn't review it, and now I can and look, I even get to be the first one!
ANYWAYS- aww, me like alot! It's very cute, and both girls are very in character. You've made their friendship believable, it's more than just a my-best-friends-little-sister relationship, and I like that. I like Ginny; it's interesting to see that she sees herself in a worse light then she really is. And the "Ginny he doesn't even see me" line was priceless (and too true), overall, I like the state of Hermione- the uncertanity, the newness of being asked by KRUM. You conveyed that really really well. Excellent dialogue, the piece worked really well with hardly any speaking tags (which is rare).

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --