The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Turning Points
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-10-02
Reviewid: 145575Chapter: 1
More Neville and Hermione! I think maybe he's a bit bold at the end, but that's okay. Once again, you've really noticed things about both their characters. And, once again, I'm grinning. :)

Reviewer: the_sound_applesDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141032Chapter: 1
Some details I love:

"Part of her was almost glad for even a moment’s distraction, but the part of her that wanted to sink, bulldog-like, into the project and not let go until she’d shaken all the answers out of it, was not so thrilled."

"He did what little he could to help, including threatening his dorm mates with bodily harm if they made any disparaging comments about her efforts. Mostly he just tried to keep quiet whenever she was working, and to keep Trevor out of her tote bag."

"She held up the lumpy little parcel of wool on the end of its tangled string. It rotated quietly, bristling with needles like some bizarre Christmas ornament."

“I’ll make you new ones, Neville,” she promised fervently. “Better ones!”
“Give me my socks, Hermione,” he said firmly.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140714Chapter: 1
"They shifted about in her hands like a tiny porcupine bent on escape."

So true - so very, very true... :D

I loved Neville already, but I love him even more now! He's the kind of knittee everyone wants to knit for! And Hermione's reactions to not being able to do something right the first time are totally believable. I can just see her clutching the socks and promising to knit Neville better ones instead...

Thanks for this!

Reviewer: Harriet WimseyDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140700Chapter: 1
:D I actually said aloud, after I'd finished reading, "Oh, that's so *sweet*!" Thanks for a lovely interlude.

Reviewer: jynx67Date: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140699Chapter: 1
You really write Neville wonderfully. He's so kind and sweet... You must knit, though. *laughs* Poor Hermione. Excellent little story. :)

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139858Chapter: 1
Great story, Mintha. Loved fretful, insecure Hermione (knitting always seemed like her greatest challenge) and caring, encouraging Neville, knowing just what to say to renew her determination when she loses heart.
Very enjoyable and sweet.
Helen

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139793Chapter: 1
Cute. Always nice to read a Neville fic.

Reviewer: magicdustDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139681Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Brilliant, I loved it!

Cheers-
Magicdust

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139667Chapter: 1
Oh! I just saw your stories come through the update! What wonderful sweet little treats to read, very vivid, you express a great deal with just a few well chosen words. I feel Hermiones pain, four needles is *very* unreasonable ~*They shifted about in her hands like a tiny porcupine bent on escape.*~ <-a very apt description!

This is a wonderful Neville!Fic, it really showcases his quiet determination and grace. And Hermione wrestling with a puzzle even Arithmancers might wince at! Wonderful charachterisation, a real treat to read!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139610Chapter: 1
A Heartwarming / Charming Tale.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139539Chapter: 1
How sweet! I've just started teaching myself to knit, so I can really identify with Hermione here. And three cheers to Neville for not letting her give up!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139466Chapter: 1
Adorable!

Typical Hermione not wanting to fail at something, and I love Neville's quiet, reassuring way of dealing with her. Lovely story.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139346Chapter: 1
I love how you made Neville the patient, nurturing one instead of the one needing propping up, as he usually is in fanfics. This is just lovely.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139314Chapter: 1
Thank you for this lovely confection. Like one of Mrs. Weasley's chocolates, a tasty morsel and possible promise of even better in the box. I am a knitter myself and no stranger to dropped stitches. I have always sympathized with Hermione in her struggles to make those darned (no pun intended) elf socks and hats. You have captured the H/N relationship nicely, with gentle humor. I look forward to more of your writing.

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139280Chapter: 1
Eee! That was adorable! I love the way you wrote the dynamic between Hermione and Neville, and especially the way you depicted him. Also, as a knitter, this brought a smile to my face. Great fic!

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139277Chapter: 1
As someone who started knitting about two weeks ago, I have nothing but sympathy for poor Hermione. :)

This is a wonderful, completely believable missing moment. Your characterization of Hermione is very, very funny, and right on the nose. I like your Neville, as well. He's shown as someone who is strong in his own right, and in a completely different way from Harry and Ron.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139267Chapter: 1
Oh, that really made me grin. Heartwarming and, I suppose, toewarming as well! I really enjoyed reading about Neville's optimism and kindness to Hermione, as well as Hermione's perseverence. Lovely little fic.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139258Chapter: 1
From one knitter to another, I absolutely love this story. I know exactly how Hermione feels because my own attempts at sock-making have gone rather badly in the past and when my husband wore my first attempt to church one Sunday and proudly showed them off to several of our friends who like my sweaters, I, like Hermione, felt rather proud of my accomplishment. Like Neville said, everything seems to sort itself out the more you practice. Thanks for sharing this delightful story that goes straight to my knitter's heart.

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139257Chapter: 1
Awwwww.... this is too cute! Made me feel all smiley and warm finishing it. Thanks, and keep it up!

Reviewer: shanfawn16Date: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139245Chapter: 1
This was really sweet. I loved the role reversal of Hermione and Neville. Good Work!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139244Chapter: 1
So cute. I love the fact that Neville is encouraging about Hermione's knitting, while everyone else in canon are trying hard not to make sarcastic comments or actually are. The remark about wanting to get things right on the first try is so Hermione. I can also understand why she would be frustrated. I've tried to sew and cross stich, and it takes a lot of patience. Even then, sometimes mistakes are made...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --