The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: snowbear96Date: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144205Chapter: 9
I love this fic :-) and am off to read part II

Reviewer: jcranceDate: 2006-05-28
Reviewid: 143081Chapter: 9
I can't wait for more. It is a really great story.

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 142007Chapter: 9
I like this. I was sort of expecting something Mafia-ish with Sirius going around taking revenge with Hippogriff heads and cheesy threats, but this is better. Dumbledore's reactions are very sensible and completely I/C - convinced he knows best, but not actually about to deny what's right in front of him. Sirius is good too, though his bald assertion that he's Harry's guardian was a bit cocky-sounding - is that deliberate? Great stuff anyway, and his maturation is excellent thus far. KUTGW!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-10
Reviewid: 141800Chapter: 9
Really quite a good tale.
You have opened the door; so, where are you going to take us?

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141714Chapter: 9
Well, birgit, I enjoyed reading the Godfather Part I. I can't believe that Harry is forced to live with the Dursleys at Xmas, of all times of the year to send him there. At least Dumbledore sees how much the Dursleys would mistreat him, and it's good that Sirius will raise him.

I can't wait to read Part II! I assume that it will take place years after Part I, maybe when Harry's a little older, perhaps when he's old enough to go to Hogwarts. It'll be interesting to see how Harry's life at school will be different in this AU (especially third year).

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141710Chapter: 9
That's it? Talk about leaving us hanging! I feel so unloved!

Just kidding. ;)

I am very glad that Dumbledore was able to witness how the Dursleys treated Harry right from the beginning; it's another mark of Sirius's maturity that he didn't just Apparate in there and grab Harry from them, although I wouldn't have blamed him if he'd done that. The build up to collecting Harry was extremely good, especially with the constant reminders of the time - that really conveyed Sirius's frustration. My favourite phrase was the description of the lawns as "surgically clean", it gave me such a perfect image of lawns that are so clean they're not really alive.

I'm eagerly waiting for The Godfather Part II. (And I only just realised that you were perhaps making a nod to the film trilogy, because I've never watched it.)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141699Chapter: 9
And I await wholeheartedly the next installment. I like your Potterverse

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141687Chapter: 9
What that's it no it can't end

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141682Chapter: 9
I like this, although I can't really see Dumbledore being swayed over his decision about the ancient magic at the Dursleys. I certainly can't see him going back and tinkering with protective enchantments that haven't worked well enough. But of course, it's not supposed to follow canon and it's pretty engaging.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141680Chapter: 9
Thanks, birgit, for this nice story, I like it very much and I'm looking forward to the second part! I hope you enjoy writing your universe as much as I do reading it.
Sara

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141672Chapter: 9
It just gets better and better--thank you so much for keeping up with the story. When Harry yells "Paddy"--a mixture, I hope, of "Padfoot" and "Daddy"--well my heart just filled and so did my eyes.

Reviewer: EleonorLilyPotterDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141670Chapter: 9
Oh, that was beyond great! It's so....so....so sweet! And you are one of the very few people who seems to create a believable Dumbledore. This story is simply amazing and I can't wait for you to update!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141274Chapter: 8
Oh, wow, I'm really enjoying this! I can't say I'm a huge fan of AU fics, but I really had wanted to read something with Sirius and young Harry. Guess I like AU's better than I thought! Brilliant characterizations, and I can't wait until the next chapter!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141062Chapter: 8
Poor Sirius. What a horrible situation for him; but it's a mark of his love for Harry and his growing maturity that he makes the best of it. The physical description of his shock and the effect of the potion on him was visceral, I really felt for him. I also liked the McGonagall and Pomfrey cameos. Very appropriate.

Still nervous about what's going to happen.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141015Chapter: 7
You Go Baby Harry! I could see the baby deciding that he was not going to lose another parent. The moment had more of a 4400 vibe to the circumstances--but I like the 4400.

Reviewer: hedwig_edwigesDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140877Chapter: 7
Quite a surprise for someone who thought they were safe. But this also means that Neville would have his parents, right? Let's see how much Dumbledore will force Sirius to give up Harry after this.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140751Chapter: 7
Now that Sirius is allowed to raise Harry, I see that Remus can play a bigger role in the infant's life as well. And it's good that Remus has a new job -- I hope he'll be able to keep it.

The Fidelius charm expires, and now Rodolphus Lestrange attacks the young Harry -- oh no! But the baby has already defeated Lord Voldemort, and so fighting Lestrange is easy now, especially with a wand. LOL! It is interesting how much you explore Harry's powers as he grows up now that he has access to magic.

(Speaking of Lestrange, you mention how he is a few years above Sirius as Hogwarts. I know there's been much debate here at the 'Quill about this, with the revealing of the Black Family Tree a month ago, and whether the dates on the tree contradict established facts in canon.)

Overall, excellent job. I look forward to reading the next chapter.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140709Chapter: 7
For one minute there, I really thought you were going to let the Death Eaters take Harry. But I should have known better - Sirius wouldn't let that happen. However, now I'm worried about what Dumbledore will do because of this incident. Great description of Harry's wandless magic, though. Makes me wonder what he did at the Dursleys' house as a baby.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140648Chapter: 7
Okay, I think we've finally hit a chapter that I didn't read at Checkmated.

Wow, Birgit. Go, baby Harry! I had my hands over my face the entire time I was reading the last bit, and I can't wait to see what happens next! See, I can't even write a proper review out with quotes and things!

This is the best AU ever. Just saying. :D

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140640Chapter: 7
My my, little powerful there isn't young Harry.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140258Chapter: 6
Oh, I remember this chapter too. Sirius' breakdown is heartbreaking. He needed it though, I think, to begin to heal. I LOVE that Harry calls Remus Oony! It's so cute and I just adore baby!Harry. :D

I could just picture Harry frowning in concentration with the jigsaw puzzle, and I have a great mental image of Remus smashing into the invisible wall in the fireplace!

I felt just as much relief as the last time I read this when Dumbledore decided it'd be best for Harry to stay with his godfather. I do think it would be different if Harry lived with the Dursleys and Sirius was still a constant presence in his life, but I can't wait to see how both Sirius and Harry continue to grow up together.

Great, great job, dear!

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140128Chapter: 5
Look, it's my favorite AU! :D

Birgit, you're amazing! I love this story more and more! Everything makes so much sense, and it's such a unique way to make Halloween 1981 AU.

>>“I have not seen him yet. I had a call from Arthur Weasley last night. His son has found a rat, and it resembles the picture we’ve got of Peter.”<<

This is great, because you've shown how this event is now different due to your one change in the history of your story. Percy still finds a pet rat, but Wormtail is not able to hide away for years with the Weasleys because he's been identified as the killer.

>>Partly because he wanted to be early, and partly because it was raining, Sirius ran through the grounds to the castle. Harry shrieked with excitement. He didn’t seem to mind the rain at all.<<

Hee! This put a grin on my face! *huggles little Harry*

You always do a great job with the little details, like Sirius feeing Harry but not feeling hungry himself due to his nerves. I just love the way you write. :-)

I love how you depicted Percy, too. I can imagine him feeling proud bringing the rat in for a pet. And then having his father explain to him that it might be a bad wizard and not just a rat (is it weird that I'm thinking of good missing moment fic ideas for your AU? :P) And then seeing him figdeting and then crying into Arthur's robes.

I'm excited to see what role Andromeda and Tonks will play in young Harry's life. :-)

Another wonderful chapter, dear!

Jules

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140114Chapter: 6
This is the most moving chapter so far, partly because Sirius comes to terms with his grief and partly because his grief for Harry's parents is thrown into relief by his sheer love for Harry. You illustrate in a few sentences just how important Harry is to Sirius and how Sirius's joy in his godson manages to keep him from totally going off the rails. Remus was a wonderful, steady presence at the end of the chapter and seems very capable with Harry. It makes me rather sad he wasn't able to get closer when Harry was younger. Harry himself seems such a joyful child, I'm glad he's with Sirius!

Favourite Lines:

"He glanced over at Harry, who was trying to solve his first jigsaw, an entire four pieces." - this made me giggle and coo at the same time ^^;

"Harry had finally managed to put three of the four pieces together, and while he tried to work out how the fourth piece fit in the puzzle, Sirius felt his mood lift. He might have lost his friends, he might be cut off from the world, he might be deprived of almost everything he was used to having, but he still had Harry. Harry was the joy of his life." - people who doubt the love between Harry and Sirius should read this story.

"Sirius carefully put Harry on the floor and tossed some Floo powder in the fire. He stuck his head into the green flames and called, “Remus Lupin’s Flat, London!” He had told Remus numerous times to think of a proper name for his house, but, for some reason, Remus had always refused." - yeah, no fancy names for Remus. It's just his flat. :D

"Then Remus spotted Harry and scooped him up.

“Oony!” Harry said happily.

“It’s Remus, Harry,” Remus said, trying and failing to keep a straight face.

“Oony!” Harry repeated." - hahahaha... XD Baby Harry is just so cute.

"It had been a long time since he had last seen Remus holding Harry. Before, James or Lily had always been nearby. They never let Harry out of their sight for long, even if their best friends were playing with him. Now it was Sirius who always was near Harry, watching him and caring for him, even when his best friend was playing with him." - very poignant; shows that Sirius can actually analyse his emotions if he's given the space.

"The next twenty minutes were spent in silence as Sirius ate his way through the delicious breakfast. But there was a hole inside him, a hole that couldn’t be filled with food. Sirius supposed that it had previously been filled with tears and unwanted sorrow. Now all of that was out, and only the hole was left. Sirius was content with that. The hole meant that he could feel, that he had emotions. It was a memorial to James and Lily." - a beautiful turn of phrase and very appropriate for Sirius to think like that.

Looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140107Chapter: 5
A very moving chapter - Sirius's grief alternately immobilises and propels him and through it all he's trying to care for Harry. Andromeda's letter at the end was a lovely break in the clouds. I'd love to meet her in your story.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139893Chapter: 6
Lovely bit. I can imagine Siruis being all alone, unable to count on his friend, unable to give into grief and anger at Peter. I look forward to the new chapters.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139631Chapter: 4
Wheee! I've got time for a review! :D

>>Sirius only now realised that the Fidelius Charm made it impossible to buy food and other things, as he wouldn’t be noticed by the shopkeepers. He was glad Dumbledore never lost his head, or they would have been without food.<<

Leave it to Birgit to remember the logistics of everything. One of the things I love about your writing is how perfectly everything works together and how you can see it all forming and blending into your overall plot and also JK's overall plot, even in an AU. I'm not sure that makes sense, but what I mean is, you are still going toward the events that we know in canon, but of course significant things are altered because of that one change. You're brilliant. :D

>>He was suddenly reminded of the accidental magic Harry had done during his nightmares.

That’s why Sirius was to be found in his personal library in the late afternoon, Harry beside him, playing with his new toys. Sirius owned about a hundred books, of which approximately thirty were about lycanthrophy and the rest about inventing spells. Accidental magic by young children had always been a source of inspiration for Spell Designers; therefore Sirius owned a couple of books about accidental magic.<<

This passage is important in many ways to your story. It's important to note Sirius' growing maturity due to the tast left to him by his best friend, in that he is already looking out for Harry's best interests with regards to his abilities. Also, I like the idea of Sirius having a library of lycanthrophy books that he'd obviously studied over the years to learn as much as he could about his friend.

As I think I told you when I read this at checkmated, I also love Andromeda's entrance into the story. :-)

I will always compare every AU to this one, because I think it is a perfect example of what an AU should be.

Great job!

Jules

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139582Chapter: 1
Yay! So Sirius is able to raise Harry after all!

I recall back in the 'Quill Story Submissions thread how some new writers wanted to know whether the 'Quill accepts AU's. You responded and told them that they could, but only if they're careful enough not to destroy canon completely. So far, I think this fic is the perfect example of what you mean by how a small change (such as in your prologue) can result in major changes. It appears that because he was the Secret Keeper, Wormtail, found by Percy, will actually be punished in this fic. Yay!

I can't wait to read more, and whenever anyone asks what an AU fic should be, they should just read yours.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-01-21
Reviewid: 138766Chapter: 4
[quote]And after that, he didn’t want to leave Sirius’ arms. Whenever Sirius tried to put him back in bed, Harry would start wailing again. Finally, Sirius managed to rock him to sleep in his arms.[/quote] I want to express my sincere gratitude to you for putting this image in my head!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-01-21
Reviewid: 138763Chapter: 3
Hi birgit! Glad to see that you're writing again!

Well, I know that you are a fan of AU scenarios. You spent much of the time between OotP and HBP writing about what would happen if Mark Evans were really a wizard related to Harry. Now, as I can tell so far from reading your prologue and first two chapters, this AU considers what would happen if Peter had been the secret keeper from the start.

One thing I like so far about this is that you deal with two unanswered questions in canon. One is about the Fidelius Charm and how it works. I've always wondered what would happen if someone who already knows where the Potters live (or for that matter 12 Grimmauld Place) goes right to the house, knowing its location from memory. The other is about the "missing 24 hours" -- you have Harry spend these 24 hours right at Hogwarts. You deal with both of these questions well in this fic.

Judging by this fic's title, it appears to me that as a result of the change you made in the prologue, Sirius will play more of a role in Harry's life here than in canon. Apparently, since Sirius is never the secret keeper in this fic, he is never accused of killing James and Lily and thus is able to raise Harry. I'lll read the next posted chapter when I have time.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-01-20
Reviewid: 138757Chapter: 4
I am really enjoying this 'alternative' history of what might have happened if Harry had been left with Sirius, not Petunia and Vernon. Your story is wonderfully detailed and researched, as usual, and Sirius's growing sense of responsibility is very believable.

Can't wait for the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138719Chapter: 4
What a great start, Birgit! Your writing style is very fluid and enjoyable. I'm enjoying the early parallel you seem to be drawing between Sirius's maturity level in your AU and his maturity level in the actual books.

So, did Sirius actually invent the Quick Quotes Quill?!? I found that inference highly humorous. I shall eagerly await the next installment!

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-01-17
Reviewid: 138669Chapter: 3
Great start I'm going to be very interested to read the rest

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138354Chapter: 3
This is such a great story that goes into the details to make it seem like it was professionally written. It is a (web)page-turner, unfortunately you only have two chapters and a prologue out so far but I will be patient if it means they will all be of the same quality as this one was.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-01-09
Reviewid: 138255Chapter: 3
Good chapter, now I finally know what the slight change is! I just wonder about Dumbledore's explanation: "You must know that Lily protected Harry against the Killing Curse by sacrificing herself for him. Her love is in his very skin. Voldemort cannot understand love; he was unable to touch someone marked by something so good." - How should he know so shortly afterwards, nobody could have told him, couldn't he? Or did he extricate some memory from baby Harry?

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138218Chapter: 2
Oh, this is every bit as wonderful, reading it again! :)

How good Sirius felt to be flying, the sense of loneliness, missing James, the joy to be visiting a friend, even if it was his least fun friend, and the sense of dread, as soon as he realized how very wrong everything was.

Particularly chilling:

>>Ice formed in his stomach, and his brain seemed to want to tell him something, but he didn’t want to hear it. He walked to Peter’s bedroom. No Peter. Sirius stood very still for a moment; then he walked to the wardrobe and opened the door.<<

And what is so beautiful about your AU, is that we're still not sure exactly where Harry will go and what will become of him.

You did a marvelous job with this chapter, dear!

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138142Chapter: 2
Interesting set up here. I'm curious to see where you take it and how this will change Harry from the person we know in the books.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137426Chapter: 1
Birgit, I'm very excited to see The Godfather at the Quill! I promise to be more dedicated in reviewing! You already know how much I love it, but as I get into further chapters that I didn't read on Checkmated, I'll be sure to leave a thorough review.

You really do a brilliant job with Sirius and James in this chapter, and everything is set up perfectly for what is to come.

:D

Jules

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137319Chapter: 1
Birgit! The Godfather! It's HERE!!!

I'm so excited. I had just been thinking that I should read this again, and now I get to read it at the Quill. Checkmated is nice and all, but I prefer the Quill's layout.

Reviewer: aurora330Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137270Chapter: 2
Very interesting start do hope you update again before christmas im very interested to see how this plays out

Reviewer: KizzyDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137265Chapter: 2
o wow....i hope they get to stay together!
more soon please!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --