The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Most Charming Smile
Review(s): 53

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143754Chapter: 1
It’s soooo great that although you are writing within another author’s world, you still give it your own personal style. Your writing is full of so many delicious little details. I could go on for pages. In fact, I think I will.

**’While tall, dark strangers...(See page 24 for more on approaching TALL, DARK INTROVERTS.)** ~ Wonderful! This sounds just like one of those magazines but with such a delightful magical touch

**She wondered momentarily if perhaps Harry Potter had dated Ginny Weasley without her knowing about it.** ~ Naaaah. I’m sure she’s nothing to worry about, Romilda ;)

**‘I ran to the loos … fix my hair after the A.M.R.S. left.** ~ZOMG, funny

**the Gorgeous One.**~ I about peed my pants when I read this. What an appropriate and believable code name.

**How hypocritical and ridiculous could one get? The girl had no shame.** ~ I love these little Romilda thoughts. It gives the reader such a great view of how oblivious she really is

**Not Marcus Dyakov, if that’s what you’re thinking! Marcus Belby.” She said it as though it were obvious.** ~ Ha! At first I thought Erin was dating Marcus Flint and I was like: Whoa there! Isn’t he a lot older? Creepy!

**Harry and his cool entourage**~ When I read this I imagined them all getting out of a limo wearing lots of bling.

**Most Charming Smile Award...Viktor Krum** ~ HAHAHA Victor Krum! Hahahaha!

**When she finally took a good look at all the faces around her...during her time of Marcus-strife.**~ Such a telling passage. I love the Audrey character. She obviously possesses those trademark Slytherin qualities and yet she isn’t evil, and is, in fact, a caring friend. Besides, its great to finally see a Slytherin that doesn’t hate Harry!

**"Oh. You know.” Audrey sat down at the table like she owned it. “It’s all about empowerment.”** ~See! Still sooooo Slytherin

**She wondered if Harry Potter had noticed her chin and been repulsed by it… Romilda inspected her chin in her tiny mirror.** ~ Again, getting weird looks from those around me as I giggle reading this

**The death toll for an attack...The news was so boring.** ~ ROFling

**One of the traditions of their friendship was for the two girls whose houses weren’t playing to flip a Sickle to see which house they would support.** ~Nice. Nice. Again, such beautiful little details.

Sorry this was so long but I loved it. You are a talented writer. I can’t wait for more!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143720Chapter: 1
*laughs* I think this is a wonderful start. I love your characterisation of Romilda and her Charms Club friends as like the silly flirts we all knew in high school, magazine-obsessed and boy-crazy. I love the self-aware way you write, knowing Romilda is being silly and not afraid to show that. Good work.

:-)

JK

Reviewer: HedwigDate: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143690Chapter: 4
Great story. I enjoyed it and hope you will update.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2006-06-24
Reviewid: 143673Chapter: 1
You really capture Romilda and her friends very well, their inner insecurity and outward cool. :-)

Just one question: how on earth did Krum end up as a candidate fot "Most capivating smile? "Most captivating scowl", perhaps. :-P

Reviewer: gryffindorgirl72000Date: 2006-06-24
Reviewid: 143660Chapter: 4
HI! I'm really enjoying your story! Keep updating! I can't wait to see her reaction to Luna and Ginny!

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143631Chapter: 4
Wheeha!!! When I saw the update, I started floating out of joy.

That was once again nice done. Especially the way you describe how status is determind by the way of how and if you talk with certain people. Dear Romilda knows quite well, who´s alpha and who´s omega and where she stands. I love how you bring Lavender and Parvate in. It was hilarious to see how Romilda was squirming with jealousy when she thought Lavlav was after Harry and yet she had to stay civil if she wanted to climb up some social stairs.

Ah, poor Harry. He has no idea how the whole game is played and it is so funny to see him interact without the knowledge of the rules. Keep on with the good work. I´m always waiting for an update.

Cheers, Lady Tehanu

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143603Chapter: 4
Brilliant. I love alternate POV fics, and you've picked an immensely entertaining pair of eyes to view things through. I like Romilda, I actually find myself *liking* her. She used to be shallow and vain and irritating when I read HBP, but now she's shallow and vain and irritating *in a sweet sort of way*.

I love this fic, and I will be recommending it all over the place!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143601Chapter: 4
Oh, poor Romilda. I almost feel sorry for her.

Great chapter, Hazelle! Update, update, update!!

-Angie!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143591Chapter: 4
A world where Lavender Brown reigns supreme - a scary place, far scarier than one in the shadow of Voldemort in a way! I can see now that I totally failed at being a teenage girl.

TDU

Reviewer: wanderlust26Date: 2006-06-16
Reviewid: 143462Chapter: 1
This is the first Romilda Vane story I've ever read, and what can I say but GOOD JOB! She's not a very likeable character, but *coughsImabitlikehercoughs*. I'm a total fangirl! Keep it up, and will wait for more. :)

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-05-30
Reviewid: 143120Chapter: 1
Wuhu! An update. I was seriously worried if you would continue.

Great piece again. I liked your comparison with Harry and Devil´s Snare and the way how ignorant these girls are about the attack. It somehow fits for them, as their world is spinning around other interests.

I also liked how you put in the strory of Erin. These girls are friends after all, even if they beat and bite each other occasionlly. That piece with the feature test was hilarious. I would never have thought about Romilda being embarrassed by her chin. The way you present it in your story also shows her as self-conscious for the very first time. Good character exploration to think of this.

Please keep on with this. It´s so funny to see her stalking after Harry ;-)

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2006-05-29
Reviewid: 143107Chapter: 3
Yay! An update! I actually squealed when I saw it on the updated fics list :P I really enjoyed this chapter. Your version of Romilda is so much fun to read. She's actually a very likable character! I'm looking forward to the next installment :)

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-05-24
Reviewid: 143009Chapter: 3
I was SO happy when I saw you'd done another chapter! I squealed! Actually!

I love the way you write, and the world of Romilda Vane is such a NICE break from all the heavy stuff one can find on this site. You're doing really well, keep it up!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-23
Reviewid: 142992Chapter: 3
Hazelle, girl!! I'm so glad you updated!

Ha, I really DID recognise bits of diolouge out of ATFFS. Georgia and Co really do remind me of Romilda, etc.

Write more!!

-Angie

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-05-23
Reviewid: 142989Chapter: 3
I laughed about the line about Harry and Devil's Snare, and not being in Gladrags, that's so true. Rating each other on attributes seems to be in character for the highly competitive world of teenage girls, though I do like how they all rally around Erin. It was somewhat distrubing that they weren't as distrubed by the Katie Bell attack as they probably should be. Keep writing.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-05-23
Reviewid: 142984Chapter: 3
Ooooh, I was so delighted to see this updated! This is far too good to be abandoned!
I think you've hit a really true scenario - even with Voldemort wreaking havoc left and right outside, Romilda and co. are just happily oblivious. You've managed to work the Katie scene in well too, sticking to canon without detracting from the light, frivolous side of Romilda's actions and personality.
If I were to chart this story the way Audrey's game went ... 11, of course! :)
I think the html malfunctioned, though, because all the quotation marks came out as 'ò's :(

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140396Chapter: 2
You've got Romilda down pat. While on the one hand that this is how Romilda is like and how the Hogwarts social scene is, it further illustrates how out of it Harry really is in that he doesn't get what goes on in probably almost ever school. In the first chapter I had to think for a minute when you had that "The irony was not lost on her" when she saw that the bottom was Neville's. I thought that she wasn't being completely shallow and had realized that Luna and Neville were Harry's friends that had helped him. But alas, no. Very nice double entendre though.

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-02-26
Reviewid: 140301Chapter: 2
I like your story very much. It´s interesting to see Harry out of the view of somebody else who doesn´t know him very much. It´s like meeting him on a street.
Your choice of doing it out of Romilda Vane´s view add a very humoristic note I REALLY enjoy. It gives you an impression of those people at Hogwarts who still live in their own little, behuddled world. It also shows how these people think about persons like Neville or Luna and it´s make your story even more realistic that you put your focus on these interrelationships, too.

Please keep on with that and please, PLEASE don´t stop writing. I´m waiting for more. I know it will be fun :-)

Reviewer: ValaDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140270Chapter: 1
Awesome chapter! You did very well with the little we know about Romilda's background and made it fit her character very well. The conceited mother and her pride for her own openmindedness and her reason to join the charms club fit very well with what we know about her from canon. I had to laugh at her trying to wrap her head around Harry staying with his friends. So typical of girls reading more into guys than what they are actually saying ;) I'll get to the next chapter on my next study break, but I just wanted to say good job!

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140108Chapter: 2
Alkari asked me to check this out, and I'm really glad she did! I was grinning the whole time I read it! Don't we all remember the Romildas from our own school days... No, I wasn't one myself, I was one of the Horsey Girls :-P

And I love the way you show how the Hogwarts gossip functions. The place must be seething, only Harry obviously is one of the few not involved...

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140100Chapter: 2
I'm hooked! I never would have dreamed that I would read a Romilda Vane fanfic, let alone like one. Thank you for changing my mind :) This is such an original, fresh story, and I am looking forward for the next installment. Nice job!

Reviewer: SillyGillieDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140082Chapter: 1
Awesome job! I love seeing things from others points of view.

Reviewer: JayyDate: 2006-02-19
Reviewid: 140060Chapter: 2
Oh, I love this. The magazine articles were great. I really can see them as teen magazine articles in their world. I am goingto be waiting impatiently for the next chapter.

Jayy

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-19
Reviewid: 140056Chapter: 2
This is getting better and better! It's so...like...perfect! You've really captured a wonderful voice for Romilda. I shall look for the updates eagerly!

Reviewer: Frivolous PinkDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140015Chapter: 2
What a great idea for a fanfic! Everybody wants to read fanfic about fangirls, because if we actually went to Hogwarts we probably would be obsessed with Harry.
I love Romilda's "unique understanding" of Harry. Very cute.

Reviewer: bribitribbitDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 139998Chapter: 2
I love this fic so much! I love Romilda, shallow as she is; and I really like the relationship between Romilda and Audrey--so remniscient of eighth grade (which was when I was fourteen)! The Fan Club is great, and the Charms Club thing too. Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Love,
Brittney

Reviewer: Amick_WoodsDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 139981Chapter: 2
I love that you chose to explore Romilda's character! Really a neat point of view on HBP, thanks!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139968Chapter: 1
"The initial week of school had always felt to Romilda like one big social event-- the kind of obligatory event where one must smile a lot, say “Hello, how are you?” to everyone, and appear to be perfectly comfortable and in the swing of things. In reality, the first week of school was a perfect nightmare of really bad haircuts, failed trends, and reprimands for tardiness."

"Double unfair! Not only did The Gorgeous Green-Eyed One not need a love potion, he would probably waste it on some undeserving, soppy-eyed girl."

Thank you for a hilariously frightening - or should that be frighteningly hilarious?! - look at the Innner World of the Trendy Teenage Witch at Hogwarts. Poor Harry! Perhaps battling Voldemort was less frightening than dealing with these littel monsters.

"It wasn’t even six in the morning yet, tryouts were hours away, and Romilda felt oddly relaxed among the frantic girls around her. Some were groggy and puffy-eyed, but most of them seemed not to have slept at all and Romilda nearly despaired over the bags under so many otherwise lovely eyes." That is priceless: never mind if you can actually play Quidditch, you just have to be able to dazzle the Captain!

I really look forward to more of Romilda and her friends.

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139965Chapter: 2
Oh, good work! I'm so impressed that you can write from Romilda's point of view - you give her a hilarious, not-so-nice personality and yet make her the protagonist. *Such* a good image of those catty teenage girls in too much makeup. I love it.

Reviewer: AureliaDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139947Chapter: 2
I like this story a lot. It's very cute and it really does seem like the quacky stuff that would be going on in Romilda's head. She's like one of those freshman girls who thinks every senior guy loves her.

Reviewer: h2oDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139933Chapter: 2
Haha, off to a great start! Even if this is the first Romilda story I've read (And I hope it won't be the last!) I think I can safely say that you've got her pretty much spot on :) Her delusional thoughts about Harry are hilarious and she's just so... so Romilda! Can't wait til' the next chapter ;)

//Kev

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139929Chapter: 2
What a great story. I love the female adolescent angst - makes me wonder how we all lived through it!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139926Chapter: 2
It sounds like Romilda is a fourth year version of Lavender. But I don't think she's going to be that sucessful at getting Harry's attention, since he will probably dislike it. I wonder how she gets the love potion into the chocolate...

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139925Chapter: 2
This is a very scary fic, but a great read. Are teen girls really like that?

Reviewer: shminkDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139924Chapter: 2
I'm loving this story; it's so funny and frighteningly realistic! This line made me laugh: "These mainly depicted Harry Potter doing regular, everyday activities that would’ve been unremarkable except for the fact that it was Harry Potter doing them." Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: CamryDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139912Chapter: 1
This is a really fun read, and pretty original, too. I haven't seen any other chaptered fics from Romilda's point of view. I like the way you write the characters-- they seem consistent with canon. Looking forward to your next chapter!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139911Chapter: 2
I was so happy to see this updated. Another hilarious chapter! Romilda's disdain for Coote and her social climbing joy at talking to Lavender were very funny. How hierarcical teenage society is! Especially for teenage girls. I loved the group event that was preparing for Quidditch trials, and the sudden hush when they began to think about actually flying :). And the translation of Lucky potion into love potion was just typical. And imagine all those girls hoping he'd use it on them *rolls eyes*. The cluelessness of teenage girldom is captured beautifully along with the bitchiness and moments of almost endearing camraderie. I'll be looking out for more!

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139910Chapter: 2
This is really good! I'm glad I clicked on it. Your Romilda is foolish and silly, but not cruel or pathetic ~ very nicely done. Looking forward to more of this.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139906Chapter: 2
A very amusing insight into the head of a minor character! I enjoyed this very much, and I'll be waiting for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Harriet WimseyDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139905Chapter: 2
I'm so glad I decided to click on this! I'm about as different as possible from Romilda, but I'm really enjoying reading about her.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138718Chapter: 1
This is hilarious! I loved Romilda analysing Harry's four and a half words and her envy over the new magazine... it was very teenage girlish and in an odd way kind of endearing. This was wonderfully well written, very in character all through. Will there be more?

Reviewer: Fab4mumDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138080Chapter: 1
Oooh! I love stories-behind-the-stories! This one is starting off really well. It's not easy getting inside a character's head, and you're doing a great job. "She had always wanted to say that." Nice! Bring on Chapter 2! (please!)

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2006-01-05
Reviewid: 138057Chapter: 1
I like how this turns the last book upside down. Nobody writes about Romilda. Please keep writing.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137978Chapter: 1
I love it so far.
Romilda and her friends are indeed diverse, and just how you would imagine them.
I like your style alot.
Keep writing, I'm waiting for the next chapter!
Nice one,
Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: CeilidhDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137955Chapter: 1
" 'They’re friends of mine.' What had he been trying to say?"

That totally cracked me up, as did the last two lines as well. Great job, i can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137944Chapter: 1
“So when I call you a magazine Nazi, I mean that you’re oppressing us all with your miserly magazine sharing.”

*dies* Help! Help! I'm being oppressed! I love this story, it's very creative and very bold of you to write from Romilda's POV, she's so perfectly catty and teenage girl. The girl and her friends you *don't* want to run into by yourself in the restroom. Also the details in this are awesome, very witty (my favorite being "Young and Magical" That brings back memories! Perhaps Romilda should submit her train car incident to the most embarassing moments column!)

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137925Chapter: 1
It's so unabashedly fangurlish! I love it! Your Romilda is really just perfect. :) I'm quite interested to see the rest of this.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137923Chapter: 1
“‘While tall, dark strangers are shown to be six times as sexy as your average wizard, they are not nearly as approachable.’”

“Possibly because tall, dark strangers are about six times more likely to kill you these days,” grumbled Erin.

Ha ha! I laughed out loud. I like the sense of humor here, including the magazine stuff. (I used to be addicted to teen magazines, ESPECIALLY the quizzes, I'd even do the ones that didn't apply just because they were fun. Oh, I do hope you'll do a Witch Weekly quiz...) Romilda Vane is believable, likeable but still quite flawed.

Reviewer: FugDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137911Chapter: 1
I love it! Rarely do I read stories and literally laugh out loud. This perfectly expanded upon the girly girl that is Romilda. Am very very excited to read the next chapter!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137910Chapter: 1
Oh, this looks like it'll be a lot of fun. You're doing an excellent job of capturing that high school cattiness of the self-proclaimed "popular group."

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137908Chapter: 1
This was fun. I'll be interested to read the next installment. Good job!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137904Chapter: 1
What a hoot! You certainly captured the spirit of teenage girls overwrought with hormones! I'll be looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137902Chapter: 1
Eeeeeee! Romilda fic! I love you. :)

This is wonderful - I adore how you've turned her into a character of her own, a really great one. And her club, and her friends - so wonderful. It's always great seeing another side to Hogwarts than Harry's.

Can't *wait* to see more. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --