The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: veritasDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138698Chapter: 1
It's a nice story, but a few last chapters seem awfully familiar to me. I remember reading a book by an author named Eric Helm. "The Remnant" I think it was called. It seems that many things were taken from there. I think you should credit the autor somewhere for the use of his ideas or something.

Reviewer: SerendipityDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130872Chapter: 2
It was a very good story so far, but I am a little bit confuzed in parts. I still do not know how old they are, but are they all out of Hogwarts?It seems to be that way, but Ginny keeps getting the underage notices, yet shes working and living alone.Odd.But Otherwise good, not like Rowling writes though. Still good!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117827Chapter: 4
Is the name Prof. Radcliffe any sort of take of from the movies? From Daniel Radcliffe? Just wondering, excellent story so far.

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110497Chapter: 10
I must say, this kept me interested, and I am very glad I read it, very unique! Good Job!

Reviewer: AlzheimerDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108261Chapter: 1
Nice story

Reviewer: BunniDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89058Chapter: 1
Did you get this story's title from the opera 'The Pirate of Penzance'? Answer by email.

Reviewer: AnandiniDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87540Chapter: 8
I'm sorry but you are mistaken about Hinduism. The three Gods you mention ARE in fact a holy trinity to us Hindus, and they are merely aspects of ONE supreme Lord. All the multiple Gods and Goddesses are considered aspects of this One Supreme Lord. Please feel free to contact me if you need additional information about Hinduism, or take care to research it more fully.

Reviewer: absolutely gluedDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81413Chapter: 10
dear penpusher,
this is my 2nd reveew. i kinda afraid this is not so good as the first one. my momma heped me when i writed that. all those clever words were hers, but iwant 2 write u agian 2 tell u that u are ur very smart.all words u and jk use many i not understand.even thuogh i in 8 grade . as momma says i very worship u.worship is avery fancy word 4 me . now momma talk 2 u do u like name she gives me?
dear penpusher,
my daughter was extremely inspired by

Reviewer: absolutely gluedDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81412Chapter: 10
that wuz totally awesome i mean mere words cannot express my apreciation.........i fond this story whut? an hr or 2 ago an absolutely luved it!! duh fact that i finished duh whole fic in 1 go shows how much i like it. ihate 2 say this but........u r better than j.k!! i've always looked for someone better than her 2 b my role model. so now u r. thanks for inspiring me to a dumb kid who gets F's like me . i totally worship u in my school kids treat me like a total doormat and servant and i hate it.but i'd give anything 2 be ur slave .i think ur sooooooooooo smart. again, i repeat i worship u u r my role model.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72891Chapter: 10
What should I say? It's... odd! Very odd!

This story is humourous in the right places, tense everywhere, written in a pretty good style. It's concluded and consistent. It's H/G and R/H. It's such a nice usage of all the characters.

But it's somehow not Harry Potter.

I've been thrilled to read it, it's 4:35AM and I'm not in the least tired. I've made the mistake to read the comments on it first (wanted to find out about the quality) and catched a spoiler about Hermione. But it's a really really good story in its very own right. But it somehow doesn't fit with the spirit of the book, somehow. I can't describe it. It's not what I'd expect from fan fiction.

Ok, but you need to go through it again anyway. Chapter 2 contains two beta comments that were not implemented. Chapter 4 or 5 contains a spelling error, and there's a misplaced comma somewhere later. I'm sure I've missed some errors in the parts that get more tense.
The repairing spell is "Reparo", not "Reparareo" or whatever you used in the David/Ginny breakup. Memory spells don't have any visible effects either, though it's very nicely described and puts a certain flair on the scene.

But anyway, if you'd add more descriptive detail to everything, it would be the size of the book and it would be a very good one.
Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Date: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62712Chapter: 2
“A Most Ingenious Paradox” very Pirates of Penzance! ;)

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45223Chapter: 10
Interesting! This is a really cool story! I think it was the title that drew me in tho- Another Gilbert and Sullivan fan! :)

Reviewer: TiffanyDate: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44798Chapter: 1
I must say i usually don't write reviews, but you certainly deserve more than you have recieved for this story - I was just going to read a chapter before bed, but I had to finish it and it is now 4:30 am. A very well-written story with enough intrigue that I can't always predict what exactly is going to happen, and that is the hallmark of a good story! (I did know you couldn't have killed off hermione ;)) A good story, and I hope more people are lucky enough to find and read it. Keep writing!

Reviewer: firewhiskeyDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44554Chapter: 10
oh wow. that was just wonderful. everything was so intricate and on point. i can't wait to read the sequel!

Reviewer: MaelokDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44476Chapter: 1
Very good story. Surprised by the few reviews you have had. Looking forward to reading the sequels.

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22275Chapter: 1
Love the story, but please change way you write dialogue. It is quite confusing when you refer to the other person who is not talking. For example, if Ron is talking- "Look!" Hermione sighed.
It breaks up the story as the reader has to sometimes backtrack to figure out who is speaking. You should start a new paragraph if you want to write that Hermione sighed.
Thanks!

Reviewer: AlighieriDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21368Chapter: 10
Outstanding fic. Very creative and plausible portrayal of the characters in their post-Hogwarts years.

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2002-10-03
Reviewid: 5225Chapter: 1
This story was like a really good cup of coffee (and I like coffee a lot.)

The characters were grown up and sensible, the backstory was good (and believable) and the magic kicked butt!

You have a very mature writing style; very proper and dignified, if that makes sense. At times I wondered if English is not your first language because of your precise grammar! No glut of !!!! after something happens, no immature love interests, just good, solid, compelling storytelling.

Your portrayal of an adult Hermione was refreshingly realistic, Harry's sorrow was subtle and well handled, and thank you for not making Ginny a bimbo gigglepuss, like so many other writers tend to do.

My favorite part, though, came right near the beginning of the story: Your description of Colin's hair! It made me want to grab a big handful of it!

I look forward to reading more of your work; I've got "Pricking of my Thumbs" printed and waiting on my nightstand.

Thank you for several hours of good entertainment.

Reviewer: rowanDate: 2002-08-03
Reviewid: 746Chapter: 1
why hasn't anyone reviewed? this is one of the most creative and satisfying fics i have ever read. easily a top 5 fave. i love it, if that helps for anything.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --