The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Consolable
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: AaishaDate: 2008-03-23
Reviewid: 150646Chapter: 1
It brought tears to my eyes.Touchy and sad. Very well written. Neville here just seemed like the perfect person to be in this situation somehow. Very well chosen character for the situation!! Harry needed to let his emotions out and I'm glad that he had someone caring like Neville instead of being in his small bedroom all by himself. I liked Petunia's characterization here, this is exactly how she is in canon, its like when in DH she went away without saying anything to Harry even when she wanted to say sorry...Petunia is not one to allow and feel any sort of...positive and deep emotion for Harry, she 's just callous where he is concerned but still sometimes with a bit of consciousness and I think you captured it all very well. Its just seems very fitting here that she might feel perplexed and then a bit relieved?? if this isn't too strong a word for what she felt for him here. I think all this is very very in character and real. Sad and a very complete fic. Feeling extremely sad for Harry right now but still loved the fic *two thumps up* .

Reviewer: Harriet WimseyDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140701Chapter: 1
Oh, this is great. I love Neville so much, and you're certainly doing your part to add to that. Thank you.

Reviewer: magicdustDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139682Chapter: 1
AHHHHHHHHH! NO! THAT CAN'T BE ALL! *searches everywhere* I literally was stunned when I scrolled down and saw that there was no more! Please write seqel *pleads*

Cheers!

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139665Chapter: 1
Aww...that's so sweet

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139524Chapter: 1
This is so nice! I love your characterizations!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139464Chapter: 1
Really interesting story--original concept and nice flow. I always like to see new Neville fics, and this is very well done. I would never have thought Neville would be the one Harry would let down his guard with, but somehow it makes sense.

<<He had a most disconcerting manner about him. He didnít seem to be using the words as any kind of veiled threat, the way those others had done, with their glib words masking promises of creative revenge against her and her family. But he didnít seem cowed by her, either. He was merely.... polite, despite her own admittedly rude behavior. Almost aristocratic, really. >>

Lovely bit here- Guess Neville learned something from his Grandmother. ;o)

Reviewer: eienvineDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139338Chapter: 1
I loved this story! I'd never really thought about how Harry must seem to Petunia- other than unfortunately magical, which you also wrote very well. I especially loved the way you wrote Neville. That's just something he would do, too. Great job.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139325Chapter: 1
Now, I don't usually like the "petunia is actually nice" sort of stories, but this was good. Something about it, it seemed to me to be written with such care that it compelled me to keep reading, short though it was. I look forward to reading more of your work some time
D_R

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139235Chapter: 1
Quite excellent; and a (most probably) truer picture of Petunia.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139191Chapter: 1
This is a very, very sweet and sad story. I'm so glad I read it. Thank you for writing it. I thought it was especially interesting how Harry broke down in front of Neville- I can picture it easily, because even though Ron is his *best friend*, Ron isn't exactly very open about these kinds of things. I dunno, I'm probably not making sense. Anyway, awesome story. I can't wait to read more from you!

Reviewer: Magnolia_MamaDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139175Chapter: 1
Wonderful characterizations of Petunia and Neville. Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139173Chapter: 1
Hey that's awesome. I love Neville as a character anyway, and the thought that he could reach Harry where others couldn't (and of course - he's one of the few who know the level of grief Harry's up against) is a magnificent one. I like the idea that he gets past Petunia on manners and normalacy. Your Petunia voice was brilliant as well - a lot more sympathetic than she's usually portrayed but still not particularly likable. You keep her within canon well - her dispassionate attitude was perfect.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139162Chapter: 1
Wonderful. I enjoyed your take on Petunia very much, and YAY for consoling Neville. Nice job!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139144Chapter: 1
A human Petunia, hurray! Your writing is so very insightful and realistic. Makes sense too. Thank you.

Reviewer: PonderousDate: 2006-02-01
Reviewid: 139130Chapter: 1
Very moving. What a startling idea that this is the first time Petunia has heard Harry cry since infancy -- you portrayed it very well. Interesting choice, appointing Neville as Harry's shoulder to lean on -- not often done. And I very much like that between Petunia brewing the tea, and Neville bringing the mint, both characters inadvertently combine their resources to help Harry.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139119Chapter: 1
This is sweet. It is an uncommon look into Petunia's humanity. She still doesn't like Harry (to be otherwise would be out of character), but she at least makes sense.

It is sad that she didn't think to try. But it is nice that she seems to care.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --