The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Fighting Chance
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142041Chapter: 4
Ah, Ron has a lot to learn about teenage girls. I liked how Ron's hestitation is pounced upon by Hermione, who doesn't like how indecisive he is sometimes, but that is due to his own insecurities. I think Ron fails to see how Hermione is also scared that any change in their relationship might threaten their friendship. I like that you forshadowed the Herbology invitation, and it will be interesting to see how you handle the upcoming angst.

Reviewer: sheepstamperDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142037Chapter: 4
an excellent piece - please caary on with the story.....

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-03
Reviewid: 141593Chapter: 3
How many reviews do we need to post to get a gold Star?

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-04-03
Reviewid: 141591Chapter: 3
I love the fact that Ron is there for Harry, and that he realizes that helping Harry fight Voldemort is more important then his relationship with Hermione, at least for the time being. It will be interesting to see how the conversation goes next chapter, as how much was said between Ron and Hermione in the summer is a question mark. Though Hermione must have gotten enough signals to get the courage to invite Ron to Slughorn's party.

Reviewer: ArtemayDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141571Chapter: 3
Thanks for the review Georgie, I really appreciate it.

I just want to clear up the part where Ron grinned at Ginny in the first chapter. I wasn't thinking of it that way. Let's just say... well... I didn't think of it that way. I was trying to portray Ron and Ginny's closeness as SIBLINGS. In the books they seem to be closer to each other than anyone in the family(except maybe Fred and George), maybe I am wrong but that is what I think whenvever I read the books.

Hopefully I cleared that up for you, and I hope you read my other two chapters and the rest to come.

~*Artemay*~

Reviewer: GeorgieDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141568Chapter: 1
I think this is definately a story I'll be keeping an eye on - I think you've captured Ron and Hermione's relationship perfectly, like the way that neither of them is sure of the other's feelings and that uncertainty just underneath the relaxed familiarity. Well done!

Just a bit of constructive criticism - I felt that some of the phrases you used didn't seem to sit with the rest of the piece, like when Ron is grinning at Ginny:
"He grinned at his little sister charismatically until his eyes fell upon Hermione"
To me it gave the impression that Ron was standing there for quite a few minutes, grinning in a way that wasn't quite...well, brotherly! It sort of seemed more like the way he would act towards Fleur, which I think you'll agree is just Plain Wrong when directed at Ginny...!

But still, really enjoyable to read - thank you!

Reviewer: tomlover56Date: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140896Chapter: 2
must read more! wright!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140409Chapter: 2
I think Ginny would be the one to nudge Ron and Hermione together. After all, her angry outburst did get Ron to realise that Hermione was the girl for him, though not after some heartbreak for Hermione. Silly and stubborn boy... I love George's teasing, and you can really feel Tonks's melancholy. I agree that it's obvious to everyone except maybe Ron. I think Hermione likes to analyse things, and doesn't like to take the risk of saying what she feels. It will be interesting to see how you handle what's to come.

Reviewer: love2danceDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140401Chapter: 2
I love this story!!! Hurry please...I hope it gets super duper fluffy. You write so well and I'm glad you brought Tonks in!! Huzzah for R/Hr!!!

Toodles, Love2dance

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139538Chapter: 1
Very good and wonderfully in character. I will be anticipating your next chapter; I'm sure this story is developing into something brilliant!

Reviewer: ameliaDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139297Chapter: 1
i like where this is going... hope there's another chapter coming soon!

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139275Chapter: 1
oo this is so good!
i love it..cant wait til your next post!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139270Chapter: 1
I love how both of them are unsure about the other's feelings because they don't want to ruin their friendship. It's realistic and also very in character. But their friendship was damaged in HBP because they believed the other was just friends. I'm curious about how this develops.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --