The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2006-09-28
Reviewid: 145515Chapter: 1
Why, that's AMAZING! I was so blown away by this piece--you offer, first of all, such a realistic portrayal of what Ginny might have waiting for her. And I think you really hit Ginny's character straight on-- she's got those two sides to her that you show so well. On the one hand, she's a bit impulsive, and has that need to be active, to hit back against those who hurt her, to feel important. But on the other hand, just like in canon, she's got that understanding side to her--the side that reads people really well, that can see just how some action might affect a person, and what lies behind a person's actions.

You show that so well, here.

But furthermore, just taking it out of the HP realm, you offer a wonderful perspective of what has long been women's role in wars, and how much it must weigh on them, too, while their men are off fighting. But what's interesting here is that Ginny CHOOSES to stay back, in a way, because she knows it's the better choice. She has many options, but she chooses that traditional, pigeonholed position, because it's what her family needs.

But it's not surprising that a character like Ginny would be so fed up with such a position. And I think you ended it perfectly--because while some women (or men) would be able to handle that sitting-back kind of role, and some might even prefer it, it's a horrible choice for Ginny to have to make. ESPECIALLY since she has those alternatives. Will she really stick with it?

You leave it up to us to decide. Thanks.

Reviewer: lemondrops8Date: 2006-08-07
Reviewid: 144664Chapter: 1
great story!

Reviewer: Pink SunflowerDate: 2006-06-18
Reviewid: 143500Chapter: 1
This is a beautifully written piece, it portrays Ginny so well and so nicely. I can imagine it would be exactly what she is going through while the others are away and you've really captured her emotions well.At the same time, it almost sounds as though it's written from personal experience, I'm sure many people have experienced some of the range of emotions that Ginny is feeling.

Reviewer: phoenixtear19Date: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140441Chapter: 1
Wow, amazing job. Very powerful, you defiantely have a great talent for writing, you are able to put meaning behind you words.

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139366Chapter: 1
That was just so awesome that I can't even believe it.

I loved that so much.

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: eienvineDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139341Chapter: 1
Ooh, I really liked that! That was a really interesting look into Ginny's character and what it would be like for her to be left behind. I like your writing style, and the way the story comes full circle with the first and last lines. Great job.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139269Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. Very well written, exactly how Ginny *would* feel. I like her referring to herself as a slug - it reflects her humour very well along with the self disgust she feels. I hope she finds away to fight without hurting Harry and his cause. I think this fic is pretty much perfect in every way!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139103Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139064Chapter: 1
This is very good. I expect its exactly how Ginny would feel. Structurally, I like the pacing and the repetition and the alternation of long and short sentences. I expected perhaps a bit more out of the ending.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139029Chapter: 1
Very good! You can sense the frustration, the desperation that Ginny's feeling. Your story title fits this scenario perfectly. Again, well done!

Reviewer: theleprachaun8mysoxDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139019Chapter: 1
Wow. This story has some powerful emotion in it. You're a very gifted writer.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139017Chapter: 1
Yeah! Very well done! But Ginny's going scare those bloody owls half to death if she goes to the Owlery & screams, you know,,,? :-) But I think you express what would be going on in Ginny's heart & head -- assuming(!) that she chooses to stay behind during her 6th year & that Hogwarts is open -- very well.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-01-29
Reviewid: 139013Chapter: 1
That is so powerful. It's a tearing fic, a breath-taking portrayal of Ginny and the agony of her choices and feelings. You make her situation and reactions very human, and the language is so expressive and emotive that the reader experiences her desperation and sense of confinement. Literally breath-taking.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --