The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Seeds You Plant
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146511Chapter: 1
Ready for More Please.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139318Chapter: 1
Love Neville's ruminations on Trevor the Toad's desire to escape, especially his silent plea: "If you please, dear master, let me go, and frolic in yonder field with the beautiful young frog lasses." (tee hee)

Nice subtle dovetails with other aspects of the Potterverse:
--N's wand being possibly the last one Ollivander sold,
--Luna's blurry evidence of Billycodgers,
--Doris Crockford as autograph hound.

And ooooh, who's the shy little girl with the big brown eyes who waves at our Neville?!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-02-02
Reviewid: 139215Chapter: 1
Hey you two!!!

What a kick ass start to your story!! As a fellow author of characters who are not always appreciated I am enjoying this immensely!!! You've got Neville's voice down pat (along with Luna, too..heehee) along with his motivations and fears. He is such a loveable dude, and I'm so glad you two are taking his story on...only really special people can do him justice...and well you two are doing beautifully!

Keep it up! Can't wait for the next installment!!

:wub:

~Hez

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-02-02
Reviewid: 139201Chapter: 1
"Just seeing Professor Slughorn bring the Ministry of Magic up, putting a look of suppressed grief on Harry’s face, was enough to make Neville want to repay the favor of loyalty that Harry had so often granted him." That Neville through and through! Loyal and brave...he wouldn't have spoken up for anything less :) I love this!

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139100Chapter: 1
I like Neville in your story! He sounds like he would in the books. I like how you made him want to do all the things the people around him do and how he can be brave enough to do them because of someone else hurting. I think that is really what Neville is that kind of person, who doesn't have courage for themselves but for other people. I think you made Ginny sound right, too. I really like your story. I hope you keep writing it.

Reviewer: Mary A. WeasleyDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139070Chapter: 1
Beautiful, you crazy cats. Spot on characterization, and not overdone, as it's so easy to do. I was kind of hoping for some Neville/Luna, but okay. I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139049Chapter: 1
:D You guys are great. I couldn't tell if one of you had written most of the story, so if you guys did do it pretty evenly, great job! It was jerky or cut up at all.

Except for this part <<His eyes seemed to say, "If you please, dear master, let me go, and frolic in yonder field with the beautiful young frog lasses.">> That part was so totally Brib that I laughed out loud.

But this was my favorite part:

<<Hadn’t he? Neville had already gotten a few tastes of treatment like today’s--a memorable one being a random celebrity-obsessed lady named Doris Crockford coming up to him and Gran one day in Madam Malkin’s. She’d begged to have a picture with Neville, and an autograph as well.>> I can just picture Neville sitting there looking bewildered while his Gran is fit to burst with pride.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139036Chapter: 1
Brib and Mystic, I loved this! There are so few fics about Neville, and I love him so much. He's so sweet. I hope you keep updating! :D

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139031Chapter: 1
Ooooh, I love this already! Brilliant characterization, Neville makes me squee loads--overall very cool. Can't wait to see more of this!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139030Chapter: 1
I'm glad to find a 6th year fic from Neville's point of view. He really is one of the nicest characters in the Harry Potter stories. I particularly like how you have written his reflections on Luna: how he does like her but isn't quite comfortable around her. I shall definitely look out for more of this story.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139022Chapter: 1
Aw! You guys! This is adorable and so Neville! :D

*also fangurls Neville*

Y'all did a wonderful job, just as you normally do when you write by yourselves. Yay for Neville! "Because the world really does need more Neville fics."

Also, I really love this:

>>"He’s a right humongous idiot, he is," said Ginny. "And he looks like a walrus. The only reason he’d asked any of us there is because he thought we were special in some way."

"So why’d he ask you?" quipped Ron, and Ginny kicked him.<<

Hee!

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: locked_door998Date: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139020Chapter: 1
Great first chapter!

Slughorn is acting like such an idiot. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-01-30
Reviewid: 139018Chapter: 1
Hey! :) Great start!

Poor Neville; Slughorn had a lot of nerve, rubbing all that in.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --