The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Tempering Steel
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139740Chapter: 1
Damn. You are sooooo GOOD. Thanks

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139570Chapter: 1
I think you've got a marvelous story here. Funny how the oddest of pairs made such an insightful story with such depth.

However, I think that the second half of this line
<i>"I want justice," he replied. Lavender thought it was the same thing; it was not until much later that she realised there was a world of difference between the two terms.</I>

about Lavender's change of heart telegraphs the end of the story too soon. I'd end it at the semicolon, and perhaps reprise the thought after she stupefies Lestrange at the end of the story.

Excellent work. I'll be looking to see your other stories.

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139523Chapter: 1
Yes. Exactly right.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139522Chapter: 1
Really excellent one-shot, and my favorite Lavender portrayal to date; very interesting how you made Rodolphus cool and calculating and Snape more emotional, very unexpected. I also liked your depiction of Neville. Writing was crisp and economical, not as detailed as I usually like, but the brevity worked well for the format and type of story. You got stuck with a difficult pair of characters, but you made the resulting story really good.

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139503Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I would have had no idea how to write RL and LB in the same story, and you tied them together wonderfully. I love how Lavender finally grew up, which is what I've been screaming at my books (or would if it did any good) for the past two. Thanks for an awesome story to distract me from classes.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139502Chapter: 1
Wow. This was incredible. I loved your characterisation of Lavender, from empty headed girl, to grim vigilante to the real Lavender and true Gryfffindor we saw at the end, who refused to be a tool of evil. And Neville too was just wonderful. I can definitely see him leading the DA in book seven. I think he'd be wonderful- truly wise, brave and clever. I liked how you showed Snape and Peter turning on Voldy at the end, and the sense of utter desperation in Rodolphus by the end. I almost felt sorry for him.

I think this is set to become one of my favourite war stories of all time. Thank you so much for sharing it.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139496Chapter: 1
Thanks for developing Lavender into a more serious character, since she always seems flightly, but then again, as you said, she has a desire for popularity. I think all of the Hogwarts students in their seventh year will be much more serious, as the outcome of the war is now in doubt. I also liked the maturation of Neville, and his mature response to the Death Eaters.

Reviewer: KelidaDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139493Chapter: 1
AMAZING!!!

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139488Chapter: 1
This is great - your writing has such power and control. I really liked how you interspersed a wide-ranging narrative with in depth characterisations, and both worked brilliantly. I thought the development of Lavender's character was convincing and my thoughts on Neville are very similar to the way you've portrayed him here!

Reviewer: PonderousDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139481Chapter: 1
So beautiful and sad! I love the depiction of the Dark Side, crumbling from within due to its own madness. And then the two types of revenge and Lavender's choice! Great stuff, exactly the sorts of issues that hopefully will really come up in Book 7. "What is right and what is easy" indeed. You really dramatized that perfectly.

I'm glad you didn't ship them! This fic is great proof that gen can rule! :-)

Reviewer: HalanDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139480Chapter: 1
Giving a backstory and even SYMPATHY for Rodolphus, fleshing out Lavender's character, turning Neville into the knowledgable one and the main leader of Dumbledore's Army...this was very well written and I could spend quite a long time picking out large and small pieces that made it such a good read.

Reviewer: MallaryroseDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139477Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I have wanted someone to do a Lavender story for so very long. I think she's a great character, because even though she's bubbly and sometimes annoying, she's a realistic teenage girl. And you showed that there's definitely more to her than the reader would initially think.

I also love the battle of revenege and justice.

Rodolphus creeped me out, but what scared me even more was the fact that at some point I felt a bit sorry for him.

And the Neville/Lavender friendship is lovely. :)

Reviewer: Becky25Date: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139476Chapter: 1
How very eloquent and quietly powerful. The thought processes of the characters, their portrals were so beautiful and heart-wrenching. Lavender learning the difference between revenge and justice was so well done. Very nicely writen.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --