The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Magnolia_MamaDate: 2007-12-20
Reviewid: 150182Chapter: 1
What a lovely missing moment! Ickle Neville is so adorable, and reading about his humiliation made me want to read into my monitor and hug him. While Harry's appearance is brief, it has a powerful impact. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2007-01-03
Reviewid: 146734Chapter: 1
Oh, this was SO SWEET! As soon as I realized what Neville was about to do with that wrapper, a big warm lump lodged itself in my chest.

I decided to take a peek at what else your author page held, since your new Weasley story was nice. I'm not disappointed!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142970Chapter: 1
Oh!!! What a wonderful portrayal of Neville! You've got him just spot-on!

The ending absolutely made this piece. I had tears in my eyes when he put the Chocolate Frog wrapper in with the gum wrappers. An absolutely wonderful, wonderful story.

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142378Chapter: 1
This was Bloody Brilliant. I can't believe I haven't read your stories before now. I love short stories, I love missing moments, I love Neville and I *love* your writing. Really, seriously good - perfectly understated and so moving. Oh dear, I'm gushing again.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139923Chapter: 1
What a great story! You show Neville's courage at every turn while making us see that he doesn't feel like he has any. And it's really nice to see the impact that Harry's gesture has from Neville's point of view.

And I liked the portrait's advice! I'm glad that she can be helpful on occasion. :)

Thanks for this! I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139916Chapter: 1
Oh dear me....that is so precious!!! I'm in tears at the last bit, as a mum myself I keep wanting to cuddle Neville most of the time, and writing his mum and dad... *sniff,sniff*.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful Job!!!

~Hez

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139746Chapter: 1
What a lovely, beautifully written story! I absolutely adore Neville fics, and this is definitly one of the best ones that I've read. You've got Neville's character down perfectly. I wanted to cry with him :(

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139742Chapter: 1
Nicely Done

Reviewer: HazelWhinlatterDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139569Chapter: 1
I saw the title of this story and as a Neville superfan, I had to read it. I'm glad I did. It was so moving to see Neville's frustrations done so well, and you really got the Gryffindor in him flowing through your words. I've always thought Neville was put in the right house and you displayed this in a great way. Very well done.

Reviewer: witchy-witchDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139537Chapter: 1
oh, such good neville! Sadending though...sad, but sweet! well done!

Reviewer: minthaDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139529Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! I love the part about him saving Harry's chocolate frog wrapper in the box with the gum wrappers from his mother! I never thought about that trip back to the tower from his point of view, or that he might've kept anything from that frog, but it makes perfect sense he would've, since he's already used to using candy wrappers as mementoes.
(the line about the Weasley twins made me laugh, too!)

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139504Chapter: 1
Great story! You've done a good job showing how determined and resourcful Neville is without making him look pathetic. He really is a true Gryffindor!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139487Chapter: 1
I love how you incorporated Neville's backstory and the Drooble's Best Blowing Gum into the scene from PS. And the ending rox!
You do Neville well. Hope to see more by you on him!

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139479Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT!WONDERFUL!BRAVO! *claps* MORE! That was great!

Reviewer: HalanDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139478Chapter: 1
This was very sweet. It was a short moment from PS/SS, not some huge storyline. It gives just a bit of background to a character overlooked by most people. That Neville would save the wrapper from Harry was a nice touch.

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139475Chapter: 1
this is a great story. good way of integrating it into cannon. I love the ending and how you use what you know from OotP to make the ending bittersweet as it is. I finished reading with a smile on my face.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139473Chapter: 1
Aw! This is the sweetest thing! I heart Neville and you have really got him captured perfectly here!

This made me giggle: >>With his forehead against the stone, Neville whispered a word he had only ever heard the Weasley twins use. It felt good. He said it again.<<

And the end had me almost crying. Bless him.

Great work!

:-)

Jules

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --