The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Simple Decision
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145540Chapter: 1
just finished chapter 33 of the best story ever , and found your note about this story , you are right this fits perfectly

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140812Chapter: 1
AHHH! That was-I will be very honest- THE BEST SIRIUS STORY I HAVe HEARD IN A LONG TIME!Great everything, I can't tell you how sad I was to see there wasn't a second chapter nd I had reached the end of the first!
You MUST continue writing.
Cheers!
*Magic*

Reviewer: cheddartrekDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139779Chapter: 1
Excellent story! I've had a certain fascination for Phineas ever since he was introduced. I like his sarcasm, wit, etc. Though I wish JKR would give us a more concrete idea of the memories/abilities/originality/intelligence etc. of portraits.

I thought the "odd note" in his voice when he realized Sirius was really leaving was a nice touch. I wonder how he felt when he heard that Sirius had betrayed James Potter? If he believed it, etc. He certainly seemed concerned/depressed when he heard of Sirius' death.

Anyway, great story, thanks for writing it, cheers.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-02-02
Reviewid: 139214Chapter: 1
Alkari -

You never cease to amaze me...always finding a different angle for the marauders and their "stories". I imagine the life you depict for Sirius wasn't too far off of the mark, for it always sounds quite horrendous, and their brand of "love" well, it's not only poor people who live through what Sirius lived through. *sigh* Another great piece of work from you! I look forward to more!!!

:wub:

~Hez

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-24
Reviewid: 138853Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I wanted to like Phineas - people tend to categorise Slytherins too quickly. The box is large enough to contain major variations.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138696Chapter: 1
Wonderful, insightful story as always Alkari. I especially enjoy the fact that you established the family connection between Nigellus and Sirius, showing Negellus fondness for Sirius beneath the dissaproval.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138673Chapter: 1
Nicely done! Very in character, very pleasing in the details.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-01-17
Reviewid: 138659Chapter: 1
Poor Sirius! You write him very sympathetically. I'd be interested in your "take" on the Snape-werewolf episode. Thanks for another interesting story.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-17
Reviewid: 138656Chapter: 1
Short, but good.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-01-17
Reviewid: 138636Chapter: 1
Lovely. Sirius is perfectly in character, and I love the little details that imply the presence of a larger world out there - references to escapades, friends, and other conversations with Nigellus.

Reviewer: jynx67Date: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138618Chapter: 1
I love your writing. I love your portrayal of the Marauders. I LOVE your Sirius. This was so wonderful, brilliant, beautiful, and so utterly and completely in character for both Sirius AND Phineas. I have developed quite a fondness for your work and this happens to be one of the best I've read. Thank you!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138615Chapter: 1
Well done! That fits well with how I think canon goes, and also fits well into the history you have made for the Marauders. I was glad to see that you mentioned sheets of music. That was my first thought about what your Sirius values.

I think you did the relationship with Phineas just right. Actions speak louder than words, and despite his rationalization, Phineas' efforts match exactly the sort of lostness his portrait displayed when he hears of Sirius' death in canon.

As always, everything rings true to canon, but shows great attention to detail. I thought you did the bit by bit revelation of the why and how of Sirius' illness very well. Flashback is hard and you make it seem so smooth. Great!

Reviewer: tapestryDate: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138599Chapter: 1
This was a brilliant piece the first time I read it, and it's even better now :) You've done a wonderful job with this! I love your characterization of Sirius and your take on the events that drove him to leave Grimauld place. Phineas comes across as very in character and much the way I imagine him. I hope you'll pick up the proverbial pen and paper again soon to give us more great fics like this one.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138597Chapter: 1
Wow. This is a bit darker than you normally do, I think. I guess I'm used the Sirius with his friends, so to see him at Grimmauld Place sets things up differently. I was especially taken back by the open honesty of what was expected of him. Spot on there. It would be interesting to see the relationship between Phineas and Sirius fleshed out further. You've sparked my interest. Well done.

Reviewer: greenleafDate: 2006-01-15
Reviewid: 138546Chapter: 1
Oh wow... this was brilliant. I've actually just written a ridiculously long, glowing review of it, but the internet swallowed it up. I'll try to recap my main points, though...
Your characterization of Phineas was spot-on and linked just marvellously with what little JK's given us. She's sort of hinted that there might be more to Phineas than meets the eye, and you've done a great job expanding on that. I also really loved your characterization of Sirius here: he's just the right mixture of brash, vulgar (hee!), wounded, and brave. The remark on Regulus was excellent too. I really hope we hear more from him in the next book, he's such an intriguing character; the way you played him was just exactly as I imagined him to be. And the exchange between Sirius and Mrs. Black was very evocative--you simultaneously captured Sirius's rebellious nature, his mother's prejudice, and also how damaging their relationship was to Sirius's psyche. My only complaint is very minor--there was a sentence here and there that was a bit trite (e.g. "...his whole body chilled to the bone.") But that's really all I can think of to whinge about! This was a real gem of a Sirius fic, thanks so much for sharing it with us. And I can't wait to read more of "A Most Unusual Student"! I've been following that one from the very beginning, and I adore what you've done with it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --