The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: Stella ThomasDate: 2008-07-13
Reviewid: 150924Chapter: 3
Aw, that's so cute! I love Lavender and Seamus :D

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146492Chapter: 3
More Please.

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-08-12
Reviewid: 144780Chapter: 3
hi! well i think your idera of the story is greay and i really like and all... (I always thought lavender and seamus made a good team up!) but I was wondering if you could put another chapter in... just to se4e how its going to keep on in their relationship... i mean... we know they are both going back to hogwarts and all... but the stra of the term... etc...!
bye... I hope you keep on!!

Pheonix Feathers

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142161Chapter: 3
i loved it, please tell me it didnt end there!!!!
the ending was expectacular... congrats on it

Reviewer: Bottled_starsDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141660Chapter: 3
Hey! I just thought I'd drop a quick line to tell you I'm really liking your story thus far. I think it's interesting to see how you're developing the minor characters of Seamus and Lavender. I hope you keep writing. Update soon!!!! Please!!!

Reviewer: LevitasDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140948Chapter: 3
I really really like this story, and I normally don't read Seamus/Lavendar fics..but this one is very sweet and endearing. :)

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-03-10
Reviewid: 140770Chapter: 3
Although a bit late in reading and reviewing, I continue to enjoy your lovely story.

How sad for Lavender that Parvati was not able to be with her. But so sweet that Seamus was. I love how you write him, especially the part where he comforts her. And I adored the letters and the crossing owls in the end.

Looking forward to your next installment,
Eudora

Reviewer: Ngozi528Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140581Chapter: 3
*excited squeals*

!!!!!!

i think you may just have made me into a Seamus/Lavender shipper! You make these two characters really come alive, very impressive! I am very much anticipating the next installment... don't leave us hanging!

Reviewer: Ngozi528Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140580Chapter: 2
Oh my gosh! This story is giving me chills and I it has actually brought tears to my eyes! I can actually picture this all happening. Great imagery and description! Now, on to the next part! yikes! it should be good!

Reviewer: Ngozi528Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140578Chapter: 1
I love it already! keep it coming!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140435Chapter: 3
~~She knew that life would never be the same so she had better learn how to embrace this change as best as she could. And she needed to talk to her mother straightaway. ~~

This is the Gryffindor in her and part of her new maturity.

~~But, she thought, her mother also told her to always moisturize, too. Grabbing the blue jar she quickly applied a thin layer. ~~

And this is the Lavender we've always loved. :)

I'm glad you told us about the Patil girls (Are they in hiding over the twin's shop? Just wondering)

Your portrait of Lavender's grief was spot on - that must have been hard to write.

And now you have them returning to Hogwarts - excellent. Can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140432Chapter: 3
oh come ONNN!!! that's totally not fair! uuggghhh! how hast do you update??!!?!?! anyways, after this one could please please please pretty please write a Cedric Cho one??? (i have no idea why i've been so into those two lately..) but you're realy, extreamly good at this soo... you know... just a suggestion!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140431Chapter: 2
... why? why? omg! that's so sad, in so little time and... oohhh... it's rly rly rly good. i'm compleatly in love with this, it's nice to get away from our usual four every now and then... keep up the good work

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140413Chapter: 1
This is lovely! I love your exploration of two terribly neglected and often badly represented characters. Thanks for a different point of view.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140407Chapter: 1
Ok, I'm impressed. really really impressed. who knew that you could make those two sound so good to read?!? well, you learn somthing new everyday...

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140404Chapter: 3
Hez, I really like this story! I, too, appreciate the underappreciated characters and wonder about them... I like how you're showing Seamus and Lavender grow -- I can see them maturing before my very eyes. Lavender's slow processing of her relationship with Ron is a great example, and of course, dealing with the death of a parent is the more important, character-shaping event.

I'm looking forward to reading more of what you have in store for these two.

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140397Chapter: 3
Wow, Hez this was like Blam ~ right to the gut with this chapter. How sad and yet real. Can't wait to see what happens next. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140395Chapter: 3
I like that you mentioned Pavarti, since I think her absense will affect Lavender. Seamus is so supportive of her, it was very cute, and I'm glad their relationship is continuing to grow. I look forward to the train ride, and if Seamus will ever tell her how he feels. I also like how you've made Lavender more human in her grief, and her paying attention to her appearance again is a good symbol of her starting to move on.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140394Chapter: 3
I liked Seamus' relationship with his Mam in this. He's growing up enough to see her as not just an adversarial mother who keeps him from doing what he likes, but a woman who's worried about him. I think that transition happens at a certain age.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140393Chapter: 2
Thanks for the roller coaster ride. First you have me laughing at Seamus being such a boy, then have me absolutely in tears alongside his mam, then you whisk us off to blissland, and then, "wham" to the stomach. And I guess that's how it's going to go for them. Nice work, dear.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140392Chapter: 3
Aw. The poor Browns. I know that if one of my family died, I would want a friend to help comfort me. It's sad that Parvati wasn't able to go to the funeral, but it's good that Seamus was able to.
If HRH aren't going back to Hogwarts for their last year, and that Patil Twins won't be going back either, that means that the only Gryffindor 7th years will be Lavender, Seamus, Dean, and Neville. That'll be quite a change from the original Eight.
The Crossing of the Owls was very cute. It's nice that Lavender and Seamus wrote each other about the same things. THink of what their replies will be !
Great chapter!
All the best,
-Ange

Reviewer: hahahaveryfunEDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140391Chapter: 1
Awwww! :D S/L fluff! S/L fluff!!! And the good kind! I love it! So simple, yet very nicely done and satisfactory. I enjoyed it muchly! They are so cute together, I really hope it happens later on in the series! :)

Luv ya! ;)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139966Chapter: 2
Oh no! Poor Lavender! And things were going so well, too. . . Sigh. Yes - she'll need Seamus more than ever - esp. if she doesn't have her girlfriend, either. (I was hoping for some news of the Patil girls)

That waterfall was a cool idea - nice way to introduce some fluff without introducing fluff - if you know what I mean! LOL. I liked Seamus's non-romantic thoughts - bless him.

I see by your description he isn't movie!Seamus either. I think I like your version better. Can't wait to see what's up next for these pseudo-sweethearts. :)

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139958Chapter: 2
Aww! I loved this chapter, but it almost made me cry in the end! And the dream was sweet. Please update soon! :P

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139921Chapter: 1
I've read the first part of this, but some how I've missed all the rest! This is really sweet, Hez!

You know what I'm going to say next, right?

MORE!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139891Chapter: 2
I think I must've been crazy, because I still can't find what it was that I thought I saw. :P

As you know, I love this, and I love you. :D

Thanks again for writing it. *hugs*

Wonderful job on this chapter!

Jules

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139889Chapter: 2
Oh, dear, you've struck again! And now I'm blinking back tears. The romance! The war! The sorrow! The love! The Irish! I'm in awe of it all. I'm really glad you're writing more of this!

And now I believe I've used up my exclamation mark quota. ;) And that's a good thing!

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139888Chapter: 2
Oh you wonderful girl, you! I usually only really read Trio fic, but I just had to check this out and now I'm all schmoopy inside (yes, that's a word.) Lovely, engaging, sweet and totally endearing...just like you!

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139876Chapter: 2
I like your Lavender, she seems like a down to earth, warm-hearted sort of girl, not the flighty piece she's sometimes portrayed as. And Seamus is adorable - he'll look after her, I'm sure.

"With Ron it was all kissing and very little talking, it had bothered her a bit that he wouldn’t talk to her about things."

Oh, that's sad. I love Ron dearly but - as Luna pointed out - he can be a bit of a git sometimes.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139875Chapter: 2
Oh dear. I'm assuming that Lavender's Dad. Yikes.

I liked this chapter very much. Once again you've swept us up in a romance and got us invested in the characters. My only slight criticism is about the pacing. Seamus seems to be already thinking of love, which just hits me as a little fast. Of course, you know what I'm like with romance, so feel free to ignore me!

As a random note, I really like the description of Lavender's owl. A "dove-grey coloured owl" - very cool!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139874Chapter: 1
Neat intro, my dear Hez. Good establishment of the characters' voices (although, I confess, they are slightly different than I personally imagine them in canon, not that that's anything to worry about!) I think you've got the tone spot on. It's a very comforting kind of understated. It feels rather cozy. Excellent start.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139872Chapter: 2
YES! Seamus/ Lavender fluff!

Oh, poor Lav. Alot of people seem to be writing about her dad dying, lately.

Ha, Seamus dreaming and them thinking of Hagrid, etc was hilarious.

Great story, please continue!

-Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139865Chapter: 2
I love the developing relationship between these two, and I think Lavender would be concerned if Pavarati and Padma didn't return to Hogwarts. Her concern for others is something not often seen, and I'm glad you put it in, because it makes her more believable, and shows how much the war is making her more mature. I love your last line, and the fact that Seamus's only thoughts were to help Lavender in her grief.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139717Chapter: 1
You're going to keep this up, right? I'd like to see what happens. :)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: ValaDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139443Chapter: 1
HEZ! You didn't tell me you were working on a new fic. *whines* I LOVE your Seamus! He's funny and sweet at the same time and I adore the Irish accent. Not too overdone, but definitely Irish. I'm glad Lavender is starting to feel better after Ron and doesn't totally hate Hermione.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139320Chapter: 1
Ha ha! Being from the U.S., I don't know if that's really how Seamus would talk, but I love it! But wouldn't it be "*Me* penmanship's crap..."? :-)

And Lavender--we really know so little about this supposedly shallow young lady. I'm glad you're opening up her personality for us. I look forward to more.

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139196Chapter: 1
*hem*moreSeamuspleasethanks*hem*

Which obviously means "Now I know why everyone was talking about this and why didn't I read it sooner?" :D I love you! You're so talented. And now I kind of want to find a Seamus. Too bad no one has an Irish accent around here. Ah, well. I'll just have to get my fix from you!

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139160Chapter: 1
This sounds like a good start to a very, very sweet story. I'm interested in more!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139149Chapter: 1
I've always thought Seamus and Lavender compliment each other well, and we never really find out why they broke up, or if they were even a couple in the first place (did he take her to the Yule Ball only as a friend?) If anyone can help her get over Ron, it would be Seamus, who could probably make her laugh again.

Reviewer: bribitribbitDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139138Chapter: 1
Oooh, Hez, I love it! Seamus is so adorable! And I'm glad you're finally doing what I'm sure nobody has attempted before--give Lavender more of a character than a blonde cheerleader-like person who has interest only in make-up and making Hermione feel stupid. I love Lavender's insecurity, because that is certainly what she must feel, to have gone for Ron so like that. Thanks SO MUCH, and I'm waiting for the next bit!

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139118Chapter: 1
So sweet! We've hardly seen any of Lavender besides her snogging in HBP, and I definately think there's something in her besides a fliffy little girl. She's a Gryffindor after all! And she and Seamus seem right together. :p

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139083Chapter: 1
Oh, Heather! I had no idea this was here! Thanks for letting me know! I'm so glad you took the plunge and started this. What a wonderful prologue. I love that Lavender is so honest with herself and not afraid to share even the parts she doesn't like about herself with Seamus. Now that's a Gryffindor. I also like the easy intimacy and familiarity you set up between them. It makes sense that they would know each other well.

Out of all the sweet moments in such a short piece, my favorite part was "my handwriting is crap." LOL. What a guy statement - and how perfect to show that letter-writing is not Seamus's thing but he will do that for her. *sniff* at the cute Gryffindors. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139076Chapter: 1
Hez, this is great! I love your Seamus here. Neither he nor Lavender are buffoons, because they're Gryffindors. You have a lovely easiness between them, in light of all that has happened, and you give us good insight into their characters in a few short lines - that Seamus feels bad about fighting with his mother, that Lavender still likes Hermione. Plus Seamus has a perfect boy "line" at the end. More, more!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139071Chapter: 1
Thank you for this. :-) I love you.

I can't think of anything better to come home and read after a day like today.

You did such a wonderful job with this, and I'm so proud of you and her and us. You know what I mean by that.

Jules

PS - You always do them justice, you know. :wub:

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139065Chapter: 1
I've always liked the Seamus character so this one pulled me in right away. Good choice for characters! It makes sense that Lavender would be doing some self-evaluating after her whirlwind fling with Ron. And I have to confess, I have a short attention span, so a short prologue is a great hook (for me, anyway)!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139060Chapter: 1
You know I love this. I read this before and if I didn't tell you then then I am a sad case and should be immediately disposed of. I loved this. Honestly. One of the sweetest things ever, but not over the top. I loved it.

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139059Chapter: 1
I'm so glad you decided to expand your snippet into a chaptered piece! A wonderful beginning, prplhez8! I'm looking forward to those letters.

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139058Chapter: 1
It's not often that I come to the end of a chapter and immediately wish for more, but it's happened here! I really like this, which promises to be an interesting (and fairer) look at Lavender, who I think must be one of the most misunderstood, misprepresented characters around - I'm glad you're giving her more personality than a few empty giggles and a crush on Ron!

Your Seamus is adorable - I was laughing with Lavender at his last line, so funny, and the details about him rubbing her knuckles were perfect. You've done his accent well - not too much, not too little.

Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: michellickerDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139057Chapter: 1
I think that it is quite a difficult thing to write a story that's centered around back story characters, but I think the beginning that you have here is fabulous. I can't wait to read the next update :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --