The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139598Chapter: 1
Very Nicely Done.
Thanks.

Reviewer: LorinDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139441Chapter: 1
Hi Heather! It's been a while, isn't it? I'm not dead (yet^^), but I moved to other projects... but I check SQ quite often. And I happened to see your story... It's wonderful! It fits completely into the book and it's written really well (you were my beta, after all)... just happy to see the creativity of your brain returned from the (not really) "permanent vacation" you claimed it to be on.(I hope this sentence is right ^^)
Brava!

Lorenzo

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139403Chapter: 1
Great fic! I loved the way Molly apprised Tonks and Remus's relationship without even saying anything to them. This part really hit home and its a great...its just really great. <<And after that meeting, Molly had observed Remus pull Tonks aside. Though she had tried not to listen in, she could tell that it was not a pleasant conversation. As always, Remus remained composed, but Tonks was clearly quite upset by whatever he was saying to her>>

Great job!

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139381Chapter: 1
Hey, Heather, this is great!
And what I love most about this missing scene is how you've given that brief moment from HBP, where Tonks excuses herself when Dumbledore arrives, so much more weight and significance, and made me view it from a totally different perspective. I'd always just figured she was feeling weepy and tired and didn't want Dumbledore and Harry to see her in that state, but you've inflected her hasty departure with a totally different motive, one I had not considered before. And one that is much more interesting! Of course she'd be feeling some anger and resentment towards Dumbledore for sending her lover off on such a dangerous and most probably futile mission. You really make this interpretation of Tonks's feelings at the beginning of HBP work, sitting so well alongside the events which follow, and the grief she feels at her separation from Remus.

I'd also never really considered that Remus and Tonks would be keeping their relationship secret from the adult members of the Order before - I'd assumed it was only the youngsters that were kept in the dark. But it suits Lupin's nature, and his reluctance to let Tonks commit herself to him, that he would have kept his relationship with her from *everyone* (with the possible exception of Sirius), and insisted she do the same. And it would take Molly to figure it out.

My favourite lines:
"....I try to talk to my mum, but she’s too concerned about my own safety to really listen to me. She doesn’t seem to think I should be bothered with a man right now while I’m an Auror in the middle of a war."

Tchah! Parents, eh? Great advice, of course, just not wanted she wanted (or needed) to hear.

"...Those Muggle relatives of his do absolutely nothing for him.”

“Yeah. And their house is freakishly clean.”

That assessment of the Dursleys is beautifully in character for Tonks. Those of us who don't keep a 'freakishishly clean' home do regard such things as signs of serious character flaws. And how right she is!

And:
“But even your hair has been so… well… not like you lately.”

Tonks gave a small chuckle. “Actually, my hair is entirely me right now.”

Made me chuckle too.

Thank you!
Helen H

Reviewer: eienvineDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139340Chapter: 1
Cute! I love Molly in this, trying to make everyone feel better. Great job.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139327Chapter: 1
Ah, you've captured Molly's wise and wonderful side - she genuinely cares about people and wants the best for them. Nice incorporation of canon.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139319Chapter: 1
I really liked this. I thought you captured Molly perfectly and Tonks depression was very realistic. I especially liked the description of her coming to Molly's like a school girl wary of why she'd been called to a teachers office- I think that captures her state of mind very well. In a way, like Remus, she isn't sure about the help Molly's offering, at least at first. It was sad that they were interrupted 'cos I think Tonks needed to talk. Very well written, and impeccably characterised. Good job!

Reviewer: fitzetteDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139305Chapter: 1
Oh, Heather, Heather, Heather. I don't know what I can say here that I haven't already said, but I am so so happy for you, and so so excited for the rest of us. This is brilliant. I think the best part for me is how very real this is, how deeply drawn into the story I was. Whem DUmbledore spoke, my heart slammed into my ribs. I was so engrossed in the story, for a few seconds, he was alive again.

WOnderful. Just wonderful.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139304Chapter: 1
This is lovely, Felina. I'm so glad you are putting your immeasurable talents to good use! I look forward to more. (There, you can check this if you like! ;) )

Reviewer: Felix FelicisDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139303Chapter: 1
I have to say, I love reading missing moment stories! This one is quite good. Your writing style is robust without being overbearing. It's quite comfortable, really. I also think your characters are good. Tonks is clearly having a hard time of it, and Molly is in her usual state of concern over everyone and everything. Very well written. My only tiny little complaint is at the beginning when you're setting up the situation, it feels like you use the words 'And' and 'But' a little too often at the beginning of sentences. That can get a little awkward for the reader. Anyway, other than that small tidbit, I love the story and the style. You should really write some more like this!

- A fellow author and beta'ee of yours

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139292Chapter: 1
I loved the caring side of Molly that you showed here. Quite often she is seen as bossy and interfering, and her attentions are somewhat suffocating. While that may be sometimes true, she does have everyone's best interest at heart, and I could totally see her encouraging love in any form (especially since her and Arthur enloped). Tonks's annoyance at Dumbledore is something that I hadn't considered, but under the circumstances, it makes sense.

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-02-04
Reviewid: 139291Chapter: 1
Yay, Heather! This is a wonderful missing moment. I love that you've mastered Molly's well-intentioned "interfering." There a lot of little wonderful touches you've added that highlight that particular personality trait... My favorite was this one:

"And hearing that he had told Tonks she deserved someone “whole” just confirmed it for her. But she could discuss that with Remus himself some other time."

Because she automatically just jumps to the fact that she'll be dealing with Remus on the problem, too. :) So Molly.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139285Chapter: 1
Oh, what a lovely missing moment! This was so enjoyable. Molly was perfect, and I loved Tonks too. :)

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139279Chapter: 1
You've got a fic up! Congratulations! I didn't even know you were writing something.

It's a great fic, too. Do you identify well with Molly? Because you write her perfectly in character. From begin to end, it's exactly Molly. I would like to point out the most Mollyish lines, but I'm afraid I can't: they're all extremely Mollyish.

Great one-shot. I'm looking forward to your next story. ;-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --