The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142726Chapter: 1
This is such a fantastic story.

I've read--and loved--your work before, and I must say, simple as it was, the title and description on this one particularly caught my eye. However, there was so much more than was expected to this story.

I really love how you worked in the references to her first year and such; I admit to being a sucker for little bits of reminiscing like that, scary memories in hindsight or not.

Another thing I loved about that was the way you pinpointed Ginny's feelings about wanting to go and fight in the war, but all the same feeling rejected and juvenile, tying this together with the fantastic tidbit about the dark space under the luggage rack and retrospect in looking back at her first year.

I could go on and on like this.

Anyways, fantastic, beautiful, lovely work.

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142455Chapter: 1
This really feels like it could happen. I like the interaction between Ginny and Harry as she considers sitting in their compartment:

"He knows I could make him change his mind. And that he would despise himself if I did."

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142071Chapter: 1
I clicked on your author's link after reading 99 Red Balloons and I read this. I think I've come across it before (on another site?), but I can't remember if I reviewed it there. Well, once more won't hurt!

You've really got a talent for delving into the characters' heads and making them come alive for us!
It's perfect that Ginny's place is with Luna and Neville. They may be misfits, but they're the true-est of the lot.

Reviewer: LumosDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142019Chapter: 1
This is really, really great. Not overdone, not underdone, but capturing what anyone in Ginny's positions might feel. I like how her weaknesses are all laid out, shamelessly. Well done.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142018Chapter: 1
Oh, I like this a lot. You've really made me feel what Ginny's feeling in the story. And each character was spot on. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Nigella the One-Eyed WitchDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140952Chapter: 1
Hi Seaspray! Returning the favour, as I said I would - thank you so much for reviewing me (twice!). I enjoyed this enormously - it's nicely-written and very interesting, brave and sad and heartwarming all at once! I found it fascinating to accompany Ginny along the train, noting everyone's expressions, conversations and occupations and remembering events from her entire five years at Hogwarts; I love stories which include a lot of canon detail, as this one does. Well done!

I enjoyed Zacharias' reaction to Ginny, of course, and her deciding not to hex him because it was too hot - great fun (for her!). The only thing is, he shouldn't actually have been on the train at all, as he'd already been taken away from Hogwarts by his haughty-looking father, if you remember - but it was definitely too good an opportunity to miss, and I salute you! Looking forward to more of your writing in the future.

Reviewer: DweoDate: 2006-01-27
Reviewid: 138956Chapter: 1
I really liked this. I always wondered how that train ride went and I think this exactly like I imagined. I love you made Ginny, Luna and Neville meet up at the end. It echo's the beginning of HBP with Harry sitting with them.

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2006-01-24
Reviewid: 138849Chapter: 1
Love it, Seaspray! I've never seen any fic from this angle before. So many fics have Ginny trying everything she can to make Harry change his mind without regard that your angle s so refreshing :)
Congrats on your first fic!
~Te Aroha

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2006-01-23
Reviewid: 138828Chapter: 1
I really like this! The feeling of walking around with nowhere to go is a feeling I think a lot of people, myself included, can relate to. And the relief of finally finding that "safe haven" (pardon my cliches) is also a very recognizable feeling. Great story!

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-01-23
Reviewid: 138825Chapter: 1
"Well, she wasn’t among strangers now and she wasn’t frightened. She wasn’t naïve enough to take run and take cover with the first liar who pretended to care about her. She had come so far…"

I think J. K. Rowling herself, if she happened to stumble across this rather lovely one-shot, would appreciate the sentiment in this particular line.

Kudos.

- Ada.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-22
Reviewid: 138805Chapter: 1
Brilliant piece.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2006-01-22
Reviewid: 138791Chapter: 1
I don't know quite what I was expecting when I clicked the link to read this story. But I can tell you that you surpassed any of those expectations. This was so good. I LOVED it. You write beautifully and I can imagine this scene actually happening. Great job! Please keep up the good work.

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2006-01-22
Reviewid: 138787Chapter: 1
Beautiful, poignant story! It brought tears to my eyes!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-01-21
Reviewid: 138777Chapter: 1
Oh, shucks, this is so good, it made me all teary. I do love the misfits--Neville and Luna and Ginny (a misfit in her own family.) hanks for a great sketch.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2006-01-21
Reviewid: 138765Chapter: 1
Very well written and excellantly done. Ginny's voice came through very strongy here. My two favorite parts were when she walked away from Harry and then when it said "she had come so far, so why did she still have no where to go?" Fabulous and poignant. The whole thing.

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-01-20
Reviewid: 138750Chapter: 1
This is so sad! I loved it, though. I think the Ginny-Neville-Luna trio has still got a big part to play.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-01-20
Reviewid: 138735Chapter: 1
You know what I think of your writing. This is just as powerful, accomplished, exciting as anything else I've seen. All I would say is: don't risk getting stuck too much in an angst groove, as you do so much more, even when you are dealing with sad and / or serious content. Lively dialogue, spot-on characterisation - it's all there.

I love the range of this (emotionally, visually, all those people with walk-on parts) - and all in such a short space. There's nothing lazy or underwritten about this at all - and I appreciate it.

The only thing that jarred a tiny bit was Ginny not remembering the existence of Neville and Luna earlier - I agree she's more closely connected to them than that. Looking forward to more (and more) of your stuff.

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138712Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved seeing this side of Ginny. After we were introduced to her more 'popular' side in HBP, I've come across a lot of completely self-confident versions of her. But she's still a teenage girl, and she just had a painful 'break up'. I'm glad you characterized her so well post-funeral, and it was a really nice read. (I'm a complete sucker for Neville and Luna, too! Lovely job at having Ginny interpret their eagerness as a kindness.)

Oh, and great reference-- Days of Destiny. Hee!

Reviewer: CamryDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138694Chapter: 1
I really like this missing moment-- it seems like it could be what really happened. The way you have written Ginny comes across as very like her in canon. Well done! I hope you'll write more.

Reviewer: EllyseDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138690Chapter: 1
I really like this. A lot of post-HBP fics make me cringe a bit, where Ginny is concerned. But this is great. Mature, sad, but determined Ginny.

Thank you.

Reviewer: LamarquiseDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138684Chapter: 1
It's one thing to think of making a principled decision...often entirely another to follow through and endure all the little ennuis that come from it. Well done!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138676Chapter: 1
Ohhh, so poignant. This is really, really nice. I love your accurate characterisations and natural dialogue. Well done!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138671Chapter: 1
Aw, that's cute! :) But I think she was already at that point with Neville and Luna... not to mention other people.

Still, very cute otherwise.

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138670Chapter: 1
That was beautifully written - a lovely insight into what might happen on the train ride away from Hogwarts. I loved the way you portrayed Ginny's character, and her insecurities as she looked for a place...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --