The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-04-08
Reviewid: 141775Chapter: 1
I did like this, thank you very much! I like friendship, and things that aren't quite spelled-out, and things like what exactly went on in Greece to wonder about.

With the second-year Gryffindor boys locked out of school on their first night beginning, I thought it was going to go one way, and be lighthearted like Harry and Ron were at that age, but I liked this better, and the contrast is good, too. If Harry or Ron had gotten the other an anchor at twelve? That would have made for an entirely different sort of one-liner.

Reviewer: grover53Date: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140658Chapter: 1
Genesse, my dear. I love your portrayal of James and Sirius. I've always liked both characters, but rarely as often as when I read what you write. They are unexplicable (and I probably used that word incorrectly), yet you capture them perfectly.

Great job, yet again.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139949Chapter: 1
Yay for James-and-Sirius friendship fics :) I thought you depicted Sirius very well here - clever and funny and annoyed by his family. The banter between him and James was great.

And the anchor was a lovely present. I think it says a lot about what James' friendship brings --well, brought, to Sirius' life. *sniffle*

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139716Chapter: 1
Mm, beautiful story. There aren't many stories which feature just James and Sirius and it's good to see them when their friendship is new. They haven't known each other for long but there's already so much understanding between them, silent but solid. The hints of Sirius's problems with his family were subtle but there... I could tell they were feeding into his coolness; the fact that he felt James was his anchor was particularly poignant.

The only problem for me was James's observation that Sirius grew cooler when he got angry. From what I've seen of Sirius in canon, he seems like someone who would always lose his temper, if not immediately than quickly. That was the only weak point.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139412Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139272Chapter: 1
Great friendship story, especially one with pubescent boys. And the exhanging of gifts. Out of the normal enough to show how strong and special the friendship is.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139254Chapter: 1
[i]‘And, er, let’s say that life’s too short to, er, spend a lot of time apologising,’ Sirius said awkwardly.

‘You only say that because you have a lot to apologise for.’[/i]

If that doesn't speak volumes about their relationship, I don't know what does! :)

This is a wonderful picture of how James and Sirius feel about each other (whether or not they come right out and say it). You're so gifted at being able to convey emotions and people's states of mind with a light touch. We feel like we know what they're feeling intuitively, because we know them so well from your writing.

Yay, you! This is wonderful.

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139249Chapter: 1
I love this! You write James and Sirius very well, and their friendship comes alive. It's very brotherly. The "Prince Jamie" dig was great.

Of course, now I need to read what happened in Greece that summer. Incapable of one-shots indeed. ;)

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139243Chapter: 1
Ack! This was so good! The poignacy, the humor, the deep friendship implicit in every line, but never needing to be stated out loud. I love this story and you for writing it!

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139240Chapter: 1
I love this story a lot, especially the way both James and Sirius call each other, no by first names, but rather by last names, and also the anchor that Sirius gives James. It tells much of the nature of James and Sirius' friendship. =)

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139230Chapter: 1
Oh heavens. You sure know how to make a girl cry, don't you??

"Potter, life’s too short to say things we already know. Just keep that for your dark and stormy nights."

Truer words were never spoken. I love you!!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2006-02-02
Reviewid: 139228Chapter: 1
"He really didn’t know how to act around this low-spirited version of Sirius – Was there really such a thing? he thought"
I'm really such a sucker for dramatic irony. Gets me every time! Anyway, I loved it. Especially James' thoughts; for some reason I really like those. And James and Sirius's interactions are very believable... yeah. Any further comments out of me would simply earn Sirius's scorn, I'm afraid.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-02-02
Reviewid: 139213Chapter: 1
genesse -

Well, the summary doesn't do this story justice for sure. I love me a good marauders tale and this is very very good. I can so see Sirius giving James something that would remind him that he is his anchor, his port in the storm, if you will. This is one of my favorite relationships in canon and we see too few really well written marauders moments....well done, dear friend, well done!

:wub:

~Hez

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2006-02-02
Reviewid: 139211Chapter: 1
I loved this story! Good job, Genesse! Also *sniggers at the egg comment* :P

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --