The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-17
Reviewid: 145375Chapter: 1
And the 2nd chapter will be posted in 2107?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-11
Reviewid: 145289Chapter: 1
And chapter two is ?????

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143165Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so lovely and sweet! I love the interaction between the twins and Molly and their utter shame at singing their silly song for their mother. You've captured the essence of the Weasley family perfectly.

:-)

JK

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-01-14
Reviewid: 138522Chapter: 1
Thank you, my dear kindred. You're so sweet to dedicate this to me.

You already know how much I love it. I'm sorey it took me so long to say so Officially. I've never been more proud to have something dedicated to me.

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138073Chapter: 1
Oh, oh, oh. Do you know this is the first SQ fic I have read in ages? What was I waiting for? It's not like I don't know you're a brilliant author, and this may very well be my favorite of the series. I had a very emotional day with my 5-year-old and the elephant slippers made me cry, just like Molly. Not just the anecdote, but the way you crafted it with your own details. It is so real, so warm, not a false note in sight. I loved F&G being at loose ends, then coming up with their song. Molly was perfect. It was all perfect. Thank you!

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2006-01-05
Reviewid: 138043Chapter: 1
Finally I read this...I'm so sorry it took me so long to get over here, but what a treat this story is now that I am.

You get better with each story. You have such ease with all the Weasleys, but especially F & G and your Molly here is just perfect. Sentimental but easily brought to laughing and just hitting that perfect balance at the end with the elephant slippers on the mantle.

So many lovely touches, Charlie's keepsakes, the slipper story, F & G's awkwarness...I loved this. I love to re-read my favorite holiday stories again next year and this will be high on my list.

*hugs* for a beautiful story!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2006-01-04
Reviewid: 137984Chapter: 1
I just want to drop by to let you know that I really, really like this story! It's a heartwarming slice of family life. I can feel the thread of Molly's hopefulness running through it. The twins are funny, as they should be, but I also get the sense that their humor is bearing along with it a need to help and protect their mother. 'Funny' is just...maybe the only way the know how to express themselves? But you do portray a sense of something deeper in the twins, here, and I love that.

I really get a "three-dimensional" feel from this: I feel that I know Molly and Charlie and Fred and George all better: their pasts as well as what's in their hearts. I think you've done a great job of it: thanks for letting me be in on it, pre-posting.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2006-01-01
Reviewid: 137871Chapter: 1
Oh, this is such an awesome Christmasy story! There's so little Charlie in canon that it's tough to tell what he's like, and you've made him so believable. I can just see little Charlie under the kitchen table. And Fred and George are, as always, totally in character and lovely. I love the way they simultaneously want to cheer Molly up, want to act awkward to preserve their reputations as jokers, and really are awkward. This is such a great story!

Reviewer: StubefiedDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137721Chapter: 1
I was just telling Remus Lupin about this when I realized I'd fallen asleep instead of reviewing! The elephant feet were very cute. We wish you a merry christmas!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-12-26
Reviewid: 137678Chapter: 1
I have a confession. I have the tendancy to have a short attention span. Therefore, two lines into the story I forgot that this was a Friendly Twin Advice fic. I didn't remember it until halfway through, and I only remembered that because it is like your writing style. So, since I didn't remember, that means that the story's concept of Fred and George cheering Molly up at Christmas feels very natural, and not like you were forcing it in a given format.

Of course, I loved the fic, especially the story about Charlie's elephant feet, or how Fred and George would make him crack up so he'd let them wear the elephant feet. And Molly trying to get rid of them after they went pun happy. Great fic, especially Christmas fic all around.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137632Chapter: 1
Great story! I felt like reading Christmas stories today (how come, I wonder?) so I couldn't resist when I saw your story on the latest fan fics list. And it's very great. Your characterisation of the twins as well as Molly is just perfect. You have a knack for making this funny (as it should, with Fred and George in it) and serious and lovely at the same time. I really think you did everything perfectly in this story. Well done!

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137620Chapter: 1
Oh, that was wonderful, Genesse! I feel all...Christmas-y. I had to stop reading when Fred and George did their 'routine' because...well...it was just the funniest visual. And then the puns! Ah...

You make me smile. Your Molly makes me smile. Your Fred and George make me smile. So, you get the smile-y award for Christmas, I must say. Thanks for brightening my day!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137617Chapter: 1
I'm a horrible person, I know, because I never helped you in the pre-beta stage. :blush: I shall make up for it now by leaving you a lovely review.

I love Charlie's elephant feet. I love that Molly had kept them for so long. I love that Molly and Arthur never made Charlie share them with anyone else. I love that the twins are clearly uncomfortable with the idea of having to cheer Molly up, but they do it anyway. And I love you!!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137614Chapter: 1
Awww, thanks for making Kris Kringles of my two favorite Weasleys. I can just see them bouncing up and down singing "We wish..." And the portrait of Charlie as a little boy is dead on.

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137539Chapter: 1
I love the descriptions you have of Charlie's keepsakes -- you really paint a picture beatifully. This line in particular caught my attention, "...and tatty Wizarding toys whose heads tried to turn away from the sudden light but didnít succeed, because the charms on them had nearly all worn off."

The idea of old charms wearing off is so cool... It makes me think of old fairy tales or the book "The Indian in the Cupboard" and both of THOSE remind me of the "magic" of childhood toys.

I love the Weasleys, but your stories of them make me love them even more.

Reviewer: witchy-witchDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137512Chapter: 1
that was really good! It was funny and touching at the same time! Do you have friendly twin advice for he whole family? i'd love to see the rest...I especially *adored* the bot of Percy being a fussy baby, and the words little Ginny. It was really, er, homemade...anyways, keep it up :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137508Chapter: 1
This was so sweet! I have never eaten a figgy pudding, but I'm assuming that it's sweet and warm and sticky-in-a-good-way and comfortable, which is exactly how I felt this story was like.

I loved everything about it - Charlie's keepsakes described in loving detail, Molly's memories of the Weasley kids as, well, kids :-p, and the twins' moments with their mother. Very well done!

Reviewer: kelleypenDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137503Chapter: 1
This was very sweet. And even though Charlie was never present in person, he was there all through this chapter. Sigh, I really like Charlie.

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137484Chapter: 1
Eeee! So cute!! I absolutely ADORE your rendition of the twins. You give them such depth it's amazing. And you make me squee without even being close to fluff! Now there is an accomplishment if I ever saw one ;)

Reviewer: animaserenaDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137479Chapter: 1
I love this story to bits!
Gotta love the twins!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --