The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Little Prince
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-07-04
Reviewid: 143945Chapter: 1
Very good - it gave me a shiver, too. ;)

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137796Chapter: 1
Just wanted to say, thank you for a good look into the mind of Tobias Snape, and his reactions as a Muggle dealing with witches and wizards. I think this is a very realistic look at how the pureblood Eileen Price wound up marrying Tobias, as the marriage is certainly not based on any naive notions of romance; Tobias seems to "want a wife" and find Eileen to be the best available woman to fit the "job description", while Eileen seems to be in a situation similar in some ways to Merope; from a pureblood family, yes, but certainly not one as rich and priviledged as the Malfoys, and apparently not exactly an emotionally supportive place to grow up in, either. Her choice seems to be more about escaping her family than choosing Tobias. And yet, although their marriage seems to be quite close to one of convenience rather than affection, it struck me as quite a tragedy when it ended, especially in the light of what happens to Severus (whatever theory you subscribe to about his ultimate loyalties, or lack of them).

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137615Chapter: 1
This reads thrillingly--like a screenplay for *The Twilight Zone.* If the boy's name was other than Severus Snape, the story could find itself a home in a Best Horror or Mystery Short Story Anthology. Bravo. The characters are limned perfectly--especially Tobias Snape. The setting--also perfect. I will put this on my list of 'must re-reads'.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137524Chapter: 1
Wonderful story--as it is what I think did happen--that Eileen didn't tell Tobias until Severus showed his powers. Good story telling and a pretty daring portrayal of Tobias as everyone imagines him as a drunken wife abuser.

Great story....

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137523Chapter: 1
Very well written story! You've taken what little canon we know and extrapolated an entirely believable story. Your descriptions are very well-crafted, as well. I can absolutely see this being exactly what prompted Snape to adopt his moniker. Congratulations on an excellent story.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137460Chapter: 1
Quite Nice

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137452Chapter: 1
Very good! I like your take on Severus's remembered scene, and Tobias is very believable in his attitudes and his role. You can see how Severus is a combination of them, even while Tobias himself can't see it.

Reviewer: ClarimondeDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137446Chapter: 1
Yay! I'm so glad you posted this story to the Quill, as it has always been one of my favorites. You fill in a very plausible backstory for the child Snape and his parents. And the little period details add so much to the story.

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137439Chapter: 1
My goodness, How this fic does really fit in with
book 6. It really does give you an inside look at
Severus as he was growing up and who is Mum and
Dad really were.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137423Chapter: 1
Great story! Very well-written. Moreover, it has a very canonish feel: it fits perfectly with everything we know.

I feel sorry for Tobias, but on the other hand, he's to blame for most of what happened. In any case, I can definitely see where Snape's 'lovely' character comes from: inherited from his parents. He clearly has traits in him of both of them. The story also explains why Snape became a Death Eater, not to mention that you've given a wonderful interpretation to the scene from Snape's childhood we've seen in his memories. It's amazing, really, that you managed to put so many things into such a short story. Well done!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137412Chapter: 1
I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if this turns out to be canon. An excellent explaination as to why Snape is so bitter (both Tobias and Severus), how Tobais and Eileen got together and her background. You cover a lot of ground in a few short scenes.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137408Chapter: 1
This was great. Perfectly plausible, and chilling.

Great job.

Jules

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137383Chapter: 1
What a good story! I always assumed Snape was the pureblood side, this is an interesting twist. It's odd to think of Snape as so lovingly attached to anyone, even his mother, but your description of his father acts as a very plausible reason for his behavior evident in the books. I really enjoyed this.

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137382Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this piece! I've never come across a story written from this perspective, and it was interesting to see the motivations you gave to Tobias Snape for his actions. It's clear that you've thought this through, instead of just throwing something out there without real preparation or understanding.

And the last lines: "A shiver ran through her. She didn't know why." Excellent, really excellent. Certainly made me shiver!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --